1985 Volvo 740 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1985 Volvo 740 GLE 4-Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4-Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

An expensive to fix tank

Faults:

Too many to remember them all.

I got the car in not too great condition, seeing as how it was used.

Volvos, as are most of them, are not very reliable when it comes to electrical problems. Many of the interior lights and other accessories such as the cigarette lighter take some knocking and banging and a little rewiring to get working.

Volvo interiors are such weaklings when it comes to weather wear. The sun has absolutely eaten my seats alive. Mainly fading all the color and weakening the fabric.

If you have a Volvo and live in a cold weathered region. You might wanna consider starting your car up early to warm it up. Volvos do not get along with the cold.

General Comments:

Volvos for the most part as I have heard and from my own experience are soldiers. They just won't die. Getting in a wreck is also a little bit more reassuring than other cars seeing as how they are built like tanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

24th Jan 2004, 15:45

I acquired a Volvo 1985 GLE manual transmission, when it had 132,000 miles on it in 1998.The odometer went in 2003 march at 297,000 miles. At the rate I drive it should have well over 310,000 miles in Jan 2004 when the car died on the highway. The overdrive broke down in 2003 and my mechanic told me to drive in 4th speed. I drove to Hartford and back to NYC about three times a week in 4th speed. The car complained bitterly of car abuse and refused to go in Jan 2004. I would load the big trunk and the back seat with beauty products. My mechanic says I probably blew the head gasket. I have parked it to be fixed later. For now I am buying the 740 Turbo because I just can't give up a Volvo. The only thing I hated about this car is the roof lining. I hope to have a collection one day.

23rd Nov 2004, 11:51

I have two Volvo's right now a 740 gle estate and a 760 turbo saloon both have over 300,000 on them now and they are the best cars I have ever owned you're not the only 1 that wants a collection of them I do 2.

22nd Dec 2008, 10:46

That must just be your Volvo. My car starts and idles well in the cold. I have never heard of them having a hard time in the cold weather, in fact I have always heard they start and heat up quickly in cold. One thing that helps is hooking up the heat reabsorption hose, which tends to disconnect often.

1985 Volvo 740 GL 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles

Summary:

A bargain for £300 if you can stand the humiliation

Faults:

Left wing mirror replaced due to a faulty motor.

General Comments:

This is a fine vintage model with no rust whatsoever due to the galvanised body.

The interior is very dull.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2001

1985 Volvo 740 GL 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired186000 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

A great car for the money!

Faults:

The solenoid went bad at 200,000 miles. I thought it was either the timing belt, fuel pump or head gasket. Because it's a Volvo, I thought that if the car went dead, it had to be something serious. I spent an entire day checking all the major components. After replacing the solenoid, I drove the car away.

Other items that were repaired are the clutch and steering rack. The plastic over the parking and driving lamps tends to let water leak in and the trunk seal is bad. The power window switches also go bad and the headliner commonly falls. The sunroof has it's problems with the gear handle stripping the gear. Nothing really major.

General Comments:

My first Volvo was totalled in a rear collision accident. The rear of the car was demolished. After filling out the accident report and replacing the bulbs for the driving lamps I got back in the car and drove the car for another week! The car is now parked but it does still run. I bought another 1985 Volvo 740 GL with my settlement.

Even though the car had 190,000 miles when I bought it, the engine idles like a new car and runs just as well. The manual transmission is what I think to be one of the best. It shifts well and I have had no problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

1985 Volvo 740 Turbo 2.3 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance291000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

Reliability far beyond one's expectations

Faults:

The transmission was rebuilt at around 185,000 miles. However, the electric overdrive unit has been far more problematic.

New clutch at 275,000 miles.

Driver's side taillight assembly fills with water if driven in heavy rain.

Air conditioning compressor replaced at about 85,000 miles (no AC problems since this replacement.

General Comments:

I am the original owner of this vehicle and overall I have been very impressed with its build quality and reliability. With nearly 300,000 miles on this vehicle, it still has never had any requirement for major engine work. It even still has the original turbo!

However, I wish that this car had a proper 5-speed manual transmission and not this silly electric overdrive monstrosity.

Nevertheless, it is still a very quick, safe, and comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2001

17th Mar 2005, 14:31

My father bought this car brand new and it currently has 198000 miles. Yes the original turbo still works and all that's been done to the engine is oil changes. Volvo does not build cars like this anymore.

8th Dec 2009, 15:15

My tail light used to fill with water too. Couldn't figure it out. Then, an idea: I drilled a couple of drain holes right through the plastic cover, near the bottom of the light. Completely solved the problem. Before this, I was burning out a bulb every time there was a heavy rain. You hardly notice the holes. By the way, the car is great.

5th Dec 2012, 09:13

I have a 760 without an engine. What would engine would you recommend me to put in it?

5th Dec 2012, 12:45

See if you can fit a Mopar 318.

6th Dec 2012, 11:45

Rather than fit another V6, fit the Volvo 4-pot Turbo, which should fit in no problems, and prove more reliable as well as quicker!

23rd Dec 2012, 20:20

What's the MPG on the 85 turbo with M46?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews