2000 Daewoo Lanos Reviews from North America

2000 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 liter unleaded

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter unleaded Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

I wouldn't buy this car unless you are poor as &%^$

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 90,000 miles.

Radiator hose replaced also.

My battery is currently going out (needs a new battery).

General Comments:

The car is decent, and got it for cheap, but the resale value sucks, and no one wants this car.

Hard to find parts, since the company no longer exists.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th October, 2010

2000 Daewoo Lanos 1.6

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

Great car, but they're disappearing now

Faults:

A/C compressor stopped working.

Normal wear and tear.

Finding parts: Not very easy.

General Comments:

This is my first car, and I have owned it for 3 years almost.

I actually like this car a lot.

It's an economic on gas, good to drive, good looking, small car, and I've never had major problems with it. I've gone on 6 and 7 hour trips with no problems.

I take good care of it, so that's probably why it hasn't given me many problems.

I would actually keep this car forever... but finding parts is becoming a little more difficult each time. They're still around, but these cars are disappearing.. So eventually the parts won't be available here in the U.S.

:(

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2010

4th Oct 2010, 18:01

Just go here: www.daewoous.com

And no more complaining about not finding parts.

2000 Daewoo Lanos

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance60044 miles

Summary:

Good, except hard to get parts

Faults:

I can't get my dash light to work. I have all new fuses, but it still doesn't work.

General Comments:

The car is good, pretty fast and good on gas, but it's soo hard to get parts for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2009

2000 Daewoo Lanos Silver 4 door unknon

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission unknon Automatic
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Great little car if you take care of it

Faults:

The biggest problem I've had with this car is the tires, it seems as if I've had to replace them all several times. The right driver side rim has been replaced, I'm not sure if there is something was wrong with the first set of tires and rims.

General Comments:

The car has been very good to me, I am having some of the problems others have described, like the check engine light, the airbag and the camshaft sensor. The company did recall the camshaft sensors about two years after I got the car. Most of the other repairs have been minor, hoses, wires that became worn over time.

I've had my car for 9 years, and she has given me great service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2009

2000 Daewoo Lanos S

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance118200 kilometres

Summary:

Great car, but only if you have all the right circumstances when you buy it

Faults:

Engine was shaking and stalling whenever the car was at a stop. Spark plugs had to be replaced and wires, fluids were leaking onto them.

Oil has caused me nothing but grief; pan is leaking (sweating) and the oil almost always needs to be flushed out after each change.

Check engine light is on constantly.

Car still threatens to stall when in park or neutral/reverse.

Got into an accident in '06 and parts were near-impossible to find and VERY expensive.

General Comments:

The car is a wonderful starter car, and truth-be-told it got me where I needed to go. but the second it needs service the nightmare begins.

I love my car and it was a great start, but I paid probably triple in service than I did for the original car.

As long as you get it in good shape and keep up with maintenence, I don't see this car being a serious problem (I bought it in a private sale and was not told some of the problems that had occurred before with the car). Great on gas, good buy for students.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2008

2000 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

It is a good car with build comparable to other imports at a fraction of the price

Faults:

Check Engine light came on due to camshaft position sensor fault (recall item).

Thermostat housing broke in two.

Air conditioning stopped working.

General Comments:

My Lanos has been pretty reliable.

The seats are very comfortable and the car has been a good value for the price paid.

I would like to know if others have had air-conditioner problems and what was found to be the cause of the trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2006

12th Oct 2006, 07:22

Hi in response to your question, I am the writer of the review below yours on the list and my lanos air-conditioning stopped working as well. And that was because it needed to be re-gased. If you don't know what this is ask a local mechanic.

17th Sep 2007, 08:34

I own a 1999 Lanos in the UK and the air-con failed on mine 6 months after I bought it.

The problem starts with with positioning of the air-con condenser & cooling element, which is in-front of the engine radiator. This means that any stones, grit, etc which hit the front of the car also hit the condensor, creating lots of little holes which first lose all your refridgerant gas, then rust up blocking the whole system.

I've never bothered having it fixed, as it costs too much, plus we don't really need air-con in the UK.

Still, gotta be better than the engine radiator getting destroyed...

Otherwise, a great little car, had mine 3 years, done 65000 miles, no real complaints. Bit noisy on motorways...

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 42 reviews