2001 Volvo XC70 Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2001 Volvo XC70 2.5 turbo from Lebanon

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

A real lemon

Faults:

Radiator had to be replaced at 15000 kilometers.

Engine Cooling Fan Had to be replaced at 25000 kilometers.

Suspensions had to be replaced at 40000 kilometers.

Transmission gave up at 48000 kilometers and has to be replaced.

Rear seat belts stopped functioning and had to be fixed.

Two years after it was bought, rust accumulated under the roof racks.

General Comments:

The Volvo XC70 is the most luxurious and comfortable car I have ever had. Its 2.5 Turbo engine is powerful enough and the car handles well on the road, even though on slippery surfaces, the ABS still needs some improvements. Mechanically speaking, the car is a lemon and I will definitely never buy any Volvo again. For about the same price you could get a much more reliable Lexus or Audi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th May, 2006

4th Feb 2010, 21:03

Careful with those Audi's, they all have electrical problems. I know this, and I have never even owned one. Read reviews first.

2001 Volvo XC70 2.4T from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4T Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

The most capable car I have owned

Faults:

Strut tower bushing replaced.

General Comments:

This car has been the most well-rounded vehicle I have ever owned. It is very comfortable, relatively quick, reliable, safe and relatively fuel efficient.

I can turbo up the mountains, trudge through deep snow, and fit things that would not fit in my Land cruiser, while doubling its fuel economy.

I have spent less than $500 on this car in servicing in 19 months, so I could not be more pleased. It is unfortunate that more people with good XC experiences do not take the time to praise their cars.

Despite my car's mileage, the leather seats look great, the engine runs strong and it handles the abuse of three kids and a dog. I cannot think of a better alternative for a family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2006

12th Jan 2007, 13:23

Do you work for Volvo?

2001 Volvo XC70 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Montero

Summary:

A very expensive money pit; we went wrong when buying this one (story of our lives!!!)

Faults:

Rear differential, radiator needed replacement at 50K, many many other things, this is just the most recent.

General Comments:

In 5 years of ownership and caring for this car as if it was our child, we could not recommend it. Money sponge is exactly right. It requires a lot of upkeep and repair at a premium price. Both labor and parts are at robbery prices. We have unloaded this car after putting $3K into it this year and have bought a Toyota Camry. We are over having cars of status, prestige and name brand and now just want something where the repair bills will not as much as our monthly payments, and where we won't constantly wonder, what next?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

27th Sep 2006, 11:53

2000 XCV70

The car has drained the battery five times in six years. We have replaced the alternator and the fuel injection module. It still died. Several different mechanics have not been able to find the problem.

We are getting rid of it to save money!

2001 Volvo XC70 T5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission T5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance48806 miles
Previous carInfiniti I30

Summary:

The Volvo product is not as good as I had expected

Faults:

This car eats lights. I have replaced a headlight, five tail lights and three fender mounted turn signals. When a fog lamp recently burned out, the dealer wanted to charge >USD200 to make a repair. I said no and they managed to replace the bulb.

At dealer cost, the throttle body computer was replaced.

At dealer cost, one engine mount that had cracked was replaced.

At dealer cost, a tie rod was replaced.

At dealer cost, a series of o-rings in the front suspension have been replaced.

This is an incredible amount of repairs for a car that has been treated with care and that is not excessively driven in terms of mileage. While little of it has been out of pocket, I am getting nervous about the car's reliability when I want to take a road trip.

General Comments:

The fit and finish is very high. This car has the most comfortable seats of any car that I have owned.

The car has good handling with AWD and very good performance for being a relatively heavy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2004

9th Nov 2004, 07:38

Thank you for your reviews. I have been recently looking and test driving the cross-country and even in just looking find many of the problems owners have listed. It seems more the rule than the exception that this car is a money pit as the miles accumulate. I've also found that a lot of things about the car are dealer serviceable only. I love the look and comfort, but don't want the headaches and continuing expense.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 28 reviews