2000 Daewoo Lanos Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 12

2000 Daewoo Lanos I4 1.6L

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission I4 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Garbajo, don't buy it

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong with the car was the timing belt, which was outrageously expensive to fix, a huge portion of what I bought it for, because the valves had been bent because of it, and so a large portion of the engine was ruined. This made it clear to me this car was not worth it.

General Comments:

When I got it at the used car lot, I spent only about $3200. I don't think its even worth that. I actually think the car had been in an accident before I got it, which may be the reason why when I drove it at 80 it felt very very unsafe. Driving it at 80mph, it started rattling and put much too much stress on the engine even though its only 80mph!!! The car overall feels extremely cheap, sitting in it, driving it, steering it, etc... It was as if Daewoo made some kind of crazy bet on whether or not they could produce a sellable car, while spending only about $100 for production, including labor.

The only good thing about the car was how cheap it cost me and the fuel economy. it was almost worth the money if the timing belt had not broken.

I got into an accident with my Volkswagen Golf, and I only got about $3600 from insurance. this looked like a good deal, but now I realize I would have much rather bought a better car with more miles. Now I am glad to have gotten rid of that car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th February, 2006

19th Feb 2006, 10:52

80 MPH is not slow. A car of that size has a harder time handling high speeds. You make it sound as if you were driving 35...if this review is authentic.

19th Feb 2006, 21:55

Well, you pretty much have to expect that a 6-year-old Daewoo for $3,200 is not going to be like driving a BMW. Even brand new, these are only meant to be a cheap runabout, which is fine as long as you recognize that limitation. If you needed cheap transportation, that's one thing, but just realize that you're not buying a fast, smooth riding luxury car. Remember that it's intended purpose is simply to get you from A to B with no frills, and not at high speeds.

2000 Daewoo Lanos

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Economical

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong with the car was fatal. The timing belt broke, and took the engine with it. I did some research, and I've seen those timing belts go at as little as 42,000 miles, so if you have one of these, change that belt right away!!!

General Comments:

Cheap, but I didn't pay much for it. It was a good reliable car for the money. I just wished I knew about the timing belt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

10th Feb 2006, 19:39

I have some friends who just purchased a 2000 Lanos hatchback. I was disappointed that they did not take me car shopping with them. I had heard questionable things about Daewoos and I have to say that I am worried about my friends being in this car from what I've read on this site. The car was spotty at best when I saw it: the paint is already dull, the interior has some broken pieces, and the radio does not work. The car has over 60,000 miles on it already, so now I am afraid that their timing belt will break if it hasn't already been replaced. Also, they left the dealer with no maintenance records and no owner's manual. These are things that I demand from dealers BEFORE I buy any car. It is my opinion that my friends got ripped off because they told me that they still owe like 3 or 4 thousand dollars on this piece.

11th Feb 2006, 15:50

And it is my opinion that your friends are as dumb as a bag of diapers. Anyone who finances a 2000 Lanos must have bought it at one of those buy-here, pay-here used car lots. You take your chances at those places.

11th Feb 2006, 18:06

No, no! It's "dumber than a bag of hammers!" Haven't you seen "Brother Where Art Thou?" But seriously, owing several thousand on a 6-year-old car with higher miles that practically nobody in this country ever heard of may not have been the best move on their part.

12th Feb 2006, 17:42

I wanted to tell them that so bad, but I didn't want them to feel bad about the car until it lets them down ;). I guess I'm lucky in that I've never had to be cornered into financing a car because of bad credit.

8th May 2006, 15:33

Good news! My friend who bought the Lanos has followed my advice and replaced her timing belt and done some other preventive work. The car looks much nicer now; she has cleaned it up really well and fixed many details. She has had no problems yet, so I guess time will tell. I think it will serve her well as long as she continues to do preventive work now that she understands a lot of the risks with owning this particular car.

28th May 2008, 05:27

I can't believe your friend paid so much for this. I paid 1600 for it and my mechanics called that too high saying that this car is only worth 600.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 42 reviews