2002 Volvo S60 Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2002 Volvo S60 D5 2.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carRenault Renault

Summary:

Stylish car for the assured demanding driver

Faults:

'Whistling' from the turbo when depressing accelerator pedal.

Front window side panel brackets became loose.

General Comments:

Excellent performance from a diesel with power & speed to match when needed. Excellent road handling.

Stylish car with refined looks make it stand out from the usual German competitors.

Outstanding fuel economy, but this is offset slightly by some expensive spare parts.

The boot design could be improved on - difficult to place 'larger' objects in. Likewise - rear door openings mean that clearance width and height make it difficult to put in any large item/box etc in the rear seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2005

2002 Volvo S60 D5 2.5 turbo diesel from Germany

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Fuel saver, even with the chip less than 7 Liters

Faults:

Turbo hose failed after 20000 Km.

After 3 days complete Motor Electronic failed.

After 26000 km all 5 injection nozzles failed.

After 30000 km shock of the back door failed.

General Comments:

After the car was chipped and has now about 200 HP Power it runs very good.

The electronic message system is sometimes producing messages the dealer cannot read.

The space is not really the biggest item.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

5th Jun 2004, 14:39

I own the same car and I'm thinking of tune it up little. I've got an offer from RICA for chip to 198 HP. I would like to know the car's acceleration and top speed with chip.

Thank You.

26th May 2005, 00:58

What fuel mileage does the diesel get?

2002 Volvo S60 AWD 2.4 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance22500 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

A pleasure to look at and to drive

Faults:

Front cup holder catch failed.

General Comments:

This is a beautiful car both inside and out and also very quick.

Seat comfort is outstanding and general cabin controls and ergonomics excellent, making it very easy to drive.

Top class audio and air conditioning..

Handling and ride are very good and the car is a superb tourer.

Fuel economy is excellent (11.5 litres/100km. city, 7.5 litres/100km. country) giving nearly 900km. touring range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

2002 Volvo S60 SE 2.4T from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18800 miles
Previous carCitroen Xsara

Faults:

Build quality of car is not perfect. I had several minor issues sorted after delivery.

Biggest problem is rattles and noise. I expect better from Volvo.

General Comments:

Performance and comfort is good. Backseat space is not great, but will do for two. I imported this car myself and got a well speced car for less than 20K. For this kind of money I don't think you can do much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2004

15th Jun 2005, 12:56

Talk about rattles, I bought a used 2002 S60 a few months ago, and there's a rattle coming from the right rear. It's driving me crazy. Road noise is unusually loud. Too bad, otherwise it's a great car.

2002 Volvo S60 SE 2.0T from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0T Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Great performance, luxury and different to the German barge!

Faults:

Broken cup holder, but that was my fault, tried to squeeze a bigger bottle in than would fit.

General Comments:

I was looking around for a well priced luxury saloon with decent performance, where I live the Mercedes' and BMW's are commonplace, putting me off.

The S60 is a very nice car indeed, the automatic transmission shifts nicely, its fast and handles well. The 17" alloys in the UK are essential and make the car what it is.

I am very proud of the car and would recommend one over a BMW or Mercedes any day as its different, but just as good when it comes to comfort and space and it has excellent performance in comparison.

I find the heated leather seats are excellent, the dashboard (angled toward the driver) is superb and it is the best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

2002 Volvo S60 T5 2.3 turbo from Sweden

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1400 kilometres
Most recent distance3100 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 147

Summary:

The best money can get!

Faults:

Nothing at all! No problems!

General Comments:

The best car I ever owned! Much much lower consumption than expected! It's just WONDERFUL!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

2002 Volvo S60 TS 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A very sound buy

Faults:

Drivers door lock mechanism failed at 18000 miles.

General Comments:

Very impressive performance, and yet economy surprising considering 180bhp engine.

Very comfortable seating.

Excellent standard equipment, air conditioning, cruise control, CD player etc. all standard.

Not a great drive on a twisty road - safe and sound, but lacks subtlety of handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2003

2002 Volvo S60 2.4 Liter no turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission no turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17300 miles
Most recent distance17500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A filet mignon

Faults:

This is a used S60, so there were a few minor things that needed to be fixed, i.e. a rear stereo speaker cover, fog-light covers, things like that. The dealer was more than willing to take care of it.

General Comments:

I did a lot of research on the Volvo product before I decided to purchase a used S60. The car I owned before this was a Chevrolet Cavalier. (It's like going from a greasy truck stop hamburger to a filet mignon.)

Handles beautifully, great visibility at night. The driver's side door controls are within easy reach (unlike the Toyota Camry, which I also considered buying) The legroom is very spacious and for someone who is short, the knees fit perfectly under the steering wheel. Also, if a woman is planning to have a baby, the Volvo is a great choice for comfort and safety during those last few months. The telescoping wheel is a great feature. It corners really well, and the base engine is quite adequate for regular city driving. I have no need for a turbo. Rear legroom is a little tighter than in the Camry, but the trunk is extremely spacious. The front end is sleek and sporty looking. I had a much better buying experience at the Volvo dealership than others in town. I spent more than I set out to, but the way I was treated made all the difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

2002 Volvo S60 T5 2.3 turbo from Sweden

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 147

Summary:

Buy it and get lucky!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Excellent car with good quality in every detail. Lower consumption than expected. In all a car I would recommend a friend to buy!

Although the insurance is a bit expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2003

2002 Volvo S60 Base 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A good responsible car with some style

Faults:

New car, so there is nothing wrong with it yet.

General Comments:

This is a small car, but the front seats have a lot of room. Back seats are cramped, especially if tall people are in the front.

The car is reasonably fast, but there are cheaper cars that are faster. It has 168 horsepower, so it can move, but you have to plan a little to merge into Los Angeles highway traffic.

The main selling point is safety. Also, it has the most of the luxury features of a Mercedes or BMW, but lower insurance rates (in fact, the insurance on this car is only about $100 more per year than my 2000 Taurus).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 24 reviews