1989 Volvo 240 Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1989 Volvo 240 GL Station wagon B230f from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission B230f Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Most recent distance225000 kilometres

Summary:

A tough reliable car that is affordable to maintain

Faults:

Shocks might need replacing soon.

Drivers seat leans a little.

Air cond. needs regassing.

General Comments:

This is a reliable, strong, noisy old car. I don't think there is much that could kill it. It doesn't handle too well (rolls in corners etc), doesn't go too fast, isn't very refined- but it is extremely reliable and really well built. It has done 225 000kms.

I have put 205/60/15 tyres on and it drives much better (previously had 185/75/14).

Engine is reasonably noisy, which is characteristic of this model, but at least it sounds like a car, unlike some new Japanese. engines that sound like an electric whisk.

It doesn't use much petrol considering it's age (17). About 12l/100 kms city driving.

The only worry is rust. My car has none (like most in Oz), but with some 240's water leaks into the cabin and under carpet-you won't know and it will rust from inside out. Check under carpet for any signs of rust or water. Fixing leaks is not hard; Volvo forums on the net tell you where to look.

I was considering buying a W126 M-Benz S-class instead of this car because I really like the look of them, but I am glad I didn't-friends have told me the W126 would have sent me broke very quickly with major mechanical repairs, plus todays petrol prices. The initial attractiveness of a car wears off really fast when it sucks up all your money!

A good, reliable, tough car- no wonder it's called the Swedish Tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2006

1989 Volvo 240 DL from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A fine old car, and cute, too

Faults:

Rear taillight has a short.

Exhaust needed to be completely replaced.

Hood latch is broken.

Moulding is falling off.

Air conditioning doesn't work.

Radio and speakers are shot-radio is falling into dash, and speakers cut in and out.

Rear wiper works intermittently.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. It starts up every morning rain, shine, or snow, and still shifts very smoothly.

However, it has a very slow acceleration, which is scary when merging onto busy highways!

The interior is comfy, seat heaters still work fine, and heat blows HOT. Plenty of room for 5 teenagers in here, not to mention all of our cargo!

I bought this car sight unseen from a mechanic friend, and aside from replacing the exhaust, it has had only minor repairs over the last two years- mostly maintenance and new tires, battery, etc.

Perhaps the best thing about this car is that my kids find it highly embarrassing. This makes it fun to drive them around in.

I feel very safe and confident in this car and would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2006

1989 Volvo 240 DL volvo's B230F engine from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission volvo's B230F engine Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired166630 miles
Most recent distance177160 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

This car rocks!

Faults:

The ecm went out just before about 166500 miles; I hear that is common with 1989 240 series. I bought the car. I had to replace an oxygen sensor after driving the car approx. 1k miles. Not bad considering how many miles are on it. I had to recharge the air conditioner and a fitting on a transmission line came lose and had to be retightened.

General Comments:

I love this car. It handles like it's on rail. When you take a sharp curve in this 4000lb sedan it feel like you are driving an expensive sports car.

This car is very reliable! Aside from the minor repair I have made to it, it has provided me with nothing, but excellent service! At 177k miles it still cranks on the first attempt. The engine runs so smoothly at idle it could rival a Rolls Royce.

This car is very comfortable. The plush seats and supportive lumbar make it a joy to drive long distances especially for me. I have a bad back and the lumbar is a real life saver! The seat heaters are awesome; they really keep you from getting frostbite and in summer they are great when my back hurts! However there are a few things I wish Volvo had added to this car. No cruise control makes a long drive hard on your legs and the lack of cup holders is an inconvenience. I use the space between the hand brake and seat, it hold a 20 soda bottle nicely!

This car is not very fast on take off. You could compare its acceleration to that of a lead sled. However once this car gets moving it likes to walk until you reach about 80mph then it's a real push to 100 mph.

This car stops on a dime. When it comes to brakes Volvo has the right idea. It is the only sedan that weighs 4k lbs that stops like a Honda Prelude that I have seen.

If you are looking for safe car then this one is for you. I feel extremely safe driving this car. It is 4000 lbs of solid steel! I would hate for any one to hit it. I believe if it were hit by a Mack truck going 65 mph I would walk away unharmed! This model does not have air bags which suits me just fine!

When it comes to gas mileage this car is OK. Considering the weight and size of the vehicle, it is actually very good. It gets about 22 mpg on the highway and 16-17 in town. It is by no means a gas saver. However it does not drink gas like it is going out of style either. I would say it is just average, nothing to write home about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2006

17th Mar 2006, 01:29

"When you take a sharp curve in this 4000lb sedan it feel like you are driving an expensive sports car"

Oh please, come on.

8th Oct 2006, 00:16

It actually weight right around 3000 where did you get 4000 from?

17th Mar 2008, 18:36

I bought my 1988 240DL with 30K miles in 1990. I now have 197,000 miles. Great car! 24 mpg on highway, and 21 in the city. It's been the most dependable car I've ever owned. I was rear-ended by an SUV about 5 years ago. After considerable repairs to the trunk and rear of my car, it's still been very dependable. I've only had to charge the AC three times that I can think of. As you might expect, I had to replace some plastic parts on the interior... map pockets, dome light, but nothing major to date. Faithful preventative maintenance is the key to longevity!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 21 reviews