2000 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 4 of 14

2000 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired7200 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Consider any other vehicle

Faults:

Started off 3 days after I bought it, transmission blew, at 7900 miles.

Seat safety recall.

Alignment, new tires, alignment, new tires...

38,000 transmission blew.

57,000 transmission blew.

Heater cable snaps.

62,000 timing belt, valves, pistons aka, the works.

Bonus, it's leaking oil from some unknown location into the spark plugs.

General Comments:

Worst car I have ever owned, and that's saying something since my previous car required a complete engine replacement.

Cute, sure...

Affordable, at first, but once you add on repair costs, loaner car costs, towing costs, missing work, and the fact that it's worthless on the market my $8000.00 car just turned into a money pit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

17th Feb 2005, 18:31

Whoa, there's actually a dedicated Daewoo website?

5th Mar 2005, 09:41

I have a 2000 Daewoo Lanos, works great and runs well

No problems if you keep up with the maintenance.

Sometimes hard to get parts for and resale value is low.

Overall is a great deal, good gas mileage and low repair costs.

I plan on handing it over to my Niece when I get another car.

2000 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

Not so bad for the cost

Faults:

Nothing much realLy. However, I a had a few call backs in the first year. First call back was for my air bags, the second call back was to verify my Cam sensor. And I know I had another one, but I can't seem to remember the exact problem. I know it was related to the wires underneath the dash.

General Comments:

The seats are comfortable.

However, they seem to move back by themselves.

The car makes cracking noises.

Shocks are not very durable.

No rust yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

2000 Daewoo Lanos Base 1.5L SOHC from Oman

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carGM Chev Malibu

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

Fuel pump at about 70k kms. Was replaced by the dealer within warranty coverage.

General Comments:

I owned a 2001 Lanos from October 2000 to September 2003.

Car was purchased from Daewoo's exclusive dealer in Oman (they have since lost the sales franchise, but continue to provide service, repair facilities).

The car was great value for money:

Air conditioning was terrific, especially keeping in mind Oman's hot desert climate.

The car handled very well even at higher speeds (traffic travels at 140 - 150 kms / hr on many of Oman's freeways).

Power was more than adequate, even surprising I would say coming from a 1.5L SOHC.

Trunk space was pretty good for a car of its class, interior space was adequate - 3 adults on the back seat is tight, but expected for a car in its class.

The resale value was a disappointment, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th January, 2005

31st Jul 2005, 07:30

I own a daewoo 2001 LANOS SE and I don't have problem at all now it is 92000T and only problem I'ved encountered was the compressor which I replace recently. power durability and performance are all acceptable on this range of economical car.

2000 Daewoo Lanos from Greece

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance53000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 100NX

Summary:

Good value for its price

Faults:

Lights are weak for night driving. Cannot be corrected according to the local dealer.

Air flow from heat/air condition to the front windshield broken a year ago. Replaced wire, but broke again last September.

Wheel alignment problem. Shows at 110km/hr. Did not improve much after alignment at the dealership.

When driving fast we got high noise level from day one. This was probably from air leak at the windows (cannot feel the wind coming in though). We were told by the dealer that this is not typical for the model, but also not possible to fix.

After jump start a few months ago, air sensor had to be replaced. Mechanic said to jump starting it after disconnecting the sensor.

No serious problems so far. Replaced tires at 2 years (the ones we have are still good), brake pads (40000km), battery and engine belt (50000km) at normal service mileage.

General Comments:

The car is dependable and we are quite happy having it. Driving habits are average family transportation short trips (200km on the average) and daily 20km driving to/from work.

Space available and comfort is above average in its category.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2005

10th Jan 2005, 09:10

I have just sold my Daewoo Lanos. It was only the basic 1.4S, but I loved it. It was the most brilliant car I have had and the only problem was that because I did not drive it for 2 weeks because I went on holiday, the battery went flat and I have to buy another, but in over 4 years of having this beautiful little car that was all that went wrong.

I only sold the car because of the takeover that is happening by Chevrolet, but was maybe hasty in selling. I would definitely recommend this little car to anyone.

13th Jan 2005, 10:48

Why would you sell your Lanos just because Daewoo was taken over by GM (not Chevrolet)?

Makes no sense.

29th Jan 2007, 06:34

As far as the noise is concerned, have you checked if it comes from the radio antenna???

My wife owns a 1.4 SE Lanos of 1998 and, as far as she is concerned, is quite happy with the car.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 50 reviews