1987 Volvo 240 Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1987 Volvo 240 GLE 2.0L Gasoline from Hong Kong

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 2.0L Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A timeless Body Design (like a rolex!)

Faults:

New Steering Column at about 65,000 miles

Replaced Master Cylinder at about 50,000 miles

Premature Brake Wear

Rear Suspension (spring) was replaced around 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall, a very solid car. Handling is OK, and the ride is harsh. Feels like the engineering is 15 years behind. Very strong and comfortable seat. Feel very safe inside the heavy shell. No fun to drive. If properly maintained, can run over 200,000 miles easily.

Styling is classical, and never is in style, but never goes out of style.

A good car to have for professors or artists, but not for IT people for sure! Much nicer built than current models from Volvo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2007

1987 Volvo 240 2.4 from Sweden

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

A great reliable and safe car to drive

Faults:

Replace battery

Replace part of exhaust system

Renew brake pads

Replace front light (dull)

Replace steering joint damper.

General Comments:

This car was a 1987 special edition and I have found it to be remarkably reliable.

The exhaust/emmisions are perfect and it passes the mot test every year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2007

1987 Volvo 240 2.3 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.7 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

Sweet

Faults:

Tierod.

General Comments:

It's a tank, but not to good in the snow. I have jumped it and off roaded it and she still is running strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2005

1987 Volvo 240 DL 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80250 miles
Most recent distance80350 miles

Summary:

A car that will get you the most for the money in the long run

Faults:

Short in back left lights. Short in interior light.

General Comments:

Bought a this car for my teenage daughter. Was an older person's car who did not know how to back up. There were a few cosmetic dings to show this (mainly back bumper). Paint only has mild oxidation. Took to a Volvo certified mechanic to look over. He was laughing stating "he wanted to make money off me, but could not find anything to repair". He said he gets ask constantly for this model because of it's simplicity and durability. He has one customer that has over 400,000 miles on it. We picked this puppy up for $2900 and with this low mileage and excellent mechanical shape. Should get through BOTH my kids with routine maintenance. We have a 1998 S90 Volvo and this older model is just a comfortable to ride in and it gets better gas mileage than my newer one! Found websites to replace the missing door pocket, etc. if we want, but our main concern was mechanics, etc. This cosmetic stuff will come later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2005

1987 Volvo 240 DL from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Previous carnever had a car before same as above

Summary:

For the money you can't beat Volvo quality

General Comments:

I just turned 16 about a month ago and I was not expecting to get a car until I turned 17. However my Dad spotted an 87 240 for sale, and decided it would make a great first car. My family has owned Volvo's forever so it is only befitting that my first car be a Volvo.

The car handles great for its age. Fit and finish is superb. The car is in great shape with no dings or scratches on the body.

The blue (kind of odd interior color) cloth seats need to be cleaned.

It won't be the newest or the nicest car in the student parking lot next year, but for the money it's a great car (only $1,600)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

1987 Volvo 240 DL from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

It's not the

Faults:

So far, have only replaced the battery.

I accidentally kicked the drivers door map pocket, causing it to crack due to it's age.

General Comments:

Where to begin?

I was 19 when my father helped me purchase my first Volvo.

It was a 1976 244.

We bought the car for $650 dollars, and it already had 150k miles.

At the time I thought that it was a worthless piece of rusted pre-civil war art. The only reason I'm not driving it now (17 yrs later) is because of the body rust and a failing steering knuckle. I was amazed that this 4 speed stick could handle and jump off the line better than my friends American cars.

When the car was no longer safe to drive (steering knuckle) it had 228,000 miles and still purred like a kitten. I have talked with about this car with fondness ever since we sold it for parts.

Now for the good part!

When I initially met my wife, her family had a black 1987 Volvo 240 DL sitting in the drive way. Due to her mother's illness, the car hadn't been driven for 3 yrs at that point. She has since passed away, and my Father-in-Law couldn't bring himself to sell the car for sentimental reasons.

This year, he also passed away, and left the car to my wife and I.

She isn't interested in the car, but I definitely am.

Okay, for all of you that are familiar with Volvos, tell me what you would do.

The car has been sitting for approximately 10 yrs.

It has been outside with cloth car cover protecting it.

The body has no visible rust. The paint is only slightly oxidized, but I am going to have it detailed.

It will need brakes (because of the way my in-laws drove with the left foot on the brake).

And the tires all have evidence of sun damage.

I had to jump the car with my truck to move it, and immediately it started up like someone had driven it the day before. I drove it around the block, and the steering is a little stiff, but besides the brakes, you wouldn't have known that the car had not been run in 10 yrs.

I plan to change all of the fluids, filters, hoses, and belts. With a new set of brakes and tires, this car should last at least another 10 years.

But WAIT!

Here's the best part...

The car only has 65,000 original miles!!!

My father-in-law also left a loaded 2001 Monte Carlo with 55k miles, and we are already planning to sell it.

I would MUCH rather have an old Volvo, than a newer Monte!

I can't wait to get it running on the road!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2004

8th Nov 2004, 10:58

I'm sorry that the comment line didn't show up as I had typed it.

The comment line reads:

"It's not the"...

(and sad to say, the next review reads)

"Best car in the world"

Personally, I think that it is one of the best cars in the world!!

Needless to say, that is not the impression I want to give.

What my comment line should read is:

"It may not be the IN car to drive, but, I'll still be driving this car when the IN cars are dead and gone!"

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews