2003 Volvo XC90 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2003 Volvo XC90 T6 twin turbo 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission twin turbo 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance157000 kilometres

Summary:

Volvo for life? Not so sure anymore

Faults:

Automatic transmission failed at $157,000 kms!! How can 'Volvo' with a reputation of quality, reliability & safety have problems at such low mileage.

The dealership & general manager of Volvo Australia advised there is no known fault. Search the Internet; there are countless references to failure with the automatic transmission in the 2003-4 T6 XC90 model. Most of course occurring outside of the warranty period, as it seems to fail after 100,000 kms.

The fault is the GM 4T65EV/GT automatic transmission; interestingly Volvo have replaced this transmission in their 2006 with a Japanese one, that doesn't present problems.

Getting Volvo to accept responsibility for this fault, & to replace the transmission for no cost is like getting blood from a stone - still fighting that battle.

Anybody else experienced the same problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2008

7th Nov 2010, 03:22

Two years later... did you ever get reimbursed for your transmission? If so, tell me how. They won't pay me as my car wasn't serviced by Volvo for the last three years, though it was the previous three. I'm searching for ways to get some compensation as we speak, as after 4 letters and a phone call to Volvo, they still won't come to the party. In the USA lawyers Chimicles & Tikellis have a class action underway. Should be one here in Australia too.

Look forward to your response.

Anna.

20th Jul 2011, 21:08

2005 XC90 T6. Same. How disgraceful that this car was not recalled.

Sue.

16th Aug 2011, 16:14

Hello, I have a Volvo XC90 T6 AWD 2002 that is a piece of crap. I've spent thousands on it fixing it.

I replaced the transmission at 75k miles.

It's had numerous problems, and is in the shop all the time.

It goes through brakes like crazy, and is now making this horrible shrill sound when I drive.

The dashboard where the radio is gets so hot you can barely touch it to change the radio stations. It almost cooked my cell phone when I put it in the little storage area there.

It goes through tires every 25K miles (why?).

I can get the dealer to print out the repairs since I've owned it. I can't afford to keep fixing this car. I can't sell it because it has such a bad reputation. I want Volvo to give me what I owe on it (about $8,000) so that I can go get a car that's safe to drive. I'm a single female and driving back and forth 150 miles each way, sometimes once a week between two jobs. It scares the heck out of me to drive this thing.

14th Sep 2012, 07:09

Hi Anna.

I am having same issues. I spent $4000 in December 2011 (10,000km) ago and transmission has gone again. Volvo are not interested in helping. We bought the car in November 2011, thinking it would be safe for our new baby, and 3 weeks later it's gone. We saved money to buy, and cannot afford $8000 for a new tranny. It is a joke that no one will take responsibility for the issue that everyone who has the 2003 model has.

saintpachler@hotmail.com

2003 Volvo XC90 T6 T6 turbo from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission T6 turbo Automatic
Distance when acquired49153 miles
Most recent distance49302 miles
Previous carVolvo V70

Summary:

Not very impressed with transmission problems

Faults:

Bought the car on Sunday March 9th. The wife and I really liked it and were happy with it until Friday March 14th when she called me on the ride home from work saying the car is not working properly. All of a sudden the "transmission service urgent" message popped up. She was only 1 mile form home when this happened. She made it home and called the dealer, had it towed and received a call Monday the 17th saying the transmission is shot and you need a new one. We put less than 200 miles on it. I am happy it is still under warranty but now considering selling it back to them and getting something else.

General Comments:

Like the layout and interior design. Love the cargo room and handles well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st March, 2008

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews