2001 Volvo V70 SE 2.4 140 bhp from UK and Ireland


Very Good, mony well spent


Wishbones replaced

Anti roll bar links required replaced.

General Comments:

One of the comfiest cars I have ever driven. Good interior space, although the 140 bhp version is maybe a bit underpowered, but this engine is easily chipped to 180bhp.

Economy is good for such a large car.

Handles superbly, I'm a traffic cop and we use these at work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2006

2001 Volvo V70 T5 2.3L turbo from Japan


Unreliable, poorly designed, costly vehicle


Failed brake booster, bad suspension and bushings, failed O2 sensor, failed ABS unit, electronic throttle module failed, many light bulb replacements, engine light constantly coming on for unidentified reasons.

General Comments:

Extremely unreliable car. Volvo dealer personnel were very professional and admitted to me that the 2001 V70 was an extremely troubled car. All of the things gone wrong with my car we're "common" with V70 according to the Volvo mechanic. Parts are very expensive. This car spent more time in the shop than at home. Never will Volvo get another dime out of me or my family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2005

28th Aug 2007, 23:14

Bought my V70 T5 in 2004 with 25,000 miles on it. electrical expensive indeed, replaced: power assist brake booster, C02 sensor, fuses/bulbs nearly every other month.

Now we're onto CV joints, throttle body issues and dealing with mysterious power surges that four software downloads haven't addressed.

26th Apr 2008, 13:44

2002 V70 T5: So far, has been a very unreliable car: failed regulator, 2 times failed O2 sensors, various electrical problems - all in less than a year.

5th Mar 2011, 15:04

Volvo V70 2.4T 2001.

60,000 miles.

This has been a headache since I bought it. Problems with the throttle body, alarm, brakes, suspension, general electrics.

Also very thirsty.

Thankfully I have a 100% reliable 1996 BMW 328i with 140,000 miles on the clock that I can use when the Volvo is in the garage.

2001 Volvo V70 T5 turbo from North America


The car is an electrical nightmare


Front head lamp replaced

Left turn signal replaced

Electrical relay switch replaced

ABS electrical module replaced

Electrical stent replaced

Alternator replaced

Faded bumpers.

General Comments:

We bought this car on Volvo's reputation of safety and quality. We are disappointed in the quality of the vehicle.

The electrical system is a nightmare. The service manager even commented that the car is a lemon.

We have owned the car for one year, and have spent $2500 on repairs. Please reconsider purchasing this vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2005

23rd Feb 2006, 00:45

I would say these are more than just "minor" issues if $2500 was spend during the first year... the Volvo V70 T5 is definitely an electrical nightmare, and ABS problem is very common in with this model. My recommendation is to get rid of it while you can because the next problem (probably your ETM failure) is going to cost at least $1000.

2001 Volvo V70 V70T 2.4 petrol LP turbo from UK and Ireland


Probably go back to Ford


On delivery, car had undetected coolant leak from badly tightened hose - could have seized the engine.

Within first year, electric rear window jammed due to loose guide.

Car had problems with starting with a low fuel level, seems to have gone away after extensive tinkering by dealer.

Just out of warranty, on first MOT inspection, nearly failed on rear anti-roll bar link wear. Volvo agreed 50% rebate on cost of renewing. Mileage only approx 25k! Not spotted by dealer on recent big service when still in warranty.

Again just out of warranty, noticed discolouration of paint on the external plastic infill trims which run full length of cabin between top of doors and the roof rails. Apparently known fault and Volvo only again agreeing to 50%, still having to fork-out £110.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and pleasant to drive.

Am very disappointed that so many things have gone wrong with it and that Volvo are only partially accepting liability for things which they knew were defective.

It is very thirsty (about 24-25 mpg average) but accelerates and cruises well on 200 bhp.

Dealer service no better than Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

10th Sep 2007, 03:08

My v70 T has been on its perfect behaviour. Total luxuxy, with heated leather seats... and a pick up that makes me blush... do I love my Volvo.?

10th Sep 2007, 08:48

The V70 is a great car, but there are other cars out there that are even greater at a lower cost. Volvo really has to make a record profit on these cars. Expensive car, spare parts are expensive and all work needed done is expensive. Warranty is not good either. Dealers charge a fortune just to look at your car. Although these cars are basically solid, there are many known weaknesses.

Sorry, I can't really see the point. Guess it's an image thing because you are paying top price for something that's mediocre. This is even more apparent with the cars that share platform with Ford. I mean, Volvo is now just an overpriced Ford. I really can't understand why people are willing to pay the price difference.