2000 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2000 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic LX

Summary:

The worst car I have ever owned

Faults:

My air conditioning has broken 4 times.

My brakes have been replaced 3 times (along with the rotors).

The car won't keep an alignment.

Tires were bald at 8000 miles.

I had an oil leak at 9000 miles.

The rear defroster has broke.

Engine smells like something is going to catch fire.

The engine light came on at 9000 miles.

General Comments:

This car was the biggest disappointment I have ever had. The car has spent more time in the service department than being driven. I can't wait until the paperwork for the lemon law is finished.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

30th Jul 2004, 20:26

Wow I'm glad I read all this. I was looking into buying 1 for my first car.

18th Aug 2004, 18:45

So did the lemon law paper work go thru or not?

7th Nov 2004, 04:50

Do you think that maybe you flogged the car, therefore resulting in all the problems.. I own a lanos.. best car ever.. Some people mistreat their cars, and maybe your one of them. you can't complain bout them if you don't drive them properly. but I'm a girl so mine won't be having the problems yours did... I'm just assuming your male if your car has had so many problems your the ones more likely to wreck them. but good luck finding a better more affordable one.

2000 Daewoo Lanos S 1.5 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Basic transportation with an upscale Italian design

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong to date (knock-knock).

My 1.5 SOHC engine is quieter than the bigger 1.6 litre DOHC in the SX model.

Tough to squeeze 500 kms out of a tank of gas in regular driving (unless the tank is 25 litre capacity, in which case the mileage is incredible).

General Comments:

For $12,750 CDN$, better equipped and styled than the equivalently priced 2000 Accent (Lanos includes extras like rear wiper, Sony AM/FM 4 speaker cassette, power steering, dual airbags, bigger tires, and hinged pop-out rear windows on my hatch model).

No barnstormer, but with a 5 speed and 86 horses it's fun - what more do you expect in this price range?

Canadian winters means annual rustproofing (I assume same the rust resistance as an eighties/early ninties Japanese car - none!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2000

20th Feb 2001, 15:37

Mate, what are you talking about, it's only 63 kilowatts. My Hyundai Accent GS is a 1.5 DOHC and it has 76 kilowatts of power.

6th Mar 2001, 18:11

The 1.5 SOHC / 86 horsepower I quoted converts to (86*750/1000) 65 Kw. The 1.6 DOHC the Lanos SX had a 105 horsepower (78kw) motor here in Canada, although they no longer offer in it for 2001.

2000 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

You get what you pay for!

Faults:

Car creaks when getting in or out of the car; either side.

Brakes squeal when coming to a slow stop.

When in park and pushing the brake, something feels loose, you can feel it in the shift lever.

Constantly shifts gears.

I'll stop here.

General Comments:

Car looks nice and has a nice finish and is fairly tight.

Mileage is not that good for a car it's size (currently 26 mpg).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

2000 Daewoo Lanos SX 1.3 from Germany

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Many problems and very slow

Faults:

1. Problems with the alternator already after a few weeks.

2. Something is wrong with the suspension but my garage tells me that everything is OK. Now I do not feel safe anymore in this car.

3. 3 weeks ago the airbag LED started flashing and it took the garage 1 full week to repair this. I hope they did not just remove the LED!!!

General Comments:

Many problems in only half a year, the motor is very slow and still it uses nearly 8 liters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2000

2000 Daewoo Lanos SX 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres

Summary:

Great bang for the buck!

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

This is my wife's car but I drive it any time she will let me. I really like it. Looks cool, handles nice and is comfortable on the highway. Takes a while to get used to the spongy brake pedal but all in all I think it's a great little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2000

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 50 reviews