2000 Volvo S80 2.9 from North America - Comments

23rd Oct 2004, 21:54

I'm scared to death. Just bought a 2000 S80 and am reading everyone's reviews across the Internet. Truly haven't seen much that's encouraging. And don't really have the budget for an average of $2000 per year repairs, as some have noted. Or for all the missed time from work. Have about two more days to check out this car and/or return it. I'm a wreck!

26th Oct 2004, 17:21

That's me above. I returned the car. Am looking at other vehicles now. I really have to thank you all for the honest comments! RL.

27th Jan 2005, 23:47

To the above, I truly believe you have gotten rid of a fantastic car. I own two 2000 S-80s; one is turbo. I've experienced nothing, but great performance and high reliability. I read the same comments as you and wonder if they're speaking of the same car. The non-turbo S80 throttle body and CD player have been serviced while I have encountered 0 problems with the turbo. Guess I'm lucky. If you take it to a Volvo dealership I will admit service and repairs are costly, but so are the BMW, Mercedes, Cadillac or any other high-end car. I know for a fact that Chevrolets are expensive to repair, especially if you take it to a dealership. Independent Volvo service repair centers are a lot more tolerable. The key is to keep your car under warranty as long as possible. Many warranty companies will insure your car up to 150,000 miles. I believe the bad press against 1999 and 2000 Volvo S80s are overrated. What car doesn't have problems? It's a mechanical entity.

17th Aug 2005, 19:09

What I truly don't understand is how so many s80s have problems yet so much don't??

28th Nov 2005, 09:16

I just purchased this automobile three weeks ago and already the throttle is acting up.. sputtering and the Engine Light came on requiring emissions systems servicing. I originally was looking at the S40 models, but when I drove this car, I was sold on it. All that is said of the comfort and speed are true. I am now very concerned because my regular Volvo mechanics ( Had an old school 240 for a few years) are telling me that of all the Volvo year and models, this one is the most expensive to upkeep. I did not purchase the extended warranty thinking that I was buying a reliable car... I may have made a huge mistake and all of these comments are causing a pit in my stomach!

27th Jan 2006, 01:12

I purchased a Volvo not only for it's safety rating, but rather for the thought of it being a reliable and well made automobile... My S80 had 40,000 miles when I purchased it (with the extended warranty)! Since that time, now 2 yrs. older, I have had numerous problems with it. During the warranty period, I've experienced a problem with the engine running rough and racing while idling . After a few days it stalled on me and had to get it towed to the dealership where they determined it to be a faulty gasket which, in turn, leaked oil onto the throttle body causing the engine to stall. To my dismay, the diagnostic code for this didn't exist, so the dealership said it couldn't be covered under warranty! How such a problem is not covered under warranty I will never know! The latest adventure to the dealership for a check engine light emission service required, proved to be a leaking fuel tank. Yes, you heard me right, a leak in the fuel tank. This is covered by the warranty, but after the last experience I had, I never renewed the extended warranty so I got stuck shelling out even more money!

27th Jan 2006, 20:31

...Own a '99 S80...Most comfortable ride I've ever owned... Less tiring on long trips... Avg 24.1 mpg...BUT, you're at the mercy of what the dealership's mechanic tells you when it comes to working out the mechanical weaknesses.

Anything can set the warning lights off, and I've been told I'd need to replace the transmission to keep the warning lights from showing up...I've never had a smoother transmission...ever. So, I live with the warning lights. Incidentally, a lot of variations of warnings flash even if it's a failure to tighten the gas cap. I've even replaced the cap at the dealership just to make sure I didn't have a leaky cap...Didn't work!...

So...I live with the warning lights... drive my favorite ride... keep it clean... and enjoy the S80. Just wish I didn't have to look at the cotton-picking warning messages.

If anyone out there has had the similar problem, I'd like to hear about it. Thanks for listening.

1st Feb 2006, 21:28

I had this Volvo S80 for almost 5 years now, and never did I have any problems! This car is extremely quiet, and reliable. I have over 220,000 KM on this thing and its still going. My friend has a Mercedes Benz S class and that car has so many problems, it can’t even go 4 months without an electrical issue, or something with the engine. I think Volvos are much more reliable and better-built then BMW and Mercedes Benz hands down. I think the reason why some of the other people have had problems is because they were not taking care of their car. I take mine in for regular maintenance at a certified Volvo dealer. In conclusion I think this car is worth every penny! It might cost quite a bit to get, but you just can't put a price on your life and safety, that’s why I bought a Volvo.

16th Apr 2006, 06:52

I agree with the last review.

I have had many experiences with volvo's, including S80. Well, I can say, that many of those cars are having some problems, but with the reason of being abused or neglected. I don't know, why is this so common with this model, but I have experienced an S80 with 30.000 kilometers on the clock, with many costly problems, until I find out, the car was seriously abused by a previous owner (there wasn't even oil change in 30.000kms). I also experienced several S80's with more than 300.000 kilometers on it, and were fine, with no problems whatsoever.

20th Apr 2006, 13:03

I have a Volvo S80 purchased previously owned. Had it for about one 1year 6 months. The car is beautiful, but that check engine light has been coming on lately. The light is crazy and seems to come on, only when I get gasoline, but I will try and keep the cap tightened, as I have read, this could be the cause of the light coming on. Otherwise, I love the car-very class and smooth ride. Thank you.

9th Nov 2006, 13:30

Yes, I have a Volvo S80.

I take care of the car, I do all the maintenance and change the oil every 6 months.

But the car shows up all kind of errors. When you touch the brake it said the brakes have failed, and car runs slow after and comes back when it wants.

Now I've got the message "drive slowly, service request" and "transmission needs a service". This car has just 120000km.

Do I need to change the transmission already??

Volvo, are you smart to make the car like this???

16th Mar 2007, 14:04

Just about to part with some hard earned UK Sterling for a really cherished example of the S80. Test drove it against 3 other cars in its class and it just keeps saying, buy me!! In the UK Volvo are highly regarded as being the forerunners of the'reliable car' if there was such a thing. Your reviews worry me, but I'm sure I'm on to a good thing. S80 2.4 manual petrol. Gorgeous!!