2000 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 liter unleaded from North America


I wouldn't buy this car unless you are poor as &%^$


Head gasket blew at 90,000 miles.

Radiator hose replaced also.

My battery is currently going out (needs a new battery).

General Comments:

The car is decent, and got it for cheap, but the resale value sucks, and no one wants this car.

Hard to find parts, since the company no longer exists.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th October, 2010

28th Sep 2017, 01:00

Even if you were poor, you wouldn't even want to buy this car. Daewoo themselves were a fixed company that scammed everyone into buying what looked like cheap, economical little A to B cars that quickly after being purchased unraveled into some of the most abhorrently assembled vehicles ever produced. Their trick however? To mysteriously go out of business when they saw that almost everyone was running into problems with the cars instead of issuing any type of recall, thus rendering any present day Daewoo owner screwed if ever they were to get into an accident or what have you and try to find parts.

Horrible cars, horrible company, and a sad state of affairs for anyone who has the misfortune to still drive one of these pieces of crap.

29th Sep 2017, 11:30

So, the company goes out of business to avoid having to issue a recall? And this makes sense to you?

29th Sep 2017, 20:05

I know for a fact that it did. Because Daewoo was only in production from the late 90s to the very early 2000s, and had vanished in the haze once complaints were being stated. I know that not everyone will agree or believe me on this, but Daewoo was in fact a scam car company. Not to mention they had made it virtually impossible to try to find parts for the vehicles at stake, so anyone who drives one nowadays is on bought time.

30th Sep 2017, 02:07

Actually, you're wrong on just about everything you've stated here. Before you respond, try some research -- start with the Wikipedia article on the Daewoo conglomerate, of which Daewoo Motors was a part.

30th Sep 2017, 13:54

I didn't know you guys in USA even got Daewoos back in the 90s and early 2000s.

Here in the UK they were generally a budget brand of car and did fairly well due to cheaper purchase price on their new cars. From what I heard it was GM that bought the company, and in the 90s the Daewoos were just updated designs of GM's 80s hatchbacks and saloon cars. Nowadays they are badged as Chevrolet and are sold here with some Daewoo models still going, but obviously a lot more modern designs.

Just my experience with them. And I knew a few people that had some of their older cars and said they were just average - not better and not any worse than any other car if you look after them.

2000 Daewoo Lanos 1.6 from North America


Great car, but they're disappearing now


A/C compressor stopped working.

Normal wear and tear.

Finding parts: Not very easy.

General Comments:

This is my first car, and I have owned it for 3 years almost.

I actually like this car a lot.

It's an economic on gas, good to drive, good looking, small car, and I've never had major problems with it. I've gone on 6 and 7 hour trips with no problems.

I take good care of it, so that's probably why it hasn't given me many problems.

I would actually keep this car forever... but finding parts is becoming a little more difficult each time. They're still around, but these cars are disappearing.. So eventually the parts won't be available here in the U.S.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2010

2000 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland


Fun + reliable in a cheap package


I stuck it in a wall while attempting to handbrake turn into a parking spot.

This happened at 20 - 25 MPH and caused the following damage:

Control cable to headlights severed.

Front bumper damaged, front right wing destroyed. Right headlight destroyed.

Replacement parts less than €200. Engine never stopped running.

Other than that, the airbag has never worked, thankfully. The selector knob for the cabin heater broke, but was easily repaired with a bit of duct tape and some superglue.

General Comments:

This car is unbelievably reliable. I have never had a single days trouble that wasn't directly caused by me driving into something.

Small engine gives a lot versus similar cars - Polo - Fiesta - Clio - Civic - Corolla.

Biggish boot compared to same.

This car is immense fun on the slightest of wet days or on any form of gravel strewn corner.

You'd swear you were in a Skyline the way this thing slides around corners.

Slightly let down by its garish looks and awful silver paintwork.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2010