Dodge Raider Reviews from North America - Page 5 of 14

1987 Dodge Raider

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles

Summary:

This is an awesome vehicle for daily use or recreation

Faults:

Water pump bearings went out at 210,000 miles, cheap to replace.

Alternator (super cheap rebuild, believe me!) quit at 210,000.

Air conditioner has needed freon since I bought it at 100,000 but I've never charged it, don't need A/C where I live.

General Comments:

This was my first vehicle and it's ruined me for all other cars.

It's a safe, comfy little tank that requires minimal maintenance and goes anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

16th Mar 2006, 02:50

I have a 87 raider I think its the best little 4x4 ever I too have repaced the same parts. what kind of fuel economy are you getting? any problems with brakes or rear shocks?

25th Jul 2006, 21:55

I purchased a 1987 Dodge Raider about three weeks ago, up until then I had never even heard of it. I have already taken it off road (with normal street tires) and I love it! I want to customize it, lift bigger tires ect... It does need paint as there is rust and I need to have the AC checked to find out why it doesn't come on. But I refuse to complain about anything! I like it more than my old Bronco I can get to places off road with this that the bronco would never fit!

27th Mar 2007, 15:23

I just bought an 87 raider for 500 bucks. just to hold me over. now I can't stop driving it. My wife hates it. But I love it. it goes anywhere, and most important it takes me away from the wife. lol.

1988 Dodge Raider 2.6L

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance225000 kilometres

Summary:

Off Road Beast

Faults:

When I was at about 220000km the timing went on it.

Then the water pump went twice.

General Comments:

I love this truck, it can really go though anything that is put in front of it.

However the acceleration is a bit slow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2004

1987 Dodge Raider

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Good

Faults:

I wrecked the S-10.

General Comments:

The Dodge Raider seems OK for now. Does anyone know where I can find a lift kit if one is available. Thanks

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

31st Jan 2011, 11:47

There is no lift kits for these cars. We had to design our own.

1989 Dodge Raider V6

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Quantum

Summary:

Great classic-style 4x4!

General Comments:

The Raider is a great old-fashioned 4x4, in the mold of the Toyota Land Cruiser. Dodge dealer support stinks, but parts are easily found in the aftermarket or your local Mitsubishi dealer (Raider is really a Montero). Very reliable machine if you keep basic maintenance up to date. An excellent buy (get the V6 and stick shift for the best Raider).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

1st Nov 2004, 06:32

V6 was not available in Raider until 1989, the last year it was sold in US.

1987 Dodge Raider 2 Door 2.6L I4

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6L I4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance206000 miles
Previous carDodge Charger

Summary:

Excellent through anything you or mother nature can throw at it

Faults:

Fuel pump was replaced at 198000 when I first bought the car for a measaly $500 Dollars.

I had a problem where the frame rotted through and the shock mount broke off, but I had that welded back on for $100 dollars and she is back on the road.

I replaced the valve cover gasket at 198000 because it had a mild leak.

General Comments:

When I first purchased my Raider the idea was to make it my second vehicle because I was heading to college and my Dodge Charger was no longer practicl. A few cheap fixes and she has been golden for 8 thousand miles in only 3 months. I think the clutch is on its way out, but I believe I can baby it for a few thousand more miles, but other than that the car is absolutely nothing, but reliable I would definitely buy another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

1988 Dodge Raider

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance124100 miles
Previous carDodge Raider

Summary:

It's A Great Sporty, Reliable, Fun Vehicle

Faults:

Well I believe it is the catalytic converter, cause it was fine up till now, spits and sputters and black smoke with it acting like it is clogged, it loses power then regains it so I have been through this before with a Malibu. MY converter will cost me $89, unless I just have a straight pipe in place of it, then it will be $25 but it was sitting for 2 yrs prior to driving it so it just needs the kinks out of it then it should be OK. I have the windshield wiper to fix and the 2 spark plugs are heat coiled in, but all in all, it is nice I like it.

General Comments:

My Cousin owned it prior to me, and the only thing she replaced on it was tires.. it has been very reliable for her for many years, and then she put it in storage after her hubby bought her a new truck for a anniversary present, she didn't want to let it go, but when I heard she finally would sell it, I jumped at the chance. She always babied it, it rusted in the area of the windshield wiper while in storage, but that will be $50 to fix that, she never fixed it, but I will, Now that it is mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 57 reviews