Suzuki Reno Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 4

2008 Suzuki Reno base 2.0 liter ohcd

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter ohcd Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired153 miles
Most recent distance1020 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Great little car with lots of extras for the price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Peppy little car.

Good on gas.

Headroom is good.

Seats are comfortable with good leg room.

Lots of glass make it feel open.

Lots of extras.

Remote key fob should be standard and no cruise on the base car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2008

21st Apr 2008, 21:38

I had owned an 08' Reno and to tell you the truth, I'm scared. Did you know that at higher speeds (70-80mph) with high cross winds, the hood will pop up? It happened to me twice and I had fought Suzuki for three months without any results. Eventually I did a voluntary repo. because I have custody of my three young children and I will not let them in this accident waiting to happen. If you are happy with yours then congrats. on your good (but not great) fuel economy.

2005 Suzuki Reno S 2.0

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Esteem

Summary:

Fun, roomy, and the mpg is not that bad..

Faults:

This is about the recall that affected the water pump.

2 weeks after I got the letter, I started smelling smoke from the engine. I took the car in and it was on the recall list. The problem is the the pulley caused the alternator to short out, The timing belt to start shredding and the secondary belt too also shred.

The dealer stated the Suzuki will only fix the water pump and the timing belt. I would then have to pay $735.00 to repair the other things. I called Suzuki and have a current claim open, but no word yet on if my loyalty is worth anything.

Just to be very clear, I have only had Suzuki cars, starting with the GREAT Suzuki Swift gti. If you take proper care of a Suzuki, it will last as long as you need it to. But the above recall does have me on edge. I'll update when I get more info.

Thanks

ttgoth.

General Comments:

Good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2007

8th Sep 2007, 12:36

Just to be very clear, your Reno was actually built by Daewoo in S. Korea. It just has a Suzuki name plate on it.

Also, Suzuki has announced that the Reno and the Forenza (also made by Daewoo) will be discontinued after the 2008 model year.

11th Sep 2007, 03:55

The previous poster was correct the Forenza / Reno / are Daewoo products, and the new SX4 is made by Fiat.

I'm thinking the only car that they produced on their own was the Aerio, and it was discontinued this year.

The Veronza I believe it was called that was also a Daewoo.

I do not trust this and I think that it is wrong for them to try and pass these korean made cars off as Suzuki's. Daewoo didn't have a great reliability record, and if anyone takes notice, none of the Suzuki badged ones do either.

Also the Chevrolet Aveo is also a Daewoo produced car, and if you look at some of the reviews it's kinda scary.

2006 Suzuki Reno base 1.8 litre

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Great little car!

Faults:

Nothing, car has been very reliable thus far.

General Comments:

The Suzuki is a great little car, roomy, zippy, and stylish, my only complaint is the gas mileage is not great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

2006 Suzuki Reno S 2.0L Gasoline

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

An often-overlooked, but excellent contender

Faults:

Nothing -- the car is still new (only about two months old) and so far has been flawless.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent, welcome surprise. The result of a collaboration between GM, GM Daewoo of Korea, and Suzuki, the Reno is a stylish, spacious, great-handling hatchback with a long list of standard equipment, great fuel mileage, and plenty of street cred.

I was looking for a practical four-door hatch with good mileage, but which wasn't ugly. After looking at what Honda, Toyota, Scion, and Hyundai had to offer, I leapt at the Reno. Not only is its price lower, but the car has a higher-quality feel, with excellent dash materials, controls that click precisely, steering that's precise, and a tight jewel-box feel that inspires confidence.

Add in Suzuki's 10 year, 100,000 mile powertrain warranty (with no deductible!), the standard front driver/passenger airbags, the standard SIDE airbags for driver and front passenger, the excellent 8-speaker sound system, and the dealer's excellent sales and service experience, and Reno outpointed the competition by more than a mile.

People have questioned the Daewoo bloodline of this car (it was designed in Daewoo's design facility), but a quick look and drive of this car -- plus the generous warranty -- alleviates those concerns. The Australian-built GM engine gives good economy and is a proven, reliable powerplant. The gated-shift automatic is also a proven GM design, which bodes well for reliability.

It's hard to think of a better value in its class. Dealers will sell you this car at invoice price -- for a tick over $13K, you get a loaded, spacious, fun-to-drive, economical hatchback with a great warranty. You cannot go wrong. Your open mind will result in a delightful experience, and you'll rest easy knowing you've got more equipment, more space, and a better warranty than people who paid thousands more for a Matrix or Civic hatch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2005

19th Feb 2006, 14:21

It is doubtful you will enjoy this vehicle after it has reached 50k miles and above. Possibly designed by Daewoo, it may sport similar issues as other Daewoo models, however...based on one's opinion. I don't necessarily care for Asian designed vehicles, however, my Toyota is still up and running.

24th Feb 2006, 13:18

Actually this car was designed by Italdesign, in Italy. GM and Daewoo built everything except the design. Keep in mind that Ital design has been known to design Ferrari's and many other high end cars throughout the globe. As for the Koreans, who else can build such a cheap and reliable car? if you don't like it, then go spend your money elsewhere and perhaps you shall realize that there is nothing elsewhere for this price brand new... except other Korean cars..

Sorry maybe a dodge neon...

2005 Suzuki Reno 2.0

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

The Reno is a nice surprise

Faults:

Nothing.

Bought the car new a few months ago, I was kinda afraid to buy a Suzuki, but I went ahead because I liked the Reno so much.

The 5-speed is excellent and it drives like a sports car.

I love the hatchback body style.

The climate controls are very effective and powerful. Sound system is also very nice.

General Comments:

Major step up from my 1996 3-cylinder Metro, which in itself was a wonderful little car, but lacked any kind of options or acceleration, it was a struggle to get up to speed, but that's another review.

The Reno is top notch among the sport hatchback segment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2005

14th May 2005, 18:36

Good luck with your Reno. Although it is not a real Suzuki. It is a Daewoo. Suzuki just sells it, no part in the design or engineering.

20th May 2006, 22:07

I just bought a Reno a few days ago. I was a little afraid to buy a Suzuki, only because you don't see too many of them on the road. Even though it's only been a few days, so far I like it a lot. Sporty little car, great gas mileage and I got a great warranty. I hope that I continue to enjoy it!

15th Aug 2007, 00:04

Just bought my 2007 Reno and it's a great little car, would highly reccommend it to anyone.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews