1999 Chrysler Concorde Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 10

1999 Chrysler Concorde LXI

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Pontiac 3000 LE

Summary:

Chryslers are number 1 in style, but a piece of garbage otherwise

Faults:

I did not know about this site previously so sorry for the late submission. I sold (unloaded) the car 3 years ago, but thought I should put in my 2 cents. I bought the 1999 in 2000 thinking I got a great deal. I got it for $25,000 with 19,000 km on it. It was originally purchased for $39,000. This included a platinum 6 year no deductible warranty. Before I start into how bad it was let me first say that I think Chrysler makes the most stylish car out there. I don't even think anyone comes close. Unfortunately for them, this was my first and last Chrysler.

Where do I start... first there was the tranny problems - fixed by the dealer.

Then there was the problem with the windshield wipers. They went on without you even touching them. They would stop in the middle of the windshield. The intermittent would go at the pace it wanted to - fixed by the dealer.

The driver's side window first gave me problems then stopped working in 2001. I called Chrysler Canada who claimed to have my records on file (regarding extended warranty). I was told that the window is no longer covered. I was apparantly 400 kms over the warranty. I was not willing to spend $450. to get it fixed so I drove with it not working for a year and a half. When I took it into a dealer to get one of there many recall items fixed he looked into my warranty and I told me it was covered... Good work Chryler Canada!!! It was fixed by the dealer.

On my way to work on day I went to brake and heard a grinding sound. There was no previous sqealing as is the normal warning that your brakes need replaced. I looked at the brakes myself and found the grinding was the pads ripping the rotor apart. I had to replace everything (did it myself) and decided to sell it.

I ended up getting only $11,500 for it certified and e-tested. (there was a ton of them for sale so I would have taken $10,000 to get rid of it) Imagine a 3 year old car with only 65000 km, 2 years/35000km warrany left selling for only $11,500 when it was just shy of $40,000 new.

I have always bought older cars because I can fix things that go wrong with them. This was my first new (er) car and with the money I paid I expected to drive it worry free for years. Chryslers are junk, avoid them like the plague.

General Comments:

Loved the interior and it looked amazing. Unfortunately it gave me so many problems and Chrysler Canada did not know what they were doing so it left me with a bad taste in my mouth. I will NEVER buy another Chrysler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2006

21st Apr 2006, 12:03

That's Chrysler for you: Innovative as hell when it comes to styling (look at the 300) and interior touches... but horrible when it comes to quality. I think Chrysler's penchant for exterior styling is what's kept them afloat (and profitable) compared to Ford and GM.

14th Aug 2007, 19:57

I own a 1999 Chrysler Concorde LXi and will comment that the devices used to keep the trunk opened are not reliable. At first, it was just in the cold weather. Now, every time I go to retrieve something out of my trunk I have to use one hand to hold the lid over my head or risk decapitation!

4th Apr 2008, 21:38

The hydraulic struts on my 1999 Concorde trunk lid work fine (they are not mystical devices). I wouldn't consider needing to replace them after 8 years an unreasonable requirement. I would imagine replacements can be purchased at NAPA quite cheaply and would take about 1/2 hour each to replace by somebody with minimal knowledge.

6th Dec 2008, 13:21

We live in Minnesota with our 1999 Chrysler Concorde LXI, and it has now hit 200,000 miles and still going!! " YOU GO CHRYSLER!!" Sure it has had a couple problems which comes expected for a car of that many miles, but overall it has been an AMAZING car, with a lot of memories...

21st Aug 2009, 12:58

One owner, Mom and Dad, and I have driven, 191000 miles, a few electronics problems, nothing serious, a waterpump... consistent oil changes, maintenance and just replaced the radiator, which has plastic side components that leaked.

I would say overall great car, comfy ride, still quiet, no squeaks, rattles.

All brands, different models have problems, and you will find a bad lemon in all, foreign and domestic! After that it's all in how you take care of them!

1999 Chrysler Concorde LXi 3.2L V6

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance67300 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

Take my gold, but not my 1999 Chrysler Concorde!

Faults:

With the minor exception of an engine speed sensor for the transmission shift progression this vehicle has not required any corrective maintenance. Preventive maintenance under the recommended schedule schedule is all this car needs.

General Comments:

This vehicle is the best looking, best riding and most desirable automobile I have ever owned (out of, conservatively, 25 others of every popular American make). The 200 hp power-plant is well matched to the weight of this full-size vehicle, enhancing a superior suspension with nimble maneuvering capabilities at any speed; all while providing astonishing gas economy. The well-appointed interior and quietly sporty exterior prove that luxury and great looks need not cause sticker shock. I keep wanting to find out what improvements have been made by Daimler Chrysler, but what's the use...? I think I'll have this beautiful green machine for many years to come!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2005

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews