1997 Ford Mondeo Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 5 of 11

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Solid and reliable, I would buy another

Faults:

Driver's seat had to be replaced at 135,000 miles

Offside front door window winder motor failed and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Quite thirsty at around 34 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2004

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles

Summary:

Ultimate rep car, never a chance of exclusivity

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is bland and rather basic. It does the job though. Interior is cheap, plasticky and the whole car lacks style.

It handles well, but has a 'rep' image.

No air-con, rear headrests, electric mirrors or even ABS brakes.

Wing-mirrors are too small, but its very comfortable if gloomy inside.

We bought it because of the low mileage, despite the negative bits it is highly competent if rather overrated at the time of launch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

26th Sep 2004, 18:44

You have a very basic kit on that car. If you would have gone at least for the middle range you would talk differently.

1997 Ford Mondeo ASPEN 1.8 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired151345 miles
Most recent distance154758 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Faults:

After 150000 Mile's this car required a little TLC to get it in tip top condition, that does not mean however that it was in bad condition.

Rear wheel cylinders

Drums

Brake shoe adjusters

Rear brake shoes

Brake pipes

All needed replacing as well as a good service

Seats and interior are in good condition although the carpet in the rear has worn around the heal area and the overall interior needs a valet.

The steering wheel also shows some signs of wear.

General Comments:

Excellent car for those with the need for a smooth cruiser or those with a family.

Just eats the miles although only returns 48mpg

The cabin is also rather dark.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2004

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Luxury and comfort for less

Faults:

My catalyst disintegrated at 80000 miles, replacement cost over £300.

The heater fan has failed on all, but setting 4.

HT Leads seem to need replacing at regular intervals, always check these first if your mondeo starts idling badly. I have now used two sets.

Front tires wear quickly.

Suspension problems are common, I have now had all front bushes and shock absorbers replaced, and have failed at each MOT because of this.

Most of these problems however are not unreasonable in a car of 100000 miles, and the general mechanics feel sound.

General Comments:

Although my mondeo`s had its niggles it still feels like it would take a lot to break it entirely! Whether this is due to its weight, or the luxurious interior, I am not quite sure!

The trim quality and equipment levels are first class, with full leather which is wearing extremely well, and more gadgets than you could wish for, most of which are still working!

Fuel economy is pretty good for a 2.0 lump, especially as it spends a lot of its life in towns and short journeys. The computer is currently showing 28.5 mpg average and has not been reset for many miles.

The 2.0 engine does not feel the quickest around, but will respond fairly well if you push it, and will just purr all day on the motorway, especially with the cruise control on.

All in all, a lot of car for a little outlay, and ideal if you want a touch of luxury in something, that is also realistic to own and maintain.

I am seriously considering another mondeo, possible a V6 after this one, and as I have never considered the same car twice before, than this probably means I like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2004

31st Mar 2004, 03:34

The heater issue sounds like the pollen filter may be blocked. This should be replaced every 2 years or 20k. Many Ford dealers do not bother doing this!

31st Jul 2004, 06:37

The reason his heater isn't working has nothing to do with the comment about the pollen filter. The reason it is not working is the heater resistor pack is broken, and is easily fixed. See

http://www.mirez.co.uk/HeaterPack.htm for more info.

5th Sep 2004, 00:49

Heater fan problem _ We have a1.8LX and a 2.0L Ghia, both had problems with the fan. I managed to resolve it by disconnecting and then cleaning the contacts on the plug which connects the switch wiring to the rest of the harness. The connector is found by removing the carpet above the passengers footwell and the the connector is found on the right handside. It may be due to condensation as one half of the connector is secured to the body through to the engine bay. It has worked for both of our cars.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews