1997 Ford Mondeo Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 7 of 11

1997 Ford Mondeo Aspen 1.8 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34500 miles
Most recent distance157300 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A very reliable family or work horse car

Faults:

The seats started to wear at about 70,000 miles and lost any support that they had.

At 140,000 got rattle when turning right took a while to fix as it was because of the engine mounts.

New clutch at 65,000 miles due to previous owner.

General Comments:

Very economical, especially on motorways. I have got nearly 600 miles out of a tank.

Very reliable, it did not have to go into the garage except from services from 70,000 to 130,000. After that it only went in for things that could not be fixed on the service, due to lack of parts.

You have to find a good dealer as there are some that are not so customer focused, but generally I have found them to be good.

There are some good bargains around now. You could pick one up for £4000 with 70,000 miles and run it to at least 160,000 from my experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2003

27th Apr 2003, 19:04

You can pick them up for £4000?

About a month ago I picked up a '98 'S' 2.0 16v estate with 66,000 on the clock for £3295! I still can't believe I've bought a car just over 4 years old for such silly money! I pity whoever bought it new for £16k though!

1997 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5 V6 petrol

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29300 miles
Most recent distance65800 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 1.9 GTI

Summary:

An excellent performance package

Faults:

The only repair necessary during the time I have owned this car is the replacement of the anti-roll bar bushes, this was carried out, at little expense, just prior to the cars last M.O.T.

The car has been very reliable indeed and has cruised through each M.O.T. with flying colours.

The car always receives complimentary remarks from the M.O.T. testers.

General Comments:

This car has a very sound performance. Acceleration is solid right up to the red line, the V6 engine is very eager to rev.

Handling on bumpy back roads is a little nervous, but is very predictable and sharp on fast sweeping "A" roads.

The half leather front seats are very good, firm and supportive. They remain comfortable even on extended motorway trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2003

28th Oct 2004, 15:16

Am I becoming "Ivor Mondeo"?. Four of them in 6 years! For the last 12 months I have owned an St24. It was love at 1st site. Panther black 5 door that appears to have been spoiled since birth, with out gaining any weight!

However, with regard to the front seats, as adjustable as they are, I cannot, "for love, nor money" get comfortable whilst driving long distances.

I find the combination of a lengthy Ford Clutch, a high accelerator pedal and seats that only feel sporty at their lowest setting, and "Galaxy" on their highest, unbearable on long journeys. With only my right arse cheek touching the seat and toes on the acclelerator, my leg very soon starts to cramp!

It's a shame this one problem so very often takes the smile from my face.

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 TD

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 TD Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Some great examples for only £3000

Faults:

There was a small leak in the boot.

Interior fan switch faulty.

General Comments:

This car is nicely nippy around town and is very economical.

If you keep it well serviced and oil topped up it runs like a dream.

Spacious and comfertable.

Loads of boot space for a family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.5litre V6

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Real value to buy, but watch out for high bills if things go wrong

Faults:

Alarm @ 24,000 miles.

Front Lower wishbones @ 38,000 miles.

Torque Converter @ 54,000 miles.

General Comments:

There is ample performance with reasonable fuel economy (30mpg) & good handling.

Plenty of space with comfort.

Engine noise is almost zero & road noise well suppressed.

Level of equipment & appointments high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

A brilliant car

Faults:

Have a very light leak of oil (just a little drip really) Cannot see where its coming from. It drips onto the exhaust, then after a while you can smell burning. I clean the oil off after about three weeks.

I can hear a slight vibration noise coming from the console where the gear lever sits. When I touch the console it stops.

Had to have a new RED key made up, so that I could have an extra key. This cost £90. (No red key given to me when I bought the car, Privately)

General Comments:

I find this car runs superb, and handles first class.

I could not wish for a smarter interior.

The shape is second to none.

When out driving I feel proud to be associated with this fine model, and very contented.

Although very high mileage, the car performs like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews