1992 Volvo 940 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1992 Volvo 940 SE 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Best car I have ever had

Faults:

One of the Hand brake cables snapped at 141000 miles.

Exhaust valve in the cylinder next to the Turbo went at about 136000 miles. In September 2003 I had a cylinder head replacement at 141500, to fix this (complete with new leads, belts head gasket etc, as well as the new valve). It has again run like a dream since.

General Comments:

Engine very quiet and smooth.

Turbo cuts in when extra power required - not merely on reaching a certain level of revs.

Build quality is excellent - no rust at all on a 12 year old car.

Superb levels of comfort for driver and passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

1992 Volvo 940 GL B230F from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission B230F Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance196000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Excellent value

Faults:

I have replaced the water pump three times in 8 years.

Broken drive belt.

Overdrive electronics failed.

Gas tank needed replacing: a baffle came loose.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable, safe car. It passes well. There is lots of trunk space. With snow tires, it handles well in the snow. The body is still in near-perfect condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2004

15th Aug 2005, 12:56

This is a typical volvo. Quite high maintenance frequency and cost, but long vehicle life if maintained and driven gently.

30th Sep 2010, 00:40

Great vehicle, high performance.

How do I get parts? I am in Africa.

1992 Volvo 940 GL 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Reliable sturdy work-horse, highly recommended

Faults:

Other than the fuel pump in the tank breaking down and contaminating centre fuel pump, I have had no problems with it with the exception of the red paint work fading on the roof and bonnet.

General Comments:

Although this is a big heavy car, it has proved to be a real work-horse. I cannot fault it on Reliability, it starts every time and runs like a dream.

Performance isn't race car like, but for size and weight it isn't bad.

With 205,000 miles on the clock it is surprisingly smooth and quite drive. Comfort is pretty good.

It has proved to be quite thirsty on petrol, but this is still within acceptable levels.

I would have no hesitation recommending this car to anyone, especially if you need a strong work-horse for towing. We have towed our 23 foot caravan all over the place with no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

11th Mar 2007, 17:02

I'm in the process of buying a 92 940 gl from my brothers friend for 3 grand. you stated the car uses a decent amount of petrol. how much? averege miles per gallon? I need to know. thanks. gave me some new insight.

12th Mar 2007, 12:25

All RWD Volvo's are not nearly as fuel efficient as the newer FWD ones. That said, the newer ones aren't nearly as easy to service, or as durable (given lack of maintenance) as the older RWD ones were.

If fuel economy is a concern, get an 850...if not, go for any one of the RWD variants, you'll be suprised at it's reliability.

1992 Volvo 940 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 Automatic
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

Big enough for comfort, small enough to maneuver

Faults:

The cruise control doesn't work.

The "map" holders on the driver and passenger doors are mysteriously cracked.

General Comments:

This car has leg room and head room to spare. Lots of room in the rear too.

The leather bucket seats show no wear and are roomy and comfortable.

Economical on fuel. Drove from Northern New Jersey to Durham, North Carolina on one tank of gas.

Dashboard easy to read.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

18th Nov 2007, 12:13

Take a LOT of bibles, put them in a box in the trunk for weight... and buy some snow tires. With careful driving, problem solved.

1992 Volvo 940 GL 2.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 kilometres
Most recent distance189000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Fantastically reliable car

Faults:

Two brake light replaced at $1.00 Australian each. The flow control valve needed replacing.

The car lost power and cut out unexpectedly for a year or so intermittently until a wire was found to have been rubbing itself raw and shorted the ignition. On replacement (after the miracle of our mechanic finding it) the car runs beautifully once again.

A Volvo mechanic (which was really a Ford Dealership with a new franchise) broke the plastic pipe leading into the top of the radiator after my last service with Volvo in the mid 90's. We went halves. The test driver that day also got out from the car (with cloth seats) in his oily overalls leaving oil stains on the front drivers seat still visible today. The dealership is not longer there, but my Volvo 940 is.

General Comments:

What a beautiful safe family car.

She will go forever, but will cost you an arm and a leg unless you find a Volvo trained mechanic who has started his own workshop.

Never ever buy Genuine Volvo Parts first unless you have deep pockets. Look at the manufacturer and source them from there directly. My example is the above flow control valve I replaced in 1997, it was stamped 'Bosch'. Volvo quoted $1,100 for the part. I bought an identical part from 'Bosch' for $240 on my mechanics advice to try somewhere else. I know cardboard is dear, but $860 for a Volvo cardboard box is a bit rich.

I don't have many of these problems because the car is so reliable. In fact, I am planning to teach my 11 year old son to drive in it in 6 years time. We call her Bertha and she is older than my daughter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

25th Apr 2006, 23:22

We had a 1992 940, and in some ways, I liked it more than the S90 and 960 that we had / have (respectively). It got great fuel mileage, felt very solid, yet had decent handling, and gorgeous grey leather. It was an extremely well-built car, and really didn't seem to be compromised with the B230F four cylinder engine.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 18 reviews