1998 Volvo S70 Reviews - Page 10 of 21

1998 Volvo S70 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I hope I can keep driving it as I like it very much

Faults:

Master power window switch

Headlight switch

Engine light unexplained malfunction.

General Comments:

Nice car to drive

Becoming concerned about electrical.

I found a new recall for the headlight switch 04V504000 recall date Oct 21, 2004- wish me luck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2005

31st Jan 2006, 11:13

Also own 1998 volvo s70. Same engine light problem. Now having trouble with rear windows stuck open. Did you look into having these items fixed? Otherwise a nice solid and heavy feeling comfortable car.

1998 Volvo S70 5 cylinder turbo from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Regardless of the great handling and comfort, terrible engineering makes this my last Volvo ever

Faults:

Air conditioning constantly stops working. It is caused by electrical problems.

The transmission runs very rough.

On the panel, the engine light, ABS light, the light bulb out light and the service light are constantly illuminated.

The coverings on all 4 doors have bubbled up and separated from the doors.

The lock on rear door will not release remotely.

The trunk lock will not release remotely.

The leather on the drivers seat has deteriorated badly.

The cup holder was flimsy and broke off long ago.

The antenna won't retract.

General Comments:

The car is nice looking and extremely comfortable. Seven years later the style is still very attractive.

The car drives beautifully and handles very well.

Volvo has suffered from terrible electrical problems for decades and it is inconceivable to me how the people who build these cars can't correct these same problems year after year. I bought this car to keep for at least 200,000 miles and at 73,000 miles, I am finally giving up. It isn't worth putting money into any more. Because the engine light is constantly illuminated, I'll never know if there is a critical engine problem. A friend with my same model and year had her engine actually blow up at 70,000 miles because the engine light was always on and she didn't know the plastic radiator had failed until it was too late. Should a near luxury car have a plastic radiator?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th September, 2005

13th Aug 2006, 06:02

Actually, the plastic-top radiators are no less durable than the aluminum ones.

1998 Volvo S70 SE % cylinder. from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission % cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance176000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Faults:

Frequent changing of light bulbs

Various minor electrical problems.

Minor leak in a/c at 115,000 km.

Small leak in exhaust manifold at 170,000km.

General Comments:

Have had car since new and has been generally reliable. One exception is light bulbs. There is always at least one out, and every service visit involves bulb replacement. Sockets were replaced by a recall in 1999, but problem persists. Last visit, a new bulb burned out before arriving home. Very annoying, and ironically enough, very unsafe.

Brakes are great, but pads require replacement each 50k.

Other than that, its built like a tank, and generally drives like one too. 5 cylinder (non-turbo) engine is too small for size of car. Seats are very comfortable and the car is solidly built. Car is nearing eight years old and body, paint and leather interior are still in great shape.

After eight years this is a car I feel comfortable investing in until it hits 300km. Wouldn't describe as fun to drive, but if your looking for pure practicality and utility, it's a good choice. As with any car, regular maintenance and repairs pay off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2005

1998 Volvo S70 GLT 2.4 liter turbo from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance79850 miles
Previous carCadillac Cimarron

Summary:

It is a well made, supremely comfortable cruiser that needs a lot of TLC.

Faults:

Both front door's vinyl inserts de-laminated.

The cup holder broke after 6 years of use.

The parking brake shoes tend to seize if they aren't released after getting wet.

The "soft-touch" coating on some of the switches scratches easily.

General Comments:

This is my first Volvo.

In general, I am very impressed with the quality of the vehicle both inside and out.

The seats are unsurpassed. The control placement is mostly logical and the switchgear is solid. The sound system is very good as well.

The motor is powerful and the handling in satisfying, although it isn't a sport sedan.

However, the maintenance demands seem high for a modern car. I do most of the work myself, so costs are manageable.

I wouldn't recommend the car to someone unwilling to commit to strictly following the maintenance schedule.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st July, 2005

29th Aug 2006, 14:14

Well... your last car was a Cimarron...

18th Nov 2006, 21:40

Meaning what?

That anything would seem better than the badge engineered Chevy Cavalier I bought used to get me through school?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 59 reviews