1989 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 10

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 Liter

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 5.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance236000 miles
Previous carVolvo 244

Summary:

A well-built, very reliable, and comfortable car

Faults:

Low beam lights don't work.

Air conditioning went out at 130,000.

Water pump went out at 150,000.

Alternator failed at 220,000.

Transmission failed at 234,000.

General Comments:

They advertised riding in it as being "...like sitting on a couch," and it is.

It has sufficient power to get the job done.

Acceleration is lacking at over 60 mph, but it isn't a slouch at getting on the freeway.

It's a very safe and solid car. It has never let me down.

It's awesome on long trips!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2012

14th Oct 2012, 12:52

As a Volvo 244 owner (and Crown Vic fan), I'd like to know how your 244 compared to the Marquis.

I remember sitting in a Marquis, but ended up with a Volvo 240 for its better handling and thinner body; they're better at avoiding crashes.

18th Oct 2012, 00:01

"Transmission failed at 234,000."

Did the plastic grommet on the TV cable give out?

18th Oct 2012, 17:41

It probably did break, but at 200k miles that piece of plastic held up better compared to the usual 90-100k.

People go on and on about how good the newer Panthers are, but I think that the earlier box models have better quality parts in them.

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 5.0 302

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 5.0 302 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Valiant

Summary:

Love the car, would buy another one!

Faults:

Door locks never worked right... and can't unlock from outside the vehicle.

Exhaust went, but typical on an older car.

Starter not engaging (freewheeling) occasionally, and radiator has minor leak, but both have been doing that for over 3 years.

Frame rail rusted, but was cheap to get it welded ($130)... just under driver's door/passenger side doors.. watch for this in the snow belt areas.

Body rusted in rear quarters.. I was able to rebuild them myself.

Heater malfunctions and blows hot air on its own, even in the summer... I just put in a ball valve on the heater hose.

Back window motors plastic gear wears out on these.. but cheap to fix it yourself ($20 each window).

Gas pedal comes up too far, making it uncomfortable on long trips.

Headlight switch connector wore out... tough to get at, have to dismantle nearly the whole dash unit.

General Comments:

Very dependable, and getting 21 MPG in mixed driving.

Great performance.. handling and fuel economy for a full size sedan.

Interior holding up very well for a 23 year old car.

Cheap to fix, and parts are cheap too.

The vehicle seems pretty well made overall.

Not full of sensors (like newer cars) to go wrong...

Seats are like sitting on a couch in your living room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2012

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 302 V8

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 302 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A joy to own

Faults:

Other than what you would expect at 85,000, this car has been a lifesaver and a joy to own. It has needed a new battery, starter (which I bought rebuilt), emission sensors to meet Arizona standards, and a kindly mechanic who took my oil pump off and "cleaned"it up. I originally paid $600 for it, and have put $800 into it. And I didn't need to do all that til I hit 97,000, when I move to Arizona from Nebraska, mainly to meet Arizona emission standards.

General Comments:

This car has been a VERY dependable piece of transportation. I even had to live in it for 10 days when I first moved to Arizona!! It was very comfortable, and pleasant. This would be the car to live in, if you had to. I would like to buy one of the new ones, but I'd keep this one for a spare. Long live the land boats!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2009

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis 5.0 V8 302

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 302 Automatic
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles

Summary:

I want to do a donut!!! Have no gas!

Faults:

Well, I usually don't go American with cars, but since Japanese car are expensive so far because of their fuel economy, I bought a Ford pig (Mercury Grand Marquis).

I got this car for my 18 birthday and the car is holding up so far. I did a major tune up (fuel filter, air filter, spark plugs and wires etc).

The car some how runs a little rough sometimes, the engine shakes at times and it stalls on me. If somebody can help me and give me any advice on how to make it run smooth, I would appreciate that.

I got the car for $550. The car is a fun to drive and I can't wait to do my first donut with it. I been offroading already and I love it. I know it's not a rally car, and who cares, my general concern is the roughness of the engine at times, so please help me!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2008

16th Jul 2008, 22:25

You should definitely join www.grandmarq.net!! There's a wealth of tech info there :) In the meantime, keep on driving the box.

17th Jul 2008, 09:52

Maybe it will start to run better when you stop beating the crap out of it. Why bother fixing it up when you'll have it wrecked in a month, anyway?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 35 reviews