2000 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 11 of 14

2000 Daewoo Lanos 1.6 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired61 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A complete waste of money and a giant hassle

Faults:

The headlights have gone out 3 times.

The timing belt has broken twice, causing the valves to get bent.

The rim was dented by a minor pothole, the replacement took a month and a half to be shipped.

Car squeaks and rattles constantly.

General Comments:

This car does nothing special.

It has been a huge waste of money and a horrible expense.

I would tell anyone thinking about buying this car to run away screaming.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2002

20th Dec 2002, 21:03

I completely agree about the Daewoo Lanos. I have constant problems with minor things on the inside of my 2002 Lanos. My front seats fall back constantly, the windows go down without being rolled, and the entire dashboard squeaks constantly.

I needed new brake pads recently, and it took me a month to get the pads in, needless to say, for most of that month my car was useless because I had no brakes.

I really need to figure out a way to get rid of this car,but I still owe $10,000.

2000 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

This car is a bargain for the price

Faults:

One of the oxygen sensors failed at 50,000 miles. The cam sensor caused the check engine light to come on at 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

The 2000 daewoo Lanos is a very reliable car. It has adequate power with the 1.6 engine. It has pretty good handling and holds the road well. Because it is so small, it is scary when one drives next to big rigs. Contrary to what most people say, parts at present are pretty easy to get although for the first few years they were somewhat harder to get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2002

2000 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance21308 miles
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

A good A-B car

Faults:

My tires become de-lamenated after almost two years.

There's a lot of questions about the warranty. This is probably due to the bankruptcy and General Motor's management of Daewoo.

General Comments:

It's roomier than it looks. The rear seats move forward and I was able to put a lot of stuff in it when I moved.

The brakes work well, they've protected me from quite a few accidents.

You can't beat the cost.

Good for college students or around town commuters. Gets you from point A to point B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

2000 Daewoo Lanos 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles

Summary:

Would not consider buying another

Faults:

My brakes have been replaced three times.

The rotors have been replaced twice.

The thermostat housing hose needs to be replaced as well as the alternator.

Seats have started to wear badly.

I had to wait for two months for the brake pads to be shipped from over seas.

General Comments:

Overall, the car gets you from point A to point B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2002

15th Oct 2002, 10:02

Since Daewoo went bankrupt my 2000 Daewoo Lanos has been running into problems. The brakes already been replaced and needs it again very soon. It's in the shop now for the third time in one month because the check engine light is on and it's running loud and rattling. They said my timing chain might be going.

8th Mar 2004, 20:56

The Lanos does not have a timing chain, it has a belt, and it does not make any noise before it is getting ready to go. It just breaks and the engine stops.

28th Feb 2005, 22:56

Brake pads um let me see, have you ever heard of schucks? Took me half and hour to replace the front set. the brand is Raybestas.

10th Apr 2013, 20:25

This is what happened to my Daewoo Lanos 2000. It just stopped after I parked it. Where is the timing belt located in the car, and did you have positive results when the belt was changed?

LK

2000 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Sucks, garbage, piece of crap

Faults:

Since the beginning it started to have problems. After the first month the brakes started making funny noises, was taken to the dealer, but after 3 months it started again.

Front lights start getting disconnected many times.

When driving, the brakes and steering wheel went off, that happened twice.

General Comments:

I took the car back to the dealer and I'm not picking it up until they guarantee in writing that it won't happen again.

Daewoo have hung up the phone on me many times.

That kind of car should not be sale in America or anywhere in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

3rd Nov 2001, 08:31

I could not agree more. There are tons of Daewoo Lanoses in Poland, where some of them are built, and they are totally unreliable. Two friends of mine have Lanoses, and in both cases the cam-belt broke well before it was time to have them changed, according to the handbook. In both cases they needed extensive engine rebuilds, and both were told by their dealers that this always happens. If that is the case, then WHY DOES DAEWOO SAY THE BELT SHOULD BE CHANGED AT 120,000 KM IF IT ALWAYS BREAKS BEFORE THEN???

At least they come with a long guarantee period, and (if you are lucky) you will not have to pay for the repairs, but this is still not acceptable. If you have one, make sure you sell it before the guarantee runs out! If you haven't got one, make sure it stays that way!!

13th Jun 2002, 21:43

I could not agree more.

I have a 2000 Daewoo Lanos as well and have had nothing but misery and grief with it from Daewoo's Corporate Offices and the dealership where the car was purchased, and the dealership where the car has been serviced it has been in on numerous occassions, and they still can't get the alignment right, before that the 12 month maintenance they didn't want to do, and before that every time it rained the floor boards got soaked, and they had tried to tell me it was a figment of my imagination for three months.

16th Jun 2002, 22:06

I have a 1998 Lanos sedan, and it has been incredible, it's has never given me any kind of problems. It's surprising how a car can be so reliable and good looking for the price.

12th Jun 2003, 18:43

I have a 2000 Lanos SX and it rules. Best car in it's class by far.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 50 reviews