2000 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 8 of 14

2000 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

This car blows chunks bigger than that kid in Stephen King's The Body (stand by me)

Faults:

The question is "what hasn't gone wrong with this car??"

My speakers blew at 22,000 miles.

I had to replace the rotors and brake pads after 24,000.

There is always at least one light on my dashboard panel illuminated- check engine, air bag, brake. etc..

I had to get new front tires after only 21,000 miles- because the car keeps "un-aligning" and wearing on the tread.

Although it's been aligned twice, the wheels keep un-aligning.

I have a mysterious leak, which no one seems to understand. All the fluids have been checked, all are supposedly "OK", but there is a huge puddle in my garage. Supposedly this is from "condensation built up in the A/C dripping down and mixing with the oil on the parts." I have taken it to the dealer, and two different outside mechanics. They're bewildered.

The driver side door latch broke after I'd owned the car a month. How? The screws were stripped and fell out.

The hatch window's wiper blade stripped out and came off after two months of owning the car - and never worked before that.

The gas mileage fluctuates and is never steady - even when I do the same type of driving.

The windows rattle and shake because the gasket isn't quite perfect.

The shocks kind of suck - sometimes it feels like the steering wheel will jump out of your hands.

General Comments:

Don't buy Daewoo. Every Daewoo owner I know has had a problem or a multitude of problems with their car - and they have spent a great deal of money on "the next Honda" to keep it running.

I bought this car because it was a "good commute car" and while it's decent on gas, I've had to invest too much money in it. I still owe a couple thousand, and can only trade it in for about 1/6 the price I paid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

20th Nov 2003, 13:15

The reviews for these cars are very funny. This one is almost as good as the guy who had the stroke and can't afford to breathe the oil fumes!

13th Feb 2005, 16:59

Why is it only american people that have had problems with there lanos? I've got a lanos and I've never had a problem with it.

6th Apr 2008, 13:36

I love my Lanos! Have only had to replace my fuel pump at 50k. It is the only car that I have owned for more than 5 years. I think it's amazing and I would buy another one.

5th Mar 2011, 14:15

Hello.

I bought mine new, and at almost 111,000 miles, have just started having problems. Did regular oil changes/plugs/changed timing belt at 62,000. That's all.

Just 6 months ago, did serpentine belts, recalled for cam sensor. Only other thing, headlight contact was fixed, but under warranty.

Good car, would like to find another with low mileage.

2000 Daewoo Lanos 1.6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

A great, practical, functional set of wheels

Faults:

Two tires at 55,000 miles; nail.

Headlamps, after a torrential rain.

Bent valves w/timing belt at 80,000.

Radio antenna at two weeks. My fault.

General Comments:

Darling little thing, everyone wants to borrow it.

Looking at reality (80 mile, 80MPH commute,) it has done great service. I frankly didn't need leather, or 140 MPH, or $400 payments, to get to work. What I think I got, was great. The simple body mass looks better to me than 95% of the cars out there.

Loud, but healthy sounds. Solid. Not cushy; does not imitate luxury. Seems to settle in at about 80, but it will slow down on grades if you let it bog down. A couple long drives, one with 2 seniors, 3 adults and a baby, (!!! borrowed!!!) brought rave reviews. Wonderful, responsive engine with great pep for normal use. You don't get the VW or BMW need to race it for power.

I can fit in it, which is usually true of SUVs and very little else. Visibility, handling / feel and brakes just make it a pleasure to drive. Maximum braking power is astonishing, but for an accomplished driver. (No ABS here.) Breaking traction in the rain in a Porsche or BMW is terrifying. This one's the best driver in the rain ever, if this is a consideration.

Dealer network and service parts are a joke, currently. The manual says to change the timing belt at 120,000 for California, and this is wrong.

Don't expect a quiet, luxurious car, take care of the oil and timing belt changes, and you'll find yourself in a real winner. Once the Chevy Aveo starts up in 2004, parts and service will no longer be an issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

3rd Feb 2004, 14:21

What do you mean "Once the Chevy Aveo starts up in 2004, parts and service will no longer be an issue."? Please email me Eaglehr86@yahoo.com.

4th Mar 2004, 17:45

Chevy Aveo is built in S Korea by GMDAT (GM Daewoo) and is based on the Daewoo Kalos (which replaced the Lanos and uses the same 1.6 liter motor).

Other GMDAT vehicles now being sold in US are the Suzuki Verona and Forenza.

20th Jul 2004, 19:29

My 2000 Daewoo Lanos has only had minor problems which pleases me and my pocketbook. Routine maintenance has kept the car looking and running good until recently.

After a heavy rainy period there was a puddle of water on the passenger side floor.Yes windows were rolled up. At a body shop they couldn't determine where the water came from. If any of you folks out here have had this same problem...would love to hear what was done to correct the problem. Thanks

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 50 reviews