1999 Chrysler Concorde Reviews from North America - Page 8 of 10

1999 Chrysler Concorde LXI 3.2 V/6

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 V/6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Great value for the money

Faults:

The power steering pump went out the first week we owned it and was a BIG hassle to get fixed at the dealer. The service was horrible. Had to be taken back three times. Started going to a different dealer and the service there was good.

Both rear power windows went out. Fixed under warranty.

One of the electric cooling fans went out at 55,000.

Front headlight weatherstripping came off.

General Comments:

Overall this has been a great car.

It has tons of interior room and trunk space. It is very comfortable and has been on several vacation road trips.

It handles good for a car it's size in all weather conditions.

This car has plenty of power and a smooth ride.

I live in the country and the headlights on this car really light up the road better than anything else I've ever driven.

This car was priced evenly with the Chevy Impala when I bought it in 1999. Bought the Chrysler because it was bigger with more interior and trunk space. The same or better options at a lower price and Chrysler stylists make some great looking cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

1999 Chrysler Concorde lxi

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Great ride, but the electrical system needs to be improved

Faults:

All power window motors have been replaced. This took 3 trips to the shop plus the wait for parts. The lights flicker on and off at will. The transmission at times will not go into gear, you must turn the engine off and start the car again for it to engage. The vehicle will sometimes not start, it is like the battery is dead. but if you wait 5 to 10 minutes it will start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

9th Jan 2005, 13:37

I am having the same problem with the car seeming like it has a dead battery, but does not. Has anyone found the solution?

3rd Mar 2005, 09:59

1999 Chrysler Condcorde (maybe LXI)

What things have gone wrong with this car?

I'm commenting concerning the Light Flicker issue. Symptoms: The headlights/taillights flicker, on bright clear days and on low-light cloudy days. I recently had the original battery replaced because of age and dirty terminals. The dealership said the old battery may have caused a low voltage condition affecting the lights; not the case. Upon returning to the dealership I was able to show the tech. what happens. His answer, "bad switch". When I countered with the fact that it never happens at night he counters with "that's strange".

TSB 08-022-03 could be a clue, but still doesn't explain why it never happens at night.

9th Nov 2008, 08:35

I own a 1999 Chrysler Concorde LXI, I enjoy driving the car and it is very good on gas.

My concern is that I have been having several electrical problems; it started by replacing the battery and starter about 2 months ago. Everything seemed fine until recently, I drove the car to the market and when I came out to leave, it did nothing but click. I was able to jump start it and took it home to hook it up to a battery charger. The battery has been tested and is good, as long as it is connected to a charger, the car will start, take away the charger, and it shows no signs of power at all. I cannot figure out what in the world is going on with this car. Has anyone else had this happen, if so, what was the problem?

1999 Chrysler Concorde LX 2.7

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Excellent, but extremely noisey car

Faults:

The cabin is so noisy from road noise especially tire noise it drives me nuts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

1999 Chrysler Concorde LXi 5.2V6

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

Buyer beware!

Faults:

Beware transmission and rack and pinion steering failures with Chrysler cars! This includes Concorde, 300M, Interpid and Dodge Ram trucks. All of a sudden, I noticed play in my steering. This turned out to be defective rack and pinion unit, at a cost of $1400! This is happening frequently on these cars.

General Comments:

Up until 50,000 miles, I really like this car. Now, it seems to be falling apart. I'm dumping it and buying anything, but Chrylser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

31st Jan 2004, 17:39

I found an after market, (with lifetime warranty), for the Rack and Pinion steering for about $200 bucks.

Had a local mechanic install in 3-4 hours for $150.

I bought the part at Tire Warehouse in Lewiston, Maine.

Good luck.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews