1991 Volvo 940 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1991 Volvo 940 SE 2.3L turbo from Germany

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance106500 miles
Previous carAudi 100

Summary:

Lots of space and car for the money you pay

Faults:

Fuel pump relays was out of order, cost of repair unknown because car was still under warranty (There's a mandatory 1 year warranty for used cars since last year in Germany).

General Comments:

Car is moving very, very smooth. On the motorway it runs alongside faster cars without any sign of "beating" the engine. In-town, the car is SURPRISINGLY mobile and - swift. I never have seen such a maneuverability with such a big car - and I've driven a Audi 100 Avant (station) and a Mercedes 200 Station before. Both were not at all that handy.

Fuel consumption is a bit to high. (14.2ltr per 100km, city-traffic, but still..).

Seats are VERY comfortable - I'm rather tall (1.9m) and heavy. The car incourages cruising instead of racing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2003

1991 Volvo 940 GLE 16v non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 16v non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Surprisingly a tough car

Faults:

Sudden Timing belt failure, causing the engine to crash; valves were punctured when the engine crashed. Basically the whole engine was trashed.

General Comments:

When I got the car the engine was rebuilt due to a previous belt failure.

I was on the freeway when my engine crashed, to my surprise I was able to drive about 2 miles to the next exit, but at the price of loosing the whole engine.

I couldn't believe the car still ran for that long, even at all.

During all this the steering was perfect, I had all electrical power, but after about 2 miles the car died.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2002

1991 Volvo 940 Turbo 2.3 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Cielo

Summary:

The last true Volvo, an excellent alround car for the money

Faults:

The air conditioning was a bit fumy. This was caused by a leak from the crankcase breather. Apart from that, no problems at all.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have owned in 40 years. Long term (since 1987) back problems have totally disappeared since I bought this car; first trip was non stop Sydney to Melbourne; the seats are fantastic, handling and performance are excellent, fuel economy is satisfactory (and improving each day since I gave it a Nulon 30 treatment).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2002

1991 Volvo 940 Estate 2.4 turbo diesel from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired286000 kilometres
Most recent distance306000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 940

Summary:

Why didn't I buy it before

Faults:

A lot went wrong, the radiator was broke.

The lights inside the car worked poorly.

The car used oil and a lot of smoke came out of the car on the back side.

The hand-brake cable was broken.

Once it didn't start, the battery was dead.

General Comments:

The car has a lot of space for five persons and a wheelchair.

The "drive" to drive a Volvo is enormous.

Pulling a caravan is easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

1991 Volvo 940 GL 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Comfortable but costly

Faults:

Problems with the ECU.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable and very comfortable, it can easily seat four large adults in comfort.

On the negative side the performance leaves a lot to be desired and the fuel consumption is a bit scary, especially during the colder months.

If you can live with the running costs though I would whole heartedly recommend one of these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

12th Mar 2009, 16:04

I get around 25-30mpg from my non turbo 2L SE, this seems reasonable to me. It all depend on what car or what basis you are comparing the MPG to.

1991 Volvo 940 SE 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance109544 miles

Summary:

Speechless.. a diehard

Faults:

Heated seats needed to be replaced.

Timing belt (2).

Rotors needed to be replaced.

Rear door lock mechanism failed.

Air conditioner replaced with R34.

General Comments:

This car is a great family car.

Great gas mileage.

Great space for people and large trunk.

Moves very nicely... not fast... just nice.

Reliablity has been the best of any car I have ever owned.

Always gets through the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

1991 Volvo 940 GLE 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 2.3
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

This car has now covered 93,000 miles and has never given trouble.

General Comments:

I cannot fault this car on reliability grounds, I feel this car will go on for ever. I am planning to drive to the south of Spain this year and have no worries on the car making it. In its lifetime I have only had to change the obvious service parts. Timing belt at 52,000 miles, one battery, tyres, exhaust and brakes. With regular servicing I feel this car has many years left.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2000

28th Nov 2000, 20:18

I own a 1990 940 GLE 2.3 16v (Rare).

At 103,000 miles all I have had to replace are tyres, brakes and bulbs.

Motorway performance is excellent but it's a little bit unresponsive off the mark, even in sports mode.

If you can find one, go for leather. It makes up for the box jokes. It's a pity that in 8 valve you get air con as standard but in 16 valve it was an expensive optional extra.

There are some dodgy ones about so make sure if you're buying one it's got a FSH, preferably from a main dealer. Panels are expensive so don't crash it.

For the little ones, integral booster seats are a real plus and they disappear when not in use.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews