1988 Acura Integra Reviews

1988 Acura Integra LS 1.6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 kilometres
Most recent distance215000 kilometres
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

I'd buy another if Acura made it

Faults:

These cars were known for wearing out mufflers. The condensation caused muffler rust. Getting a lifetime warranty on an after market or OEM muffler is the best solution for this car. I had replaced the muffler twice since owning it.

The CV boot rubber cracked and needed replacement. This is common on all front wheel drive cars.

General Comments:

I had owned a new 1988 Integra RS until it was rear ended in 2001. That car had 230000 KM. The car ran flawlessly. Regular maintenance kept it going and going!

When I purchased my 1989 Integra LS, it ran just as well. The better interior and sunroof was very nice. The drive was the same as the 1988.

The 1988 and 1989 Integra model were the best in my opinion. They were reliable, low maintenance, and so much fun to drive. The manual 5 speed was buttery smooth. The engine was responsive and quick. This car cornered precisely. Parallel parking was easy.

If you ever come across this car in decent condition, don't hesitate to buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2010

1988 Acura Integra LS 1.6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 kilometres
Most recent distance91000 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I hope it lasts another 22 years!!

Faults:

I had to tune up the motor, as the original owner before me followed the service manual to a tee!!!

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable.

It has cost me so far to date $200.00.

I live in Canada, so the only major expense was to purchase snow tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2010

25th Jan 2010, 11:48

Glad you like your Integra, don't forget that at 100-110 km you'll have to do a timing belt and waterpump job. Fairly simple, however it's labour intensive.

12th Feb 2010, 09:28

The car was stored for some time before I purchased it.

The old owner did the timing belt and water pump before I bought it!!!

1988 Acura Integra LS from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Packs a punch in a small stylish package

Faults:

After I purchased this car in 2005, I have replaced the following:

1. Battery

2. Distributor system

3. Exhaust pipe since there was a hole

4. Clutch plate

General Comments:

