2000 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 3 of 14

2000 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Economical

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong with the car was fatal. The timing belt broke, and took the engine with it. I did some research, and I've seen those timing belts go at as little as 42,000 miles, so if you have one of these, change that belt right away!!!

General Comments:

Cheap, but I didn't pay much for it. It was a good reliable car for the money. I just wished I knew about the timing belt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

10th Feb 2006, 19:39

I have some friends who just purchased a 2000 Lanos hatchback. I was disappointed that they did not take me car shopping with them. I had heard questionable things about Daewoos and I have to say that I am worried about my friends being in this car from what I've read on this site. The car was spotty at best when I saw it: the paint is already dull, the interior has some broken pieces, and the radio does not work. The car has over 60,000 miles on it already, so now I am afraid that their timing belt will break if it hasn't already been replaced. Also, they left the dealer with no maintenance records and no owner's manual. These are things that I demand from dealers BEFORE I buy any car. It is my opinion that my friends got ripped off because they told me that they still owe like 3 or 4 thousand dollars on this piece.

11th Feb 2006, 15:50

And it is my opinion that your friends are as dumb as a bag of diapers. Anyone who finances a 2000 Lanos must have bought it at one of those buy-here, pay-here used car lots. You take your chances at those places.

11th Feb 2006, 18:06

No, no! It's "dumber than a bag of hammers!" Haven't you seen "Brother Where Art Thou?" But seriously, owing several thousand on a 6-year-old car with higher miles that practically nobody in this country ever heard of may not have been the best move on their part.

12th Feb 2006, 17:42

I wanted to tell them that so bad, but I didn't want them to feel bad about the car until it lets them down ;). I guess I'm lucky in that I've never had to be cornered into financing a car because of bad credit.

8th May 2006, 15:33

Good news! My friend who bought the Lanos has followed my advice and replaced her timing belt and done some other preventive work. The car looks much nicer now; she has cleaned it up really well and fixed many details. She has had no problems yet, so I guess time will tell. I think it will serve her well as long as she continues to do preventive work now that she understands a lot of the risks with owning this particular car.

28th May 2008, 05:27

I can't believe your friend paid so much for this. I paid 1600 for it and my mechanics called that too high saying that this car is only worth 600.

2000 Daewoo Lanos S Hatchback 1.4 from Puerto Rico

Model year1999
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles

Summary:

Only a good buy if it`s a Standard Transmission

Faults:

The sound equipment did not last three months.

Wind sounds from the windows.

At 40,000 miles, the boot from the Rack & Pinions started to make a loud sound. It happened when I took a hole, and at the same time I was turning the wheel.

The turning wheel to adjust the passenger seat broke up.

At 35,000 miles, the gas door started to get stuck.

At 50,000 miles, the air conditioner broke a internal seal and leaked the cooling gas. I spend $600, just to opened the compressor and applying a new seal.

General Comments:

If your interested in any car from Daewoo; has to be standard transmission. But, do not buyed without Power Steering.

I`m the first owner and paid $7,000 for the car. It was a great buy, considering that it was my first car. Because of the cheap and reliability of the car; I could go thru College without having to pay a car and getting myself more in debt with my law career. Now, I just bought my second car: a new Jetta (2005).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2005

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 50 reviews