1989 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 9

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0L 302

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L 302 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

When used properly, and not abused, this car is an excellent driver

Faults:

I bought this car knowing it had several things wrong with it.

It had a bad exhaust system.

The engine was due for a rebuild.

The engine had been sorely abused before I purchased the car; I knew its previous owners.

The brakes were worn and needed replacing.

General Comments:

After I had the engine rebuilt and the brakes and exhaust replaced, this car has run like a dream.

The interior is gorgeous and looks like new.

The car rides like it's floating on air; very smooth and very easy handling.

The car is amazingly responsive for something so large.

Despite it's age and the inclement weather it has endured, the car's exterior is beautiful.

The next step is repairing the surface rust on the rear portions of the rockers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2003

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0L

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80700 miles
Most recent distance90800 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Be afraid, be very afraid..

Faults:

What hasn't??? Basic maintenance, I don't mind, however... Over the past year, I have spent over $1000 on repairs. Power steering pump, tie-rod ends, water pumps, and now, transmission is bucking a bit when shifting into gear; just ever so slightly, but I know what's coming in the near future... Oh yeah, power door locks don't work either, or power windows! And, we all know how 'spensive they are to replace/fix!

General Comments:

Rides great, very smooth.

Looks good too.

Too bad it runs like...garbage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

18th Apr 2004, 10:46

Has it dawned on you that you are driving a 15 year old car... and that these are normal replacement and maintenance costs?

1st Oct 2005, 10:01

If I may say so, I've never met another car that was easier or more enjoyable to drive, or ride in...

...and that gas pedal has quite the kick!

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis V8

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance185200 miles
Previous carDodge Aries

Summary:

A Sure Thing

Faults:

I had the engine rebuilt for $2500.00 at 100,000 miles.

Other than that, it was remarkably reliable for the first 160,000 miles.

General Comments:

It's almost done at 185,000+ miles, but where else can you get a car to reliably run for 160,000 miles or so? Volvo perhaps, but you will also pay twice as much. I had a friend who bragged about his 1986 Grand Marquis--it was still running at 250,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LX 5.0L

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

I would definately purchase another Grand Marquis they are worth the investment!

Faults:

Virtually nothing has gone wrong with my Marquis until today. I had to have it towed home after trying to get it started in the parking lot of a store for 45 minutes. Something electrical gave up on me, a sensor I expect.

General Comments:

This is a super car for comfort and safety. It is big and roomy and handles very well for it's size.

It does use gas rather freely, meaning the more you floor the accelerator the faster the gauge drops.

The air conditioning is superb! The lack of anywhere to put a drink has been the only annoyance I have had.

My Marquis is Cimmeron brown. Not the most attractive color, but it has held up quite well. It is still shiny and the leather top is still in great shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 V8

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance89250 miles

Summary:

Comfortable, safe, reliable, cheap

Faults:

Radiator cracked around 82,000 (Free)

Power steering hose blew ($17)

Both front locks froze (not replaced)

Moon roof isn't right. (off track I think)

General Comments:

This is my first car. It was my dads before that. He bought it with 50,000 miles on it. It has been driven hard since I have owned it, but it takes the abuse well.

It is very quick off the line and has a high top speed, although it is unknown since the speedometer stops at 85mph.

It has plenty of passing power in town or at interstate speed.

It could be geared better. Second gear is weak, but when you hit third hang on. From 55 to 80 is nothing flat. I have already had 1 ticket so I haven't had the chance to top it out for fear of the police, but I have had the speedometer pegged.

It handles better than what you would expect from a car this size and is extremely stable and predictable.

The tires are wearing on the outside, but I am 16 so I expected this.

This car is very comfortable, safe, and reliable and I would recommend this to any first time driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

24th Feb 2005, 18:17

I have an 89 Grand Marquis and I'm 18. This car is awesome. It is extremely reliable. It hasn't broken down yet. Also the car will go over 110 mph in 3rd gear. I haven't gotten it into overdrive yet for the max speed. To get That speed, I just followed the speedometer after it went past 85. It stopped at probably 100 to 105 ish and I kept going faster so I would say 105 to 110mph.

1st May 2007, 02:04

You sound quite like me... I'm 17 and I also drive an '89 Mercury Grand Marquis. First car, dad's car before me, roughly 50,000 miles when bought 9 years ago. I love it. The only problem I have with the car is that it is extremely long and very difficult to park (already put a scratch in one person's bumper because of that). Which reminds me, they don't make cars like this anymore, good sturdy ones that hardly sustain any damage in minor accidents.

1st May 2007, 11:35

There's really no reason to be driving this type of car around in 'third gear'. The overdrive is the position the transmission was designed to be driven in. If you require more power just press the gas pedal and the trasmission will 'kick down' to third or second.

1st May 2007, 16:29

That's exactly why people use third gear, to avoid the car 'kicking down' all the time. That increases wear on the transmission and it doesn't last as long.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 34 reviews