1986 Volvo 740 Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1986 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3 inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 inline 4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles

Summary:

No American car could last this long at this level

Faults:

Need new air suspension for towing (2100 lbs boat).

Replaced rear brakes and one rotor, having to get the front ones checked.

A/C has not worked since purchase, tried to have it recharged, leaked out in 4 days.

Rear windshield wiper need reinforcement - denture adhesive :)

Seat warmer non-functioning.

Much plastic cracked.

Cruise control works rarely.

One speaker out.

Old leaks.

Rusted out passenger floor panel (sheet metal fix-it).

General Comments:

This car runs great once warmed up, usually have to let it warm up for 30-40 seconds.

Heater is the best I have ever felt.

Lots of creaking noises.

Not much power to tow.

Very very small turning radius.

Nice passing gear.

Never used in winter, got re-sealed to test this winter. Heard good things though.

Never had the engine or transmission rebuilt.

Squeaky brakes.

Built to last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

18th Apr 2004, 21:22

A-men about the turning radius!

30th Jan 2005, 22:40

In response to the squeaky brakes issue: I have had several Volvos, loved every one of them. I found that anything other than genuine Volvo pads will result in noisy brakes. Not sure why, but when replaced with aftermarket pads... noise developed!

1986 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3L petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3L petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

Comfortable old workhorse

Faults:

The fuel pump required replacing at 140,000 miles due to severe "kicking-back" and refusal to start.

The driver's seat is a little unstable; it "shifts" slightly when taking sharp turns.

The interior isn't as hardy as I would have liked (small rattles here and there).

The heated seats never have worked since we obtained the car (2000) - but then again they have suffered passenger's weight for 15 years.

General Comments:

This is just basically a hardy, reliable old tank, but with unrivaled levels of comfort for a car of it's age.

All electrical parts (windows, mirrors, central locking) work perfectly and the seats are incredibly comfortable.

What is most admirable about the car is it's reliability. It has only refused to start once (due to a faulty fuel pump which had been going for 15 years prior to this).

It hasn't had a service for years, yet passed an MOT this year with flying colours - needed one day-running light bulb.

The only bad thing I have to say about it is fuel consumption - we are lucky to get 18-21mpg around town, and 30mpg on the motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

26th Jun 2001, 22:47

Need info regarding a problem with the idle. It was slow, now fast. The idle motor was replaced 4/30/01.

Jordanofmp@aol.com.

1986 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance169894 miles

Summary:

Comfortable, reliable, performance saloon

Faults:

Clutch needed replacement at 150k.

General Comments:

Extremely comfortable, reliable car.

Reasonable performance, easy to maintain and very cheap to buy.

Quite thirsty if driven hard, but on long motorway journeys returns 36mpg! Not bad for a 2.3 litre engine! More thirsty on very short journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2000

1986 Volvo 740 GLE Estate 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Water pump at 109,000 miles.

General Comments:

The most reliable car I have had. Dull to drive but in 8+ years only a Water pump apart from brake pads, 1 Battery and 2 sets of tyres. Now 144,000 miles.

Provides reliable dog/child/wife transport and will do so until it drops.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 1998

27th Jun 2001, 15:00

I bought my 1986 740 GLE Wagon two years ago, when it had 192,000 miles on it. It now has almost 217,000 miles on it and is still going strong. It was my first Volvo, and because it was so reliable and safe, I have been a Volvo fan ever since!!!

5th Aug 2001, 16:43

MY 740 wagon is a joy. It has 245,000 miles on it and I abuse it everyday. they like to be driven hard and are built to take it. When I take it to the garage they say that the engine, providing the oil is changed regularly, will last another 250,000 miles. I am thrilled with the car.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 27 reviews