1985 Volvo 240 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1985 Volvo 240 GL from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240 GL

Summary:

A great, reliable, comfortable car

Faults:

Leaks coolant, heated seats not working.

General Comments:

I got this car from my grandparents who bought it new in 1984. They rarely drove it and decided that it was time for a new car. So I, then 16 years old, got the Volvo. The car is in perfect shape, interior and exterior, and has had little to no problems for the year I've had it. The leather is still plush and extremely comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2001

1985 Volvo 240 GL 2.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired225000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 244

Summary:

Great cruiser which is powerful enough on highways and very comfortable on long trips

Faults:

Heater vent loose on left side.

Radio/tape poor.

Water enters boot (trunk) during very heavy rain.

General Comments:

This is my third Volvo of this model range over the last 13 years.

The first was a 1981 244 GL manual and cost me 4 tyres, a clutch master cylinder, and a fuel pump over 7 years -not real bad eh?

The second was a 1980 244 GL auto and over 5 years required only a reconditioned auto gear box, a battery and 4 tyres.

The current car is a 1985 244 GL auto and was purchased in mint condition from the original owner. It, like the others, is used for long distance, high speed cruising on Australian outback roads. It is comfortable, ultra reliable, cheap to run and maintain, and easy to do routine work on. No problems with this car as yet.

2 points about 240 series Volvos:

Luxury car that is cheap to buy and run (most people don't like the "Volvo Driver" tag so they are often unwanted in the market place.)

The radio/tape provided are very poor - all three of mine have been useless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

2nd Oct 2003, 20:51

I live in Australia as well and have to agree with your observations. These cars are generally very reliable and drive very well on our often rough roads. Keep the shockers and tires in good condition though.

And the Volvo radio/cassette is rubbish, mine used to play AM and FM at the same time for some reason. I threw it out and bought a cheap radio cassette player, which works fine.

14th Mar 2005, 06:34

Owned a 1984 Volvo 240GL. Very reliable car which carries the saying VOLVO FOR LIFE. Only changed the timing belt recently and done a respray. Other than that this 1984 VOLVO GL is a great car to drive giving the heavy feeling, easy to handle and safety.

19th Jun 2008, 00:13

Australia: I own a 1985 240 GLE that has done about 290,000km. Excellent value for money - it is solid, well-built, comfortable and very cheap to run, except for petrol consumption. The car averages 7 km/litre in town and about 10 km/l on the highway. I have been told that this is normal.

The near-absence of repairs means that overall running costs are low. Low values ensure low insurance premiums and no unwanted attention in car parks! The air-conditioning has been upgraded to take the new gas but that has to be refilled every year. When newly done, it is reasonably effective.

An excellent, durable car that is quieter and smoother than many new mid-range cars.

1985 Volvo 240 GL 2.0 petrol from Israel

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 1977 244 GL

Summary:

The safest car you can buy for the money

Faults:

The car is very reliable for its age.

It has already had an engine overhaul, and lately it has suffered from small electric faults, which are very cheap to fix.

General Comments:

When you drive it you feel like you're driving a tank, it's big, heavy and feels very safe.

It is very comfortable, but since I've put in new "shocks" the ride is very hard, I'm just waiting for them to soften a little bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2000

1985 Volvo 240 GL Station Wagon 2.3 Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Nothing at all, now at the end of its career at almost 200k miles, it needs new shocks.

General Comments:

While maybe not for Europe, 25 mpg is very good for the station wagons here in the U.S. This car is comfortable, EXTREMELY durable, and will potentially last forever if you take care of it. Acceleration could be improved and is compromised while the air-conditioner is in use. However, unlike other American cars in its class, this puppy has no limiter - hence having a top speed of 130mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

3rd Mar 2001, 15:37

There is no way my GL is going 130 MPH.. I'm lucky to get 80/140KMPH

22nd Jun 2001, 11:43

My 1983 240 wagon has attained 110mph with speed to spare but I have extreme doubts that it would make it past 120 considering its brick-like front end and 111 horsepower.

25th Jul 2001, 05:51

130mph from a 2.3 brick? Mine is straining to do 105-110. My 1.8 litre Astra SRi is 115 BHP (as opposed to the Bricks 112), weighs 400 kilos less, is significantly more aerodynamic and still won't top 125...

28th Jul 2001, 00:45

Why do you think your Volvo is at the end of it's career? Maybe its time to sell it to someone else if you're tired of it, but your Volvo still has a long ways to gooooooo...

Richard G.

Los Angeles.

7th Aug 2003, 11:35

Wow that's pretty slow for a volvo man mine goes 150.

22nd Feb 2009, 04:16

I got mine to 80 (130 km/h) and it still had plenty of grunt, but, being on a country road, I was getting more worried about myself than the car.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews