6th Jun 2010, 14:40

I have a Volkswagen Touran 2.0 FSi Sport 54 reg. It needed a new engine only after 38,000 miles in 4 years, after a part came off from a cam in the engine and punched a hole in the block. Unfortunately it was out of warranty, so I am stuck with it. So good for reliability with a Volkswagen. One thing after another goes wrong. I thought it was just a bad example and I was going to get a new VW until this happened. I ended up spending the money I was going to PX for new VW fixing the old one?? Do you think I should buy new one?? I've had few before, and never been so disappointed like now!!!

25th Aug 2010, 08:55

Our VW Touran 1.9 TDi suffered total gearbox failure recently. The car was 2 months out of warranty, has a full service history and had done 57,000.

We have complained to VW and the MTTA, and are looking at a Small claims under the Sale of Goods Act. We also put in a complaint to VOSA, as we were driving when there was a loud crack, the gearbox effectively disintegrated, oil poured onto the road, and the gearbox seized. We were doing a low speed, but had we being going faster (the day before we were on the M5), we could have been seriously hurt. VOSA are considering our complaint against VW on safety issues, but it would be helpful to hear from anyone who has experienced a gearbox failure, particularly on a Touran, and suffered any injury or created a hazard for other vehicles because of the incident.

The fact that it occurs without any warning or prior indication of a problem, makes it extremely dangerous in certain situations. Only since this happened to us, have we realised that this is clearly a common problem with this car, and that VW should be taking responsibility to sort out what appears to be a fault at manufacture or assembly, and clearly has safety issues too.

If anyone feels they have a contribution they could make to a complaint through VOSA, please post your reply. I can provide the contact details of the technical engineer dealing with the case, and you can contact him directly.

A previous notice posted back in Aug 2007 mentioned neighbours who had been injured when the gearbox on their Touran failed. I would be very interested to contact you if you still look at this site.

Maggie.

2nd Feb 2011, 17:08

I have a 2008 2.0 TDI SE Touran, It has had the white smoke issue during a cold start several times. The first time it did it, I thought it had caught fire.

It has also had the water leak, it was leaking into the nearside rear passenger foot locker. VW fixed it the second time I took it in for the same defect, saying that it was coming in through the nearside front wheel arch?

They took the windscreen out on the first attempt. It still mists up in the winter overnight, and the moisture freezes on the inside of the screen - lovely - it only takes about 20 minutes to defrost the thing.. great for being late for the school run!

Other than that, no problems - 23000 miles, after reading these comments (especially the locking / exploding transmission) I am slightly concerned, as my wife and three kids use the vehicle.

29th Mar 2011, 14:25

My VW Touran SE 2006 model suffered a total gearbox failure today. The car is 5 years, 5 months old, and has just 38,000 miles on the clock. My garage have informed me that the differential has fallen apart, and in the process, broken the casing of the gearbox and wrecked the internal components. The vehicle is out of warranty and beyond the 5 year "goodwill" repairs that garage usually extend. Repairs will cost £4,300. I'm now considering what options are available, but researching online, see that this is a common fault.

17th Apr 2011, 15:18

Our 1.9 diesel Touran also suffered a major gearbox failure two weeks ago. There was a failure of a component in the differential, causing a total loss of gearbox oil and complete seizure of the gearbox and front wheels. Fortunately this happened at low speed. Only hours before, the car was full of children on a school run. The car is a 56 plate, only 42,000 miles outside warranty, full service history with VW. Total cost for new box by VW £2,700. Have managed to get half paid by VW customer services under goodwill, however this seems to be a common major fault with extremely dangerous implications!! VW should be warning all owners with similar age cars.

Previous faults with our car.

Flooding of passenger footwell - faulty window regulator.

Second gear synchromesh fault (crunchy second gear).

Total failure of ASP steering protection (£1700).

Door locked seized in locked position.

Corroded rear spring (s) (35,000 miles).

Billowing smoke in cold weather from under car (Webasto htr).

All of these sound familiar???

VW should be ashamed. We love the car, but are shocked at the poor reliability and potentially dangerous faults.

12th Mar 2012, 06:15

Hello.

I didn't buy my VW from a VW garage. The gearbox failed whilst driving yesterday (fortunately I had just made it over the railway crossing). I wouldn't know where to start with taking them to court (it's a 56 plate with 52000 miles on clock and full service history). Who do I go to? The company I bought it from or VW? How do I start this journey? Phone or letter??? Am very nervous, but have to do something.

Thanks.

13th Apr 2012, 11:10

There were we thinking we were just incredibly unlucky with our 2005 Touran! Our gearbox fell apart (big clank, hole in the casing, oil everywhere, BIG bill) at the end of last year, and have just got it back from the garage today as the gears had seized up last week.

We have no confidence in the car or VW, looking at the list of things that appear to be 'common complaints', and will not buy another, despite it fitting our needs perfectly.

And yes, we've experienced the white smoke and the ABS problem twice.

Wouldn't it be nice if VW stepped up and helped out?!

8th May 2012, 05:35

A neighbour's 06 Touran has just died on my shop forecourt. If put into reverse, the car moves 6 inches, stops and shoots forward a few inches. If put in any forward gear, it tries to move, but stalls. It's only done 58000 and was kept serviced. Any tips?

17th May 2012, 17:25

Try the turbo intercooler pipe under the bonnet, just in front of the front passenger wheel. A common fault is that the clip breaks.

4th Jun 2012, 10:31

We changed from a Scenic to a Touran after the Scenic's power steering failed. A 4 1/2 year old car, less than 26,000 miles! £1300 to fix it, and a 3 week wait for the part! (Complete steering column!) Aircon failed, took the dealer 2 years to find the reason, after several visits and services to the system, door windows opened themselves when parked, so I wouldn't expect changing down to a Renault to give you trouble free motoring!

8th Jun 2013, 07:34

What happened next?

27th May 2014, 16:07

Had the same problem, and I changed the EGR & throttle body, and it's all good now, but it could also be an injector fault. Hope this helps.

14th Aug 2014, 18:29

I'm intending to buy a VW Touran 2.0 FSI. Please, any advice on it?

6th Sep 2014, 08:06

I have a 2005 VW Touran Sport that will not select any gear but reverse and 6. It has completed 228,000 miles and has been trouble free to be honest.