1989 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews from North America - Page 7 of 9

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0L V8 EFI

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84840 miles
Most recent distance87840 miles

Summary:

A great high performance first car

Faults:

Rear air shocks blew out

Air conditioning compressor failed

Small leak in trunk

Both rear windows are non-functioning

Driver-side windows motor replaced.

General Comments:

I received this car from my grandfather for my 15th birthday. I have ridden in several cars since I can remember, and this car is the most comfortable to ride in.

I have just recently started driving it and this car has some major power! My friends say that it probably couldn't go over 60, but I plan on showing them when I get my license.

It is however a gas-guzzler, but 20$ for a full tank isn't too horrible.

I highly recommend this vehicle for a first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

1st May 2007, 02:07

This is an excellent first car. It is cheap and reliable yet very powerful. The car will get up to speeds past 110 mph, just make sure you don't get pulled over or there will be hell to pay. Also it does have an extremely smooth ride, especially in the backseat. It can't be beat.

12th Jun 2007, 17:18

Wow, that's $20 at $1.10 or so a gallon. Now it's more like $54 At $2.99 a gallon. and I hear that's kinda cheap for some areas.

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 302 V8 5.0L MPFI

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 302 V8 5.0L MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 kilometres
Most recent distance163000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

One hell of a pimping tank!!

Faults:

So far the only thing that I have had a problem with it was a leaking water pump and had to replace the brakes.

General Comments:

It is a great car. It is beautiful, powerful and very comfy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2002

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 Liter V8

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Style, class and performance bargain

Faults:

It's rusted a little bit. The door has a rust hole on it that will increase.

General Comments:

I love this car! It has style, class, and performance. I can floor this car and it will go! The only reason it's not a high performance car is because of the car's weight. It has maneuverability and is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LX 5.0

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

High Performance Badass

Faults:

Tires have gone bald from all of the burnouts (amazing)

General Comments:

I live down south and I got this car as a highschool car and everyone laughed at me with all of their sport cars until I found out that the marquis is a burnout machine, just press the brake and gas at the same time and up comes the smoke. I used to light the school up almost everyday, you could not see it when I was done. There was about two tires worth of tread on the back fender.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 V8

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance113522 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

A bit dated and old-fashioned, and very poor reliability in my case, but holds its own overall.

Faults:

At 95628 miles, I had to replace the left front freeze plug. It cost $237 total.

At 96108 miles, the fuel gage stopped working due to a defective sending unit. Estimate to repair was at least $250. I have not had this replaced yet.

At 105888 miles, the ignition coil overheated and melted the wire harness, shorting the coil and blowing the ignition module and distributor pickup. With extensive labor (they checked the whole electrical system), total cost came to $563.

At 105933 miles (just after I had the ignition repaired) the water pump went out. Repair cost $203.

At 106281 miles, the power steering pump failed. Replaced for $20 (part from salvage yard and local repair shop labor was $37) for total price of $57.

At 107121 miles, the power steering hoses both failed suddenly and at the same time, and the pump drained at interstate speed, burning out the pump bearings. Upon inspection, I found a leaking bypass hose and a leaking heater hose, repaired both, total cost this time $311.

At 108331 miles, the front passenger door lock failed (completely inoperable even with key) and the next day, the left rear window motor quit. Still not fixed.

At 109100 miles, the fan clutch failed and caused overheating. Replaced fan clutch and thermostat, and flushed cooling system. Total cost $249

At 109346 miles, the alternator seized up while I was on a trip, it broke the belt. Towing and repair was $191.

At 110664 miles, the air conditioner compressor return line split, had it converted to R134a, total $1140.

At 113522 miles (today), the radiator sprung a leak. Replaced with a used radiator for $50 and on the way home, one of the transmission cooler lines ruptured, which disabled the entire transmission. Still unclear if the transmission is permanently damaged. Will find out tomorrow.

These leaks have always existed since I bought the car and I have had the car in the shop seven different times just for these leaks, and most of them keep re-occurring: Both valve cover gaskets (oil), transmission gasket (replaced three times), coolant (freeze plugs, water pump, gaskets, thermostat, heater core, heater hoses, etc. I have just pretty much given up and adding oil, coolant, transmission fluid, and power steering fluid have become a daily ritual for me.

I have also gotten used to the constant burning-oil smell and underhood smoke while sitting in traffic.

General Comments:

Ride and comfort are top-notch.

Styling is clearly '80's, but by no means ugly.

Acceleration is quite respectable for a car this size that weighs nearly 3 tons.

Very comfortable power leather seats.

My only problem is reliability. I must have a lemon, because everyone I talk to says how reliable these cars are. I must say this car is by far the most unreliable car I have ever had. In fact, I don't know of anybody that's had as much trouble with their car. I have spent so much on this car that I could have bought a nearly-new one.

However, I still have it after more than a year and nearly 20,000 miles, so apparently the good outweighs the bad with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

2nd Sep 2003, 11:20

Thanks for your insight. My '89 with 130K has had many of the problems and I have had most of the repairs you describe. The engine continues overheat when the car is going up a grade and the air conditioning is on. I am having trouble diagnosing the exact problem. Joe.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 34 reviews