Dodge Raider Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 14

1989 Dodge Raider 3.0 V6

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Previous carDodge Raider

Summary:

I'm looking to BUY another RAIDER

Faults:

The brakes weren't very good, but a car is only as safe as its driver.

General Comments:

I want to buy a dodge raider from anyone with a reasonable price. email me at noamking@aol.com with serious offers on 1989 dodge raider 3.0 V6 automatic only.

This was one of the best cars I have ever driven.

What I liked most about the Dodge Raider is its amazing visibility.

It would haul through any sticky situation and always start. Unless I left the lights on because it didn't have the beeping noise before you left the car. ha ha.

I want you to contact me with serious offers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2007

1988 Dodge Raider 2.6L

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.6L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

Really a great car

Faults:

The head valve went on it, because the exhaust valves in it are weak.

I need to know how to fill the transmission fluid though.

General Comments:

It's great. My wife and I love to drive it, and there are not many around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

21st May 2012, 01:22

Thank you; I own 2 87's, just starting to love them.

Thanks, Ted.

1987 Dodge Raider 4 speed

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 speed Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance133979 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

The Dodge Raider is the best used vehicle I have ever purchased!

Faults:

The fuel filter had some rust in it, and when I replaced it, she ran like new.

The driver's side washer fluid sprayer was clogged, I unclogged it, no sweat.

General Comments:

Although I have only recently purchased this Raider, I already love it. It does anything you ask it to.

I was surprised that a four cylinder could perform so well, especially as a four wheel drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2006

1989 Dodge Raider V6

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance194500 miles

Summary:

Terrific

Faults:

At approximately 190,000 miles a new clutch was installed.

General Comments:

This has been the most awesome and dependable vehicle anyone could ever own. I just wished they were still being manufactured as I'd buy a new one in a heartbeat.

It always starts no matter how low the temperature is outside or how long it has been sitting idle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2006

1989 Dodge Raider 6 cylinder

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired135 miles
Most recent distance230 miles
Previous carVolvo Volvo 760 Turbo

Summary:

This is the most reliable, dependable, vehicle that I have ever owned. What a classic!

Faults:

Replaced starter, alternator, radiator, various gaskets, seals, hoses, belts, brake pads, floor mats, etc... general maintenance.

General Comments:

At 230k, I had a complete tune up. My mechanic commented that he would keep the truck running as long as I wanted to keep it. My reason for maintaining this excellent vehicle, is to allow my dog the opportunity to stick his head out of the slider windows. I always get comments about the classic window vents.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

23rd Nov 2006, 12:49

Love your comments about the sliding windows for your dog. I call my 89 Raider my Lab's car. I typically have a black Lab with his head out the right rear window, a Labradoodle with her nose out the left rear and another Black Lab with his head out the passenger window.

Unfortuntely at only 270,000 miles the car is starting to run rough and smoke sometimes so my wife just bought a Jeep Grand Cherokee for me to drive. She and my daughter are embarrassed by the Raider and the Jeep is a Christmas present. I am hoping to find a solution for the Raider engine without spending $4,000 for a rebuilt and having it installed. I still have the Raider insured and licensed so will continue using it until I figure out what to do with the engine. Like most Raider owners, I love that car!

2nd Mar 2014, 15:53

Hi, my name is Tim. I have an 87 Raider 3.0 that's leaking oil. I too have shaved the heads, and it's now blowing smoke.

1989 Dodge Raider 3.0 V6

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Very tough truck that is great off-road!

Faults:

Front windshield wiper assembly jammed which caused the wiper motor to burn out. Had to replace both parts.

The inclinometer leaked liquid all over the dashboard. I do not know how to fix this.

Replaced the clutch when I bought it. Cost around $500 for parts and labor!

The heater barely functions. It takes 10 minutes to get any heat and never warms up much.

I occasionally get exhaust smell in the cabin, usually when stopped in traffic within the first 10 minutes of driving.

Breaks are getting weaker. It might need new pads or new calipers.

General Comments:

I bought the Raider as an extra vehicle and to drive in the winter instead of my 2001 Eclipse. It is a ton of fun to drive and has only disappointed me in a couple areas.

I have taken it off-road at Silver Lake Sand Dunes in west Michigan. This is one of the more grueling off-road tests for an ORV. It passed every test I could throw at it. It climbed every sand dune in the park with no trouble and outperformed some Jeeps. The inclinometer was great for avoiding roll-over (which does happen on the dunes.) It is a lot more fun to drive off-road than one of the big tank-sized SUVs.

My prior SUV was a 93 Cherokee with a 4cyl and 5 speed. On off-road competency I would rate these two as equals. The Jeep was a little more comfortable inside, but the Raider is more unique and fun to drive (and was cheaper to buy). The Jeep advantage was shift-on-the-fly 4 wheel drive. The Raider has auto-locking front hubs which have to be unlocked by driving in reverse for 3-6 feet.

If anyone else has had the same problem with the heater please let me know. I don't want to pay to replace the heater and am not sure that is the real problem. The engine temperature gague never gets much above the cold mark, the engine exhaust fan is always on, and I haven't found a good way to block airflow through the radiator.

Also, if anyone has successfully fixed the leaking inclinometer please let me know how.

The best part of my Raider is that it starts every time. Even in below zero fahrenheit weather. Drives great in the snow.

Email me at jalittle@comcast.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2005

24th Jan 2005, 08:45

There is no "fix" for the leaking inclinometer, just replacement. That whole cluster with the inclinometer shows up fairly frequently on ebay, usually not too outrageously priced. You can occasionally find one in a salvage yard on a Raidler/Montero that hasn't been picked over yet.

I used to own an '89 Raider with the V6. I did not have any trouble with the inclinometer, but the engine burned a LOT of oil for not really that high a mileage (130K). It had a pretty uncomfortable ride, too, even with the adjustable suspension seat on the driver's side. It also seemed rather susceptible to rusting.

Good luck with yours!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 57 reviews