2001 Volvo XC70 2.4 from North America

Summary:

Have lots of money

Faults:

My trans is slipping and lights keep blowing, no power.

General Comments:

Volvo's are not for life. You just keep paying for life. Thank you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2008

2001 Volvo XC70 SE 2.4T from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Ideal for a two Mastiff family!

Faults:

Front suspension spring failed, you could see where manufacturing fault was (90k).

Wheel bearings - need a new hub (80k).

General Comments:

As nearly as comfortable as our S80 T6. Not as fast though :(

Have driven 36k in less than 3 years and have enjoyed every minute. It lacks sparkling acceleration, but boy can you carry a whole load of kit, including two very large dogs!

Our dealer has been great (can be a bit expensive though).

Racking up the miles at present, but have experienced no real problems thus far!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2008

2001 Volvo XC70 Cross Country 2.5L I-5 turbo from North America

Summary:

Acts like a caffeinated child on windy roads when at high altitude

Faults:

Well about three months ago, I was driving home from work and hit a deer and caved in the front of my cross country. I drove to the nearest Safeway and got coolant and called a tow truck.

The next day, I found out that it would cost the insurance company $7k to fix. I was happy not having to spend to much besides towing costs. I am very happy with the overall quality of Volvo's. I'll never buy any other car besides Sweden made.

General Comments:

This Volvo is made for the cold and snow. I take it up all the time to Winter Park Colorado to ski and to get there, I have to go over the twisty Berthud pass. It takes those tuns just like a Porsche. Well spent $42,000.

The turbo helps with passing power. It's a rabbit in the cold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

2001 Volvo XC70 from North America

Summary:

Wish I had not bought the car

Faults:

Replaced the first transmission at 85K miles, and the second at 145K miles.

Poor shifting from day 1, and the dealer never acknowledged.

Broken latch on rear lift door.

Rear seats locked up, will not go down.

Overheating required extra cooling fan.

Expensive regular maintenance costs.

Front seats are wearing and coming apart.

General Comments:

Wife loves the car, otherwise I would have given it away to save on repair costs.

Handles well due to 4 wheel drive on mountain roads.

Poor reliability and high maintenance costs.

Safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2008

2001 Volvo XC70 from North America

Summary:

Buy one now! Preferably mine..

Faults:

In two months:

Interior lock release.

Alternator/ voltage regulator.

Headlight.

At $850. per quarter-year, we could get limo service.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car to sit in while waiting for the tow truck. Looks great on the flatbed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2008

2001 Volvo XC70 from North America

Summary:

I have been very happy with this car; its handling and its reliability

Faults:

Literally nothing of significance has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This has among the most reliable cars I have ever owned. Coming on the heels of owning a 1993 Volvo 850 that required significant maintenance, this has been a very pleasant surprise.

The front seats are the most comfortable that I have experienced; much more comfortable than my wife's many Audi's.

The all wheel drive has worked well during the cold and snowy Boston winters, and during rainy weather as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2007

2001 Volvo XC70 2.5L turbo from North America

Summary:

I would buy another XC70 in a heart beat

Faults:

Brake booster went out @ 95K. That's the only thing in 95,000 miles! Plus, its first brakes were needed at that time.

General Comments:

Superb handling, styling, fuel economy, and easy to work on myself -- which saves a ton of money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2007

2001 Volvo XC70 turbo from North America

Summary:

It's a blood sucker

Faults:

The whole front end is junk.

It wears through tires.

We have put $3,000 in repairs in 1 year and it still needs tons of work.

General Comments:

Never buy one unless it's brand new and has warranty.

It might be a safe car, but it will break your bank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2007

25th Aug 2007, 18:56

I have (carefully) taken my XC70 up Jeep roads, scratched and dinged the undercarriage. But at 100,000 miles all 4 tires are wearing very similarly. I began running synthetic oil at 15,000 and changed it religiously every 7,000. Six years later, the car appears like new except for some fading of the exterior blue/black plastic. I have never spent a cent beyond scheduled maintenance. It sounds like someone beat your car up before you bought it. I suspect your problem is not Volvo.