1989 Volvo 760 Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1989 Volvo 760 Turbo Intercooler 2.4 B230 turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 B230 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance360000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo DL Wagon

Summary:

I'm going to take this Volvo past the 1 million km mark!

Faults:

Driver's seat electrics intermittent, then failed.

Driver's side window.

Headliner has fallen down.

All belts replaced.

Fuel pump replaced.

Sunroof cables snapped.

Rear door hatch is having trouble unlocking.

Mostly typical wear and tear, no major faults at all.

I'll bet most cars don't stay together like this one.

General Comments:

I got this car from my parents who took very good care of it. They live in BC, where is no salt on the roads in winter, so the car still looks newer than most cars in Ontario.

It is such a joy to drive this car and to fit everything into it with ease. The turbo is really nice and it goes like a rocket. Excellent pick up off the line.

This one is in really nice shape so I'm lucky. I just love this car. Turning radius must be the best of any car. It is a really classy vehicle. A real sweet ride.

My mechanic took another Volvo to 1.2 million kms. I'm hoping to get close to that, fuel costs permitting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2008

1989 Volvo 760 GLE 2.8 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Swedish barnstormer

Faults:

No real faults so far.

Slight headlining sagging in the rear.

Sidelights plastic lenses fading.

General Comments:

Bought this V6 1989 Estate to replace my BMW 520 Tourer, which was out grown by our dogs.

Owned 3 previous 7 series estates some time ago and it felt like coming home when I found this VOLVO again.

BMW can't hold a light to this iconic estate car. It's fast, smooth, comfortable and strong as an ox.

Everything on the car works perfectly including the climate control, and the caramel leather interior harks back to the good old 80s.

I still can't fault these cars, and this will be my 4th. Anyone who is prejudiced towards these old VOLVO's hasn't owned a decent car like these and should try them out.

Hope this one reaches 400,000 miles like my last one. They don't make cars like this any more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2008

1989 Volvo 760 turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Hot, reliable and comfy

Faults:

After 18 years, the body and leather seats aren't in great condition and the radio no longer works. I've put new brakes in twice, been forced to disable the ABS system and, after wearing out the only key I had, had to replace the steering column.

General Comments:

This is a beefy ride -- surprisingly nimble and fast. When you hit the overdrive button and punch it, the car lifts up and takes off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2008

1989 Volvo 760 Turbo intercooler gasoline from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission gasoline Automatic
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance186230 miles

Summary:

Very sleek and stylish

Faults:

AC and heat not really working at all... but the defroster slightly.

General Comments:

Love it Absolutely!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2006

1989 Volvo 760 intercooler turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles

Summary:

A dynamite drive

Faults:

Tie rods needed replacing.

Transmission was re-built.

Driver's side power window needs new regulator.

AC compressor has a leak and needs replacement.

Power seat adjuster doesn't work.

Door handle's busted.

Key became so worn down that I had to replace the steering column and get a new key. Now I can't open the trunk.

General Comments:

An outstanding car with a surprising amount of power.

It handles well (especially for it's size and weight) and is a cushy ride.

I'd buy another one in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2005

1989 Volvo 760 Turbo intercooled 2.3 turbo intercooled from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo intercooled Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Vanagon

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

The secondary fuel pump failed.

The muffler came off.

General Comments:

Whenever I drive this car, I always find myself giving it a pat on the dash, because it impresses me so much.

It's a very reliable car. I mean the fuel pump broke, I fixed it, and the car has been going ever since.

I bought this car from an old man who had died, and he had taken phenomenal care of this car. I mean it's basically in like new condition.

It has a nice way of going about business. Real light and easy. The motor isn't beautiful sounding, it's just this very quiet, peaceful relaxed four, that just steadily hums.

And then I turn on the stereo and I groove. I mean this car has an amazing radio. Six speakers, very well engineered.

The motor is very nice and efficient. It's a 2.3 liter four with a cast iron block, and an aluminum single over head cam head with 2 valves per cylinder. The cast iron block is tough and quiet. The cam is timed by a belt, which is very quiet and has to be replaced every 50,000 miles or else it may break, and then the valves will hit the cylinder, resulting in catastrophic engine failure. But apparently if you change the belt every 50,000 miles, the engine will run very long, reliably and efficiently.

