1997 Ford Mondeo Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 8 of 11

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 1.6

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

A reliable, comfortable, pleasant car to drive

Faults:

Miss-firing when cold, tip, check the viscosity of the engine oil, on the Ford Zetec engine it's crucial! I found this out the hard way. My fault, no-one else's!

L/H C.V. joint very noisy when I bought the car.

Flashing air-bag light.

General Comments:

Considering that Ford developed this car as a mile cruncher for company reps, what better car to own privately? cheap second-hand parts available at almost every breakers yard, comparatively cheap parts from most outlets, and fairly commonly available too!

Handling is more than adequate for what is quite a large car, OK. the 1.6 is a bit on the laclustre side, but here in Ireland road tax is based on engine size, and the 1.6 costs almost €350 a year to tax!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

28th Nov 2002, 03:44

Please be so kind and tell me what problem you experienced with your engine and oil.

I use Mobile Synthetic 5W50 that is supposed to be good, but the oil consumption jumped from 60 grams to 120 grams / 1000 km at only 40000 km on board. I drive hard sometimes, but I don't believe a 2 liter engine should suffer from that.

Send your mail please to svainternational2002@yahoo.com.

Ady.

4th Jun 2004, 13:02

Hi there, I wonder if you can help. my mondeo airbag warning light keeps flashing do you know what could be wrong, thanks ctcripp@yahoo.com.

1997 Ford Mondeo Si 2.0 Zetec

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

Excellent driver's car powerful yet refined

Faults:

Nothing as yet, car seems to be zipping along. Service at end of July.

General Comments:

This car I have got is really quick of the mark for a large car.

I find that it is free revving, and always want's more.

The seating is extremely comfortable and excellent on long journeys.

Seeing that the other car I had was a Skoda and I had that for 3 years and never had a fault with it the Mondeo now has a lot to live upto.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.5 V6

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Slow moving vehicle - let 19 16v's through!

Faults:

After a couple of months, the gearbox packed in, it kept jumping out of 3rd and 5th gear regularly, thus meaning straight to the dealers for replacement under warranty.

At the minute the electric sunroof leaks slightly in heavy rain - back to the dealers shortly for this.

I have not had any other problems apart from the usual replacing of pads and discs.

General Comments:

I love the grey leather interior and all the other interior gadgets. It is so comfortable and cosy.

However I am very disappointed with the top end performance. About a week ago I was flat out at 120 MPH, when this Renault 19 16v absolutely tore past me. I just could not catch it at all. For a 2.5 V6 engine this is very poor.

This is not the first time I have had my doubts about its performance. It seems to lack grunt when driving at speed. I bought the car hopefully for some power, but how wrong could I be!!.

Maybe I have a goosed engine or these cars could be overrated by other people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2002

2nd Mar 2002, 11:23

Renault 19 16v's are animals though, very complex but often underrated!

22nd Aug 2002, 13:12

I Own a Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.5 V6. There must be something wrong with your engine, as this car packs a hell of a punch. I have reached speeds of 142mph and it still wants to go. It also has loads of power for overtaking from speeds of 60 to 110mph. It seems to me you should have your engine checked.

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 petrol

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A quick reliable bargain

Faults:

Nothing, other than a minor problem with the central locking which has yet to be fixed.

General Comments:

Given the cars size it handles and performs very well.

It just gets on with the job at hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance48610 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It's great fun to drive!!!

Faults:

Front tires needed replacing twice.

Wind-screen wash has broken.

General Comments:

The car turns like a train, Accelerates really well and is quite fast.

The boot is big.

The seats are very comfortable.

It's got quite a lot of space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2002

9th Mar 2004, 18:44

Turns like a train? Don't you mean handles like on rails. My mate has one and it really does defy the laws of physics at times.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews