1987 Dodge Raider 2.6


So far, I love my Raider

General Comments:

Just got my '87 Raider. Been working on it for 3 months. It sat in a field for 7 years.

Rebuilt the 2.6 and replaced the head. All new brakes.. from the master cylinder, lines, rotors, calipers, shoes, hubs, EVERYTHING.

Flushed and cleaned the entire fuel system, and replaced all the fuel lines. Now to rebuild or replace the carb???

Seems like everything works, and it's a fun lil' truck to drive. Still haven't gone off road yet, but looking forward to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2011

9th Sep 2011, 21:06

The best you can do is get rid of the old carb and fuel pump. There is an after market carb and electric fuel pump. That will really help, if you want to go the distance. Get a new set of timing chains, and get an after market set that eliminates the balance shaft chain. Not needed, all of this, and a new head really helps the get up and go on the 2.6 engine.

1987 Dodge Raider 1.6 litre I4


The best 4 wheeler


Had a cracked windshield, and the coil started smoking. Nothing too big.

General Comments:

The Raider is amazing on and off road. I would take it anywhere. With no second thoughts. I've never had so much fun with a vehicle.

I have the 5 speed, and I can show up any Jeep, Land Rover, any other Dodge, Chevy, or Ford.

It's a little torque monster, and mine had some after market performance parts, so mine had a lot of power for a Raider (about 230 HP).

I'm letting my Raider go tomorrow, and I'm pretty sure that I'm going to cry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2011

1989 Dodge Raider 3.0


No better SUV ever built


I have never talked to real Raider owner who felt it was a bad vehicle. I have had mine since 1989 when I purchased it new. The only problem I have had was replaced a couple starters. I do own a Ford Explorer and a new F-150. But my favorite is my Raider. Best 4x4 ever built.

General Comments:

Great vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2010

5th Nov 2010, 12:09

One of the many domestic Japanese vehicles. Mitsubishi Montero. These were really cool little trucks!

7th Nov 2010, 05:32

They rust like crazy, and that 3.0 V6 is an oil burner by 90K miles. Good luck with yours.

21st Sep 2012, 14:56

Still have it, and yes it does burn some oil, but I can live with that. I still drive it, and enjoy it more than my 2012 F150.

1987 Dodge Raider


Love it. Wish I could figure out the carb problems


Seat belts don't grab or work. Engine was replaced with rebuilt one in 2004. Very difficult getting passed by California smog check after that (had to have three different rebuilt carbs installed).

I now have a big problem going up hill. In town, I often have to crawl up medium/steep grades in the lowest gears. On the highway I often crawl over summits in 2-4th gear. (I do live at elevation, so these summits are around 8,000+').

I'm hoping it is not a compression problem, and purchased new spark plugs today to see if that makes a difference. Weird thing is, it has much more power on some days for no apparent reason.

General Comments:

The absolutely best car I've ever driven in snow, and I've done a lot.

The short wheel base combined with the standard high clearance makes it awesome in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2010

23rd Feb 2011, 19:43

Replace the stock piece of crap Mikuni with a new Weber. I put a Weber 32/36 on mine, and it's like a new truck. It'll get up to highway speeds without wheezing now, and can pass cars without a quarter mile prep time. However, if you're in CA, I don't think the Weber is legal there? But it sure makes the truck run like it's supposed to...

17th Feb 2012, 13:29

Hi, about the Weber carburetor that you installed on your vehicle? Could you answer which one is it, DFEV or DGEV 32/36 Weber?

17th Dec 2012, 10:12


I have a 87 Raider also, really enjoy it except for the carb. It's running, but it's pretty rough at low speed. Can you give me any more info on the Weber you chose to replace the original?

Vacuum and electrical hookups? Changes needed or the same connections? Source?

Thank you, John.

17th Mar 2013, 12:10

We have a Raider also, and have put much money back into her... PuttPutt. We have replace the heads, valve train, timing chain & removed the silencer shaft (?), in the last few years. We also spent 200 dollars to have our pile of a carb rebuilt... only for it to remain a pile.

Now, we have purchased a Weber carb and are encouraged to hear the positive feedback. My question is, what did you do regarding the fuel pump? We are thinking of mounting a new rear mounted electric pump... I am curious to know what others did... Thanks.

27th Sep 2014, 18:25

Hi, glad the carb change worked for you. I have a 1987 Raider, and I'm going to order a Weber. I am concerned about the ECU, distributor and the like. Were you able just to unhook all that stuff, or were there problems there? Thanks for reading this.