1993 Yugo 55 1.1 from F.Y.R.O. Macedonia


It is true that oil consumption is big, about 1 liter in 3 months, and the driver's seat is broken.

General Comments:

You can park it anywhere you want, you can do whatever you want if you are interested in tuning, sound systems etc.

Having Yugo is like having one person more in the family. :)

I love my Yugo very much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2006

9th Jun 2006, 05:34

I have Yugo and I love it. Please can you tell me where can I upload some pictures of my Yugo. My mail is mato7878@yahoo.com.

22nd Jun 2006, 05:25

I just want to say that the Yugo is an OK car. I also want to say that factory could do with some refresh in design. When "LADA" can do that, why haven't "YUGO" done that?! Every new car is better and better in design. Let it be with the same materials, but I believe that they can do better. After all it is 21st Century.

1991 Yugo 55 Koral 1.1 from Croatia


Many, many little problems...

The biggest problem was exhaust system and rust.

General Comments:

The greatest thing about this car is its engine.

It simply runs, runs, runs (and burns lots of petrol).

Transmission is also reliable, brakes are good, suspension is not so bad, but the car is very uncomfortable.

Rust is definitively a great problem and overall quality is quite low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2003

25th Feb 2004, 10:38

I agree, I have had the same problems with mine. One thing is I can't go faster than 50mph. This is my only car because I can't afford a new car. I have 400,000 mile on it, believe it or not, and the thing is basically rust.

13th Jul 2004, 09:37

400.000 miles???

It is more than 600.000 kilometers???

1989 Yugo 55 1.1 from Greece


A cheap and fair car


It is hard to start the engine when it is cold.

When it rains, the engine stops very often.

It started burning oil when it reached 90000 Kilometers.

The engine makes a lot of noise.

General Comments:

This little car is realy cheap to buy and keep for a long time.

It is fast enough for small distances.

In fact, it is the king of the town!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2002

13th Jul 2006, 12:17

Its the best...!!

The king of the Road...

1991 Yugo 55 A 1.1 from Netherlands


Good car for little money


Till 120000 km the brake discs, one wheel bearing (front) and the horn.

Recently the generator, carbon brushes from the starter, the (other) front wheel bearing and the rear brake cylinders have been replaced.

General Comments:

Doesn't rust, is very reliable, uses little petrol (1:15) and (till now) low maintenance costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

1989 Yugo 55 a 1100 sohc from Australia and New Zealand


A low cost, unique, reliable small car


Replaced two sets of tie rods and a steering ball joint.

Small spot of rust under the rear tail light.

Otherwise no problems over 100,000kms.

General Comments:

Sold it to a friend of a friend and apparently it's still running, must be near 200,000km by now!

A really cool reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2000

6th May 2001, 02:36


I live in Australia and I have never seen a Yugo here, but I would like to own one as I have owned two in Europe!

Can you give me your e-mail address as I would like to contact you?

1983 Yugo 55 GTL 1.1 petrol from Croatia


Many small problems (one for every day).

For example: starter, oil leaking, oil consumption (a lot), very sensitive suspension - easy to damage, brake disc, rear brake wire, broken driver seat, very good gearbox for body builders, wheel bearings etc. Petrol consumption is about 11 l/100 km in town - for 44 kW only!!!

General Comments:

That was my first car. I had it 2.5 years (I bought it with 80000 km, I sold it with 122000 km). He never let me down, but he was always giving to me some problem for solving - if you have no hobby, buy this car. Surprisingly it has no rust problems, but this car was well protected. Actually this car is FIAT 128, but Zastava bought licence for production. Old technology - bad performance. It is not possible to buy this car as new. Thank God. After I sold it, new owner told me that motor "died" after 145000 km - that is maximum for this motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 1999

31st Aug 2004, 05:15

It is possible to buy this car as a new product, unfortunately! But, same chassis with a lot of new styled plastic. Can be bought with the Peugeot 1.1i engine from the 106. It could be interesting after all.

11th Oct 2006, 16:07

I drove a Yugo with a Peugeot motor and I can say that I'm impressed!!!It's going like rocket, has fantastic acceleration! BTW, I'm from Serbia, Yugo's are everywhere around me.Yes, shape hasn't changed since when it started production, but that's because of bad standard, economy etc. in this country. Still it has best price/quality aspect and serve to purpose. When I finish faculty I hope that I'm gonna buy one Yugo Cabrio 65 EFI, I think there's no better type of Yugo than that. Cheers!!!

15th Sep 2009, 02:13

Petrol engines usually don't last much over 150.000 km, and most of them aren't projected to last longer anyway - even Volkswagens and similar! Besides, many Zastava vehicles saw almost NO regular maintenance and care by their owners, or it was insufficient and below factory requirements. Consumption of 11 liters of petrol per 100 km is NOT a factory standard - it says that the engine needs some fine tuning and/or repairing. My engine of the same type regularly uses around 9 liters of fuel per 100 km.

1985 Yugo 55 a 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland


Apart from the windscreen wiper motor tearing itself apart due to a broken bearing, nothing.

General Comments:

Absolutely fantastic little runner, leaves most standing at the lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 1999