1997 Ford Mondeo Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 6 of 11

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 16v Zetec

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 16v Zetec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Superb value for money

Faults:

A leaking rear light cluster has been the only problem. I tried to fix it with silicone, but it still leaked. This is a design fault which Ford never owned up to.

I had to buy a new light cluster from Ford for £65 which was of a changed design type this proves that the original design was faulty.

General Comments:

The performance is OK for an 1800 with 115bhp. 0-60 is about 10.2 seconds with the top end around 123mph.

It is very refined the engine is only doing 2500rpm at 70mph which is superb.

The suspension is very hard and the car is not as comfortable when compared to a Ford Granada that I use to own.

The handling is very good although not as tight as my second car which is a Fiesta XR2i.

The dash looks superb and the car drives A1 it does not seem to use any oil it is essential that these cars are run on 5/30 oil anything else will cause issues. The oil should also be semi-synthetic.

I only paid £950 pounds for the car! Yes for a 6 year old Mondeo £950! The vehicle also has a full Ford history. A great car that is better built than most of the older Fords, although the body should be galvanised a shame that Ford cut corners in that respect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

17th Oct 2003, 15:42

Hi I too Had a 1997 Ford Mondeo 1.8L estate they are refined it would do 90 Mph at about 4100 Rpm. and 70 at about 3000 RPM I paid 7,000 pounds back in 1998 for it with 28,000 miles on the clock great car too could do 118 mph.

12th Dec 2003, 09:36

A mate of mine has got an R reg mondeo 1800 and I have seen 130mph out of it.

30th May 2004, 15:45

I can't believe the 1.8 only does 2500RPM at 70mph, I have a mondeo 2.5 V6 and it still does 3000RPM at 70mph, and about 4000 at 100mph.

13th Jul 2004, 03:11

It is true, the 1800 16v Zetec has very high gearing I've owned two a 1994 and 1998 and they will happily run at 2500-2700rpm on a level motorway.

1997 Ford Mondeo Si 2.5 Duratec V6

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Duratec V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Cheap and FAST!

Faults:

ABS/traction control sometimes doesn't work, but at least you get a warning light to tell you.

Airbag warning light flashes intermittently.

Wheel alignment needs checking more regularly than it should, causes excessive and uneven tyre wear.

General Comments:

I bought this car because it looks good, handles well and can beat pretty much anything that most boy racers try and put up against it.

I didn't buy it for the insurance group (Grp 16 and I'm 24 - oops!) or fuel economy, which is non-existent unless you drive it like your gran.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2003

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10500 miles
Most recent distance87600 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

Overpriced unreliable car

Faults:

Coil pack failure at 12000 miles.

Camshaft twice in two years. ford fixed it free second time. how generous.

Mcpherson strut snapped while driving at 50 mph.

2 clutches and a funny noise now coming from the gearbox.

Electric windows have a mind of there own. work maybe sometimes.

General Comments:

Waste of money.

Ford need to go on a customer care course.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 145

Summary:

Unreliable expensive waste

Faults:

Coil Pack went wrong on 20000 miles.

Suspension arm snapped at motorway speeds. Lethal.

Fuel filters block.

Won't start if temperature exceeds 23 degrees.

Dash board lights keep blowing.

Gearbox rebuild.

3 Clutches since ownership. Do not drive with foot resting on pedal as ford dealers suggest.

General Comments:

I would think a plastic pig three wheeler is more reliable than this excuse for a vehicle.

Mr Clarkson please don't slag off Vectras.

Look as these heaps.

I think back to the old Ford advert.

FORD GIVES YOU MORE. Yeah trouble...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2003

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

The ultimate

Faults:

Virtually nothing. Given that the car has now covered close to 150,000 miles, the reliability has been nothing short of stunning. Apart from regular servicing, I have only had to replace the Battery and the spark Plug leads in two and a half years of ownership. I think that the clutch will go soon though, which will probably be expensive.

General Comments:

A fantastic, albeit dull car. Handles well, with good performance. It is also very comfortable on long journeys, with excellent boot space. I really can't fault this car in any way, apart from the fact that it lacks charisma. I would happily have another, and at some point almost certainly will!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews