1995 Volvo 960 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Volvo 960 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carVolvo 960

Summary:

Best buy we have ever made

Faults:

A/C compressor died at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car runs like a tank.

Just bought a 2002 S 80 (31,000 miles) so that my teenager can have the 960.

I hope to be as pleased with the new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

1995 Volvo 960 2.9 I6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.9 I6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Best Volvo ever

Faults:

A/C leak 110,000.

Rear struts 121,000.

Headlight wiper motor 90,000.

General Comments:

Very quiet in-line 6. This car is a pleasure to drive with rear independent suspension. Best Volvo ever; too bad its the last rear drive Volvo. This car rides much better than my 1999 V70 XC Cross Country. Seat heaters still warm the posterior at 121,000 miles. Paint has yet to fade; can't find a reason to upgrade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2005

1995 Volvo 960 2.5 from Zimbabwe

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carVolvo 960

Summary:

I just had to buy another one after selling my first

Faults:

Nothing yet with this one, but on the previous one the radiator which I managed to replace myself.

Most of the problems were electrical and these were an easy self fix job.

General Comments:

Though this car has it's faults I have just purchased a second one because I found it so cheap to mantain.

The looks will never be outdated.

The most impresive part is the power and handling it is built for the highway.

Wonderful sound system no need to add anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2005

1995 Volvo 960 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carVolvo Toyota Land Cruiser

Summary:

Consider purchasing a Toyota

Faults:

The leather seats have worn terribly. The air conditioner leaked its freon since it was purchased. The drive train shuddered when in low gear. Electronic senors have gone at 57,000 miles.

General Comments:

Though I admire the reputation of a Volvo, I have found that much of it was unwarranted for models post 1985.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

22nd Mar 2005, 12:23

I don't know about post 85 Volvo's being suspect...

I would say Volvo's reliability peaked in 1988-90 with it's 740/760 models.

Those years are super reliable as are most 1985-92 240 series.

I do agree, however, that Volvo's quality continued to drop from 1990 to 2001 or so. The 2000 S40 is the biggest hunk of junk they've ever made.

It pays to research the good years and pick a known winner!

I personally recommend the 89/90 760 GLE...reliable luxury at agreat price.

13th Nov 2008, 00:56

I don't think Volvo quality started to go down until they started venturing away from the 4cyl. rear-wheel drive models like 240, 740/760, and 940. The 960 came out in '92 and was just a more luxurious version of the 940 with a failure prone 6cyl. engine and electronic transmission. Then the 850 came out in '93 with all of its electrical and build quality shortcomings. Then Ford bought Volvo and quality took a plunge starting with the new or redesigned '98 models. The general rule of thumb I've learned over the years about Volvos, if it's got a 4cyl. and is rear-wheel drive, it's a great Volvo! I'm talking from having experience with an '85 240DL, an '89 740 Turbo, and '95 940. All extremely dependable cars that lasted a very long time.

1995 Volvo 960 2.9 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

A wonderful car if you can afford the maintenance

Faults:

The air conditioning was an ongoing nightmare. Virtually every possible part had to be replaced.

The engine had to be replaced at 129,000 miles due to the "porous block" syndrome common to the alloy block 2.9L 960 engines.

General Comments:

The Alpine stereo was the best car audio I have ever had, by far.

The 2.9L inline six was incredibly smooth and powerful.

Volvo's leather seats in the 960 are all-day comfortable.

Winter handling in Minnesota without snow tires was absolute purgatory.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

6th Mar 2005, 09:33

The Volvo 960 porous engine block problem is well documented in these links:

http://www.volvoclub.org.uk/faq/960_90Info.html#Porous960B6304Blocks

http://www.swedishbricks.net/700900FAQ/BuyingUsed7xx1.html

Watch for missing coolant that leaks through pinholes into exhaust. A very expensive fix. Best bet is to stay clear of Volvo's 2.9L inline six and the 960.

13th Apr 2005, 21:08

We have had our 960 for quite a number of years now.

Although the service seems expensive, the dealer always tries do their best and gives my wife a car to use, even though it is well out of warranty.

Because of the lack of problems with this car, my wife and I swear by them and bought two more Volvo's. A XC70 Cross Country and a S80 T6.

The 960 pulls very strong. It gets an average 27.5mpg on the road at 70+ with 91 octane, 24 with 87. We drove it across the country with our two children and it was smooth and quiet. The trunk is roomy enough for all 4 of us.

The front springs started to sag a little at 125,000 miles which is lead to resetting the alignment.

Volvo should never have stopped making it. I prefer the rear wheel drive, even if we had to buy Blizzak tires for the winter. It is awful in the snow without them.

The brakes have lasted longer than any car we have owned in the last 30 years.

I think that those that complain about a 960 have not taken time to appreciate what it really is. It requires very little maintenance.

I have run Mobil 1 since getting the car, and change it at 10,000 miles just as the indicator recommends. I don't cheat on parts. I buy the best I can get. Cars are too expensive to cheat on the small stuff.

1995 Volvo 960 limo 3 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Monza

Summary:

Best buy as a luxury car

Faults:

At 100000km the fuel rail leaked. When I took my car to the Volvo Garage they welded the pipe at the place of replacing it without consulting me. The fuel got blocked by aluminum debris from the welding job forcing me to fix it at my cost at Volvo agent while the part or job was under guaranty. Beside Volvo has known of the fault so why do I have to tolerate such poor service for such a great car?

General Comments:

My car is the 960 stretched referred often as the Limo. It is fun to drive. It is very quiet inside. Has plenty space specially for the passenger. It pulls fine, but could use a turbo when wanting to go from stand still. The seat are comfortable. The dash board should have been better design. But for a car that id 8 years old I would prefer this one over the equivalent S80 of 2002.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews