1990 Volvo 440 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1990 Volvo 440 GLE 1.7 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Faultless

Faults:

Starter motor.

Ignition switch.

General Comments:

I bought this car 2 months ago at a bargain price of £390. The inside is in mint condition and the outside has also been well looked after. What I do find common with the Volvos of this age is the rust on the edge of the doors. Is this a design fault?

The best thing about this car is that you feel safe and secure. The car handles very well on normal roads or motorways, and there is loads of room in the back for your passengers.

The car drives like new, even though it is 11 years old!

I don't actually have a bad word to say about the Volvo 440 GLE and would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

1990 Volvo 440 GLTi 1.7 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Excellent performance, comfort and style for very little money

Faults:

Starting motor cable became loose.

Both the front and rear windscreen washers are broken. Rear never worked, front broke after 4 months.

Seat heaters do not work.

Rear lamp cluster keeps falling out.

Strange clicking noise from the wheel.

All my coolant keeps disappearing!

General Comments:

This car has a really luxurious interior, which is very easy to keep clean. The paint-work is fantastic and all the little extras you get with a GLT really make this a good car.

Fuel economy sucks, especially if you drive with a lead boot as I tend to, or waiting in traffic.

This car was made for the motorway, it loves long journeys. Once it is up to speed it will just cruise regardless of hills!

Handling is fantastic although when wet it under-steers a little on roundabouts.

A really beautiful car.

One tip - Don't drive through the car wash with the radio on! My poor electric aerial, sob!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

20th Aug 2001, 16:36

For any information on my review please contact Nicdurkin@hotmail.com Thankyou!

1990 Volvo 440 GL 1.7 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Comfy student barge

Faults:

I sold the car to my brother after 2 days as he needed a first car with cheap insurance, but all he has had go wrong in a year and 10,000 miles was a leaking rear brake cylinder.

Oh, and apparently the sunroof leaks in rain. And the tailgate gas struts have lost their charge.

General Comments:

Heavy, heavy steering - this car needs power assistance.

The 1.7 carb engine provides so-so performance. The gearchange is pleasantly clunky. Fuel economy could be better - on unleaded, as this is one of the first cars on the UK market with a standard catalytic converter.

Comfy seats. Quite good spec - central locking, (optional) electric roof and heated seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2001

1990 Volvo 440 GLEi 1.7 injection petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 injection petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Great all rounder, very cheap!

Faults:

Steering rack worn.

Clutch worn out.

General Comments:

The injection is good, the car is very fast, although the revs are too high at 80-100mph, the gear ratios are slightly off.

There are loads of extras, the cabin is very comfortable and it handles very lightly.

Only downside is the high Volvo parts cost, some other manufacturers are far cheaper.

This model really doesn't deserve the 'old man' image!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

24th Sep 2001, 09:43

Wait until you have to stump up £174+VAT to replace 2 feet of mild steel exhaust downpipe, like I just had to :o(

1990 Volvo 440 GLT 1.7i multipoint-cat from Finland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.7i multipoint-cat Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired218000 kilometres
Most recent distance244000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

- Catalyser.

- Exhaust silencer.

- Central locking system.

- Front wheel bearing.

General Comments:

Very good and fast in the city. Pleasure to travel with that car. Good seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

1990 Volvo 440 1.7 turbo intercooler 120hp from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo intercooler 120hp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carHyundia Atos RS

Summary:

Starship Enterprise at a price of a bad holiday :)

Faults:

Nothing yet...:) Keep your fingers crossed..

General Comments:

I was a little bit suspicious when I saw the car, but the first few clicks convinced me. This is the car I want to have. It's fast, comfortable, kinda cute :)

And chicks dig it :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

1990 Volvo 440 GLT 1.7i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

New meaning to I Roll! Most pleasurable 1000 miles of my life!

Faults:

Slight rust around the rim of the sunroof - paid 1K for the car, so not worth fixing properly (used filler instead).

Doors squeak (sorted with regular lubrication).

General Comments:

A whole lot of car for a first car.

The mockery from college "buddies" soon halted on inspection of the motor. This is NOT A GRANDADS CAR!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

23rd Aug 2001, 15:23

I have already posted a review, but since then a couple of niggles have surfaced...

...Rear windscreen wipers don't wipe!

...Hole in the exhaust (straight line across the back-box - easy to weld)

...Alternator sits directly beneath the water reservoir. One day, for some reason, a little pipe dis-attached itself from the reservoir, emptying my water across the alternator. Alternator blew, taking a few lights on the dash with it. Refurbished alternator = £50. Dash (surrounding and above steering column) had to be removed to reach the bulbs. They have never fitted again properly - constant creaking and vibrating!

...But I still love the beast to bits. It is my unicorn that didn't get away! The guy from Slovenia knows what he is talking about - the birds go for it! My advice for the noises... turn the stereo on LOUD!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews