1997 Ford Mondeo Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 10 of 11

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord 2.9 V6 Scorpio

Summary:

Does everything reasonably well

Faults:

Front tires wear very quickly.

General Comments:

The car handles better than any I have ever driven in this class.

For an automatic it is very quick, with a 0-60 time of less than ten seconds.

Fuel consumption is good too.

However the interior could have been improved from the previous model generation.

The seats are not very supportive when cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

1997 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5 V6 petrol

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance40500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 620 Si Auto

Summary:

Great value V6 monster

Faults:

The car sometimes stalls when cold, but then restarts fine, it's going back next week.

The CD Auto changer is playing up.

New exhaust needed £277 for the back and mid section.

New tyres, Avon ZZ1 205/50/ZR16, £85 each.

General Comments:

I'm averaging 15 mpg, probably due to my driving style, I got 25 mpg on a long run.

I find the car slides across the road if a bend is taken too fast, almost as if the suspension is too hard.

Easily keeps up with BMW 325's and 535's as I tend to go BMW thrashing.

When the traction control kicks in the accelerator pedal pushes your foot back, this was a bit of a shock when it first happened.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

11th Mar 2001, 07:30

I'm glad someone else has had the same thing happen, Twice now when going into a roundabout I have nearly lost the back end. I wouldn't say as a rule I was going that fast, but maybe you get to used to its good handling and take it for granted!

3rd Jun 2001, 13:39

I have also had a rather scary time on a roundabout where I thought I was driving a rear wheel drive car the way back end came round, I agree that the suspension seems to be the key to this.

1997 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5 V6 24v Duratec petrol

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24v Duratec petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Escort Cosworth

Summary:

Looks quick, and is quick

Faults:

Nothing as of yet...

General Comments:

I have driven about 8 different Mondeo ST24's and each one is different! Some feel as quick as Cossies and others seem a lot slower, they have all been used ones so I guess it depends who's had them before and how they've run the V6's in.

Superb car though, all round performance, handling, bags of torque, feels like its got 200+ bhp when its only 170.

I'm well impressed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia 1.8 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo 2.0GLX auto

Summary:

Excellent family car

Faults:

Remote needed resetting after dropping the key into a pond!, otherwise nothing.

General Comments:

Very reliable, quiet on the move, economical (50+ mpg) comfortable and good equipment. Air conditioning makes little difference to the MPG and works well.

Excellent family car.

Boot sill can be a problem with heavy loads.

Having to remove the head restraints to fold down the rear seats is a pain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2000

1997 Ford Mondeo LX TD 1.8 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

Simply an excellent all rounder

Faults:

Remote key fob needs programming as the battery went flat.

General Comments:

Great allrounder, very reliable and economical.

Air con affects performance.

Hatchback boot is deceptively large.

Turbo performance is quite good but takes a while to get used to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

1997 Ford Mondeo GLX 2.0i

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Affordable, reliable and a pleasure to drive

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Changed from a 2.0 Si so ride noticably softer and a somewhat more detached driving experience.

That said, for the price it is superb. Well spec'd (not worth considering lower spec models) and fast enough without in anyway drawing attentions from Police or thieves.

Next car will be ST24 I hope, third Mondy in a row so they can't be bad!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

1997 Ford Mondeo Si 2.5 V6 petrol

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

If Ford put it together better it would be the best

Faults:

Noisy power steering. Despite the dealers best efforts the fault remains.

Heater fan speed control failed, common fault I am told by the dealer.

Handbrake cables freeze on in winter months (car won't move).

Regular dealer attention required to prevent engine pinking under acceleration.

Outer door skins detached from the main door frame (only bonded with adhesive).

Air con failed (£160 recharge needed).

General Comments:

Nice to drive, comfortable and fairly quick, but expensive to run, and an epidemic of minor faults spoils the joys of owning such a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

11th Sep 2001, 06:51

Had same snag on a Sierra 2.0 GLS. Was fixed by a new handbrake cables. May have been caused by water ingress into cables during floods encountered in recent winters in the British Isles. Also have one door skin the same on my current Mondeo 1.6. Thanks for the info.

13th Jan 2004, 17:00

Ford Mondeo 1998 Si.

Only owned this car for two months. the best car we have ever owned!

Fuel consumption is so good! Even on short work runs.

Very responsive, safe and reliable car.

I previously had a 1993 1.8glxi. Which also was a good car. In the year we had it it only had the clutch replaced. Also some general wear and tear work.

Didn't want to let it go!! but had to move on.

The dealer we bought it from (Shipley cars) was and has been one of the best ones we have ever dealt with.

We will certainly have another mondeo!!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews