2000 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 6 of 14

2000 Daewoo Lanos Sport 1.6016v from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6016v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance74598 kilometres
Previous carFord Maverick

Summary:

A reliable, get what you pay for little rocket, which came with great free care!

Faults:

An 'o' ring failed between the coolant bottle and the radiator connection hose.

An exhaust resonator has been replaced at 18 months old.

Throttle body has become a little stiff on cold mornings.

General Comments:

I bought the car new in Nov 2000 and since that time have had bugger all go wrong.

I tow my yamaha wave runner and a box trailer, with ease.

The free service was brilliant, wish it was still going.

I have fitted an after market air filter called a pod, which increased performance slightly.

I then fitted iridium spark plugs and that is when the change really occurred.

The slight hesitation when initially accelerating, has now disappeared.

I have fitted performance bridgestone tires and handling has improved, especially in the wet.

So far the car has performed well.

It is now 3.5 years old and I plan to keep the car for a few years yet.

I suppose buying the vehicle from new and looking after it has paid off.

However, after saying that, to have some fun, I do enjoy pushing it round my area, as it is hilly with plenty of corners.

I am about to fit extractors and brace bars and then lower the suspension, just for the hell of it.

Anyway, I am one happy daewoo owner, cheers!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

10th Sep 2004, 08:30

Where does one find the air filter you mention? What brand is it?

Thanks!

1st Mar 2006, 17:23

Hmm its revving less at 100kph.

So adding an air filter alters the gearing...wow gotta get me one!!

2000 Daewoo Lanos ES from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

Super car at a super price!

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with the car, it was perfect.

General Comments:

This car was great! Fast, quick, turned and stopped on a "dime".

Great interior, seats fit me perfectly.

Turned heads going down the street.

Many, many great comments!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2004

2000 Daewoo Lanos SX 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

I should have bought a YUGO, it might still be running

Faults:

Dome light will not work (neither fuse nor bulb)

Back window will not roll back up (regulator)

Coolant flange broke (plastic two piece unit that separated as the plastic became more brittle-just bad design)

Finally: Drum roll please!!! Timing belt gave up a couple of teeth and it's an interference head!!!at 70k miles.

None of this is covered in the warranty because there isn't one. The local dealership folded and left all owners in the dry.

There should be a class-action suit against deawoo, but the owners can't afford lawyers due to maintenance cost.

General Comments:

I can't stress enough the importance of you to stay away from this car.

After 4 years of paying for it: Its still only worth $2000 while the payoff is almost $3000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

17th Mar 2005, 22:26

Timing belt gave up at 70k? That's why the owner's manual recommends replacing it at 60k. Build quality of a car means nothing if people don't maintain them. These are mechanical machines; they require maintenance!

1st Oct 2006, 07:03

I wish I still had my yugo bought it new in 1988 for 3,000 dollars had it for 8 years loved it, never drove anything better in the snow the only car I've ever owned that long.

2000 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles

Summary:

The worst buy I've ever made

Faults:

Where to begin?

First, the windshield defogger stopped working because the cable to change which vents the air goes through bent.

Then the headlights started shorting out on me. Discovered that the wires were fried and had to be replaced.

Then my car started slamming from first to second gear. Not fun when pulling off from a red light. I took it to the dealership and they told me that I needed a new solenoid in the transmission. It took them over 6 weeks to get the part.

While waiting for the solenoid, the dealership gave me the car back and stated that it was still "drivable." However, one night while driving my car began to shake violently and was blowing out a lot of white smoke and unburned fuel from the exhaust. I took the car back to the dealer and was told that I had a bad fuel injector. That part came in within a few days thanks to the 1-800 Daewoo number I called for the part.

After I got my car back, the transmission slammed from first to second gear a few more times and then the problem never occurred again.

My car would occasionally (about once every 2-3 months) start shaking and smoking like it did when I was told I had a bad fuel injector. I took the car back to the dealership and they told me nothing was wrong with the car.

The valve for the air vents became damaged again for the second time. Again, it was a bent cable causing the problem.

Now the car shakes and smokes at least once a week and I've had to learn to live with the "check engine" light being on constantly. For some reason, this also effects my transmission because my car has horrible acceleration. It feels like trying to accelerate with the parking brake on. One day, the car couldn't get out of second gear at all.

But since the dealership "can't find anything wrong with the car," I guess it's all supposed to be a figment of my imagination.

General Comments:

Do not buy this car! The price is great, but you get what you pay for. The car is completely unreliable and once the company went bankrupt, it has become almost impossible to get parts and decent service, unless you can afford to pay outrageous prices for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

26th Sep 2004, 19:44

I would like to talk about the Lanos, and say that it is a cell phone with a high vibration. There is a problem with the suspension. When I ride the car on a bumpy road, I hear a sound that makes me park the car and take a taxi!

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 50 reviews