The turbo is a real upgrade. It makes more power, lower down, uses less fuel, makes less noise, and has lower emissions. I mean my car with an automatic goes 25mpg city, 30mpg open road. The motor has a Bosch fuel injection system turbo with an intercooler, and behind the turbo there is a catalytic converter and two mufflers run one after another. So very quiet, clean and efficient.

The motor makes 160hp at 5800rpm, and 180 foot pound of torque at 2800rpm. So it's a very broad power curve, and it has a very smart way of casually making speed in real everyday situations. It never strains. It really cool, you hear this little four cylinder motor, but this big car is really getting going. SHHHHHH, and it's gone.

The brakes are the strongest aspect of this car's performance. There's vented disk in the front, and solid disk in the rear clamped down by dual piston floating calipers, controlled by a Bosch power anti lock brakes.

This car makes a 7 on my performance scale, because of its ability to accelerate and hold speed to the last second, and stop very quickly.

It only gets a seven because of its poor handling. It's really not a very agile car. It's smooth, but it's kinda an old fogey in the tight corners. However it has extremely precise and wonderful power steering, and it is really good in high speed corners out on the open road.

It's a unique and good looking car with a wonderful interior, that's very warm and stylish. It's certainly the nicest car I've ever owned, although I would say the best would be a Volkswagen, and the most reliable would be a Honda. But the bug isn't as nice, and the Honda isn't as well built as the Volvo.

The automatic transmission is the classic tough American hydromatic transmission. It's got a very quick shift, that works best under power. Unfortunately it doesn't have a torque converter lock up like on a Mercedes Benz. So the fact that this car get's 30mpg on the open road is really a testament to the efficiency of a small turbocharged motor.

Also, this car weighs only 3200 pounds, despite being a full size car, which means it was very efficiently constructed, because it's such a large car. A new Porsche or Mercedes weighs 3200 lbs.

Power everything. The only way in which this car is lacking is it doesn't have a diesel, and runs on gasoline. Apparently Volkswagen made a diesel for this car, but apparently it didn't work out very well. So I had to buy a Volkswagen Rabbit with a diesel and converted it. I hardly drive the Volvo anymore, so that I don't use fossil fuels. But I'm not going to sell my Volvo, it's been such a good car, and it's never let me down, so I'm looking at swapping a diesel into it. So yeah, who wouldn't be happy with a Volvo?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

10th Jun 2005, 02:16

We've crossed the 50% mark. 2010 will be when oil will be unaffordable. I'm also looking at other higher quality diesels like the Elsbett diesel. I could get 90mpg with that motor. www.elsbett.com. I'd have to get a modified bellhousing, and modify the motor mounts, put in an electric heater. But it is designed to run on straight veggie oil. Maybe buy a new Volvo diesel. Volvo makes great diesels, diesels that are supercharged off the line until their turbo spools up.

20th Jul 2006, 22:29

This engine is a non-interference design. Breaking the timing belt won't damage anything inside the engine.

14th Jan 2008, 18:12

I want to comment about the reliability of the 1989 Volvo 760! I recently bought a used Volvo 7670 with 258,000 miles on it. I was amazed to take the car to a mechanic and be told that since this car is well maintained then it is only a baby. I paid $ 1,500.00 for the car loaded with all of the bells and whistles and feel I got a steal. I feel safe, happy, and smart driving this car. Volvo hit a home run with this car.

27th May 2009, 00:08

I bought this car about three months ago after my Dodge got a transmission problem.

What a great car to drive. I probably drive 200 km a day, leave home at 7:00 am and get home at 6:00 pm, and just getting into this car and driving it to and from work for three hours a day is probably the best part of my day.

Sunroof motor seized up, so I brought it to my shop and they managed to get into a closed position, and the windshield washer pumps don't seem to work. I'll get that fixed, with a motor savvy uncle, a shop manual, and a part of Ebay.

This car has weird harmonics. When it vibrates at certain frequencies some parts of the car seem to shake with it. It reacts the same way when the stereo is played loud.

Still, I enjoy driving this car. I got it up to 190 km on my way to Calgary and the only thing that bothered me was the wind noise.

26th Feb 2010, 10:45

Can you take a manual tranny from a 740 GLE and put it in a 760 turbo?

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 20 reviews