1999 Chrysler Concorde Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 10

1999 Chrysler Concorde 2.4 liter

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52 miles
Most recent distance37500 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Sold it for $900 to the mechanic when the engine blew

Faults:

In July I paid off the 5 year loan on my Concorde.

In August, the engine blew, with only 37,500 miles on the car.

After research with the dealer, independent mechanics, and on the web, I learned that Chrysler 2.4 liter engines are blowing out all over the world. A REBUILT 2.4 liter engine costs the same as a new one, because there are so few used ones that have not blown out there to rebuild.

So before you even think about buying this car, do a web search on "Chrysler 2.4 liter engine" and see what conclusion you come to.

General Comments:

Actually, I really liked the Chrysler cab forward cars. I had a 1995 Dodge Intrepid for four years before buying the Chrysler. Then the Concorde engine blew and cured me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2004

5th Dec 2004, 14:14

The concorde didn't come with a 2.4. Are you referring to the 2.7L V6? If so, it is a piece of junk.

6th Dec 2004, 07:57

For a minute I was realy confused. A four cylinder Concorde???!!!

Thanks for clarifying which engine the original writer was referring to.

1999 Chrysler Concorde LX

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

Good car, but needs little work

Faults:

Not long after we purchased this car the A/C compressor went out and right at this moment we have no air conditioning or a heater. The plastic piece near the windshield, on the hood, flew off on the highway. The car shakes when I slow down to turn or stop. The passenger side lock would make a funny noise when we would unlock or lock the car, but that was fixed. Granted it still is driving after hitting a deer, but everything was wrong with it before that incident.

General Comments:

The car is a great family car, plenty of room in the back so the kids don't kick the seats. The car has been all over the country and back again and is a very comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th September, 2004

1999 Chrysler Concorde LX 2.7

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Paid to much to buy it to spend so much fixing it

Faults:

A/C quit working, speedometer quit working, odometer quit working, car breaks down when slowing down, power windows work when they want, air leak in windshield, outer parts of the car fall off, front speakers quit working, the car looks great, but doesn't run worth anything. I have 4 years to pay on this car and it is sitting in my driveway broken down.

General Comments:

I take very good car of my car, I am not sure why things quit working... I paid good money for it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

6th Sep 2004, 20:06

I have a 1999 Chrysler Concorde LX, and I bought it used, with 93,000 miles on it. The air conditioning works pretty good, but the passenger side blows a little warmer than the driver's side. The speaker system works good and everything in the car seems to be in order, except for the brakes and the rotors. I have to replace them, but otherwise everything seems to be great! Maybe you bought a lemon? Depending on whether you bought it used or not I suppose. I really like my car and I am sorry yours has had so many problems.

3rd Sep 2005, 11:55

He didn't buy a lemon, he bought a Chrysler.

1999 Chrysler Concorde LX 2.7 V6

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChrysler Stratus

Summary:

A massive sized car with massive elegance!

Faults:

Obviously I purchased the car used. At the time of purchase I noticed that the car pulled to the right. I had the front end aligned and this did not help much. I then had the tires rotated and now the car vibrates a little at 60MPH. But I do not think that any of this is the fault of the car or the manufacturer. Most likely it was damaged or just treated very poorly by it's previous owner.

General Comments:

I had wanted a Concorde since they first came out. They are just big, good looking cars. So when I saw this massive car for sale I traded my 2000 Stratus to get it. I am in love with this car. The engine runs good, albeit small for the size of the car. The car is so very comfortable. When I get tired of this car I will probably upgrade to a newer Concorde. The car is very good on gas and once it is up to speed it can hold it's own. I love the lay out of the controls and the cars overall friendly design to big people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews