1995 Honda Accord Reviews from North America - Page 14 of 14

1995 Honda Accord DX 2.2L 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very reliable automobile

Faults:

A rough idle has developed recently that has me stumped. I thought it was the EGR valve causing a vacuum leak, but it's not and I'm still searching for the cause.

The windows are very difficult to roll up and down and require lubrication every 10k miles.

Car is very difficult to start when on a downslope, even with a full tank of gas.

General Comments:

The car in general has been very reliable.

The brakes on this vehicle are terrible. They are probably the worst I have ever used. They sure do wear slowly, though. I guess that's one benefit to not having a strong grip.

Road noise is fairly high.

I've read other reviews here stating that the car corners well. I beg to differ. This car leans quite a bit during cornering and is not the performance machine others claim it to be.

Gas mileage is and has always been excellent as is power for the size of the engine.

Overall I am very pleased with this car. I just wish I could solve its idle problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

8th Jun 2003, 17:52

Take it to your mechanic and ask him to check the Idle Air Control valve and if it is bad, replace it. If it is disconnected, connect it. A malfunction in the Idle Air Control valve will cause low or rough idle after the car has warmed up for about 5 to 10 minutes. Hope this will help you solve your problem.

14th Sep 2004, 13:33

I had a 2001 Honda Civic that idled poorly. It was caused by a cracked exhaust manifold and a bad catalytic converter.

1995 Honda Accord EX Sedan VTEC 2.2L I4

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission VTEC 2.2L I4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The perfect car!

Faults:

Blinkers hesitate in hot weather.

General Comments:

I commute 60 miles a day through extreme heat and heavy traffic. I never worry when I'm in it.

The air is strong. I have never had to have maintenance on the A/C.

I have always had oil changes every 3K miles and always at the local Honda dealer. They are very professional.

The car has decent pick-up for a four cylinder. It's fast once past 30MPH.

Transmission shifts smoothly.

Feline agility is what comes to mind when thinking of the handling of this car. It's very stable.

Ride is firm, but comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

1995 Honda Accord EX V-6

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Worth the money in the long run

Faults:

There has not been a thing wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This car is a pleasure to drive, the V-6 is very smooth and has a decent amount of power.

The interior is very well designed and comfortable.

Really the only thing I do not like about this car is the road noise at about 40MPH, you can really hear the tires, of course this might be alleviated with new rubber.

I have never had a problem with this car, and given Honda's reliability, I don't expect to for quite some time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2001

1995 Honda Accord LX

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired49500 miles
Most recent distance113526 miles

Summary:

A great car, but a high theft rate

Faults:

Car was stolen in 2000. What Honda fails to tell consumers is that the 90's Accords are high theft, one of the easiest cars to steal... if you have one get an alarm..... you could wake up like I did with no car in front of your apartment!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

1995 Honda Accord LX

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Love Honda Accords but won't buy another one that the company won't stand behind

Faults:

Crack in the engine block where the exhaust manifold connects. Honda knew about the problem and issued a service bulletin in 1998 - didn't notify consumers. Apparently it was enough of a problem that they came up with a solution for the ill placed bracket that supports the engine there. Honda, my favorite car company until now won't stand behind their product even though the car was under warranty at the time the bulletin was issued.

General Comments:

We buy Hondas for their lasting durability and customer satisfaction. They dropped the ball on this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

23rd Jan 2001, 19:24

Hi, is there any way to find out more information on this problem?? I just recently bought a 1995 Accord LX and want to know more about this situation. Please let me know all that is available or where I can obtain more information about this problem.

Thank you,

Charles Harlan

1995 Honda Accord LX 2.2 non-VTEC

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 2.2 non-VTEC
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Engine has some pep, but the automatic needs better gearing to take advantage of the narrow power band.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

1995 Honda Accord DX 4 cyl

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 4 cyl
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10

Faults:

Nothing. The worst complaint I have about the car is that the windows fog up if there's even a mention of rain in the forecast! Although I have had the car for going on three years now, I only have 22K on it so that may have something to do with its reliability.

General Comments:

I researched the issue recently and discovered that I owe less on the car than it is worth. Considering that I didn't get a great deal on the car and that I financed it for 5 years, I think that speaks highly for the value of the car. Also, if I were to buy another Honda I would pay extra for the V6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 43 reviews