1988 Dodge Raider 2.4 Litre 4

Summary:

Super fun and reliable REAL SUV

Faults:

Windshield wipers seized @ 128k: replaced motor, jerry-rigged arms ($225). Wipers now park at 2:00 position, instead of along the bottom of the windshield.

Also at time of purchase (128k miles) :

headlight hi/low switch worn out. Reset switch gate ($0).

Reverse lights inoperative: not yet resolved.

Rear wiper inoperative: not yet resolved.

Rear window defogger inoperative: not yet resolved.

A/C blows warm air: likely leak, however not sure about converting from R12 (Freon) configuration to R134 refrigerant.

Rear gate remote release failed @ 129k: replacing rocker switch ($10), did not resolve problem. Likely wiring in rear door assembly and/or failed latch solenoid.

General Comments:

Outstanding vehicle that's an offroading purist's dream... and at a fraction of the cost of other 4X4's.

It's a real head-turner. While most newer 4X4's look like their toughest challenge is the mall parking lot, this baby looks ready for nature's toughest elements... even standing still. On the trails, it always beats LR Discoveries and Wranglers in tough mud and snow. I live on a remote mountain, and trust it to get me up and down in mud, ice and snow. Even passed a stuck Porsche Cayenne in a particularly deep snowpack on the trail several months ago.

It's geared to maneuver difficult terrain at relatively slow (crawler) speeds, so zero-to-sixty is pretty awful. Maybe 20 seconds. Top speed has been 76 MPH, with respectable highway driving at 62-68 MPH.

Brakes are spongy, and the stopping distance is long coming from highway speeds. Fair from crawling speeds.

Cabin visibility is beyond excellent. You can see the world from the high perch. Because it's a nice sized SWB, it parks easier than most sedans I've driven.

The manual tranny has a 5th gear to supposedly save fuel, however mine is averaging 13-15 MPG with mixed trail/city driving. Could be a carb adjustment needed. Not sure...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2011

19th Nov 2011, 10:04

Ah yes, back in the day when Mitsubishi built vehicles that were good competition.

28th Nov 2011, 16:52

"good competition" with 13 mpg and 0-60 in 20 seconds?

1987 Dodge Raider 2.6

Summary:

So far, I love my Raider

General Comments:

Just got my '87 Raider. Been working on it for 3 months. It sat in a field for 7 years.

Rebuilt the 2.6 and replaced the head. All new brakes.. from the master cylinder, lines, rotors, calipers, shoes, hubs, EVERYTHING.

Flushed and cleaned the entire fuel system, and replaced all the fuel lines. Now to rebuild or replace the carb???

Seems like everything works, and it's a fun lil' truck to drive. Still haven't gone off road yet, but looking forward to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2011

9th Sep 2011, 21:06

The best you can do is get rid of the old carb and fuel pump. There is an after market carb and electric fuel pump. That will really help, if you want to go the distance. Get a new set of timing chains, and get an after market set that eliminates the balance shaft chain. Not needed, all of this, and a new head really helps the get up and go on the 2.6 engine.

1987 Dodge Raider 1.6 litre I4

Summary:

The best 4 wheeler

Faults:

Had a cracked windshield, and the coil started smoking. Nothing too big.

General Comments:

The Raider is amazing on and off road. I would take it anywhere. With no second thoughts. I've never had so much fun with a vehicle.

I have the 5 speed, and I can show up any Jeep, Land Rover, any other Dodge, Chevy, or Ford.

It's a little torque monster, and mine had some after market performance parts, so mine had a lot of power for a Raider (about 230 HP).

I'm letting my Raider go tomorrow, and I'm pretty sure that I'm going to cry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2011

1989 Dodge Raider 3.0

Summary:

No better SUV ever built

Faults:

I have never talked to real Raider owner who felt it was a bad vehicle. I have had mine since 1989 when I purchased it new. The only problem I have had was replaced a couple starters. I do own a Ford Explorer and a new F-150. But my favorite is my Raider. Best 4x4 ever built.

General Comments:

Great vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2010

5th Nov 2010, 12:09

One of the many domestic Japanese vehicles. Mitsubishi Montero. These were really cool little trucks!

7th Nov 2010, 05:32

They rust like crazy, and that 3.0 V6 is an oil burner by 90K miles. Good luck with yours.

21st Sep 2012, 14:56

Still have it, and yes it does burn some oil, but I can live with that. I still drive it, and enjoy it more than my 2012 F150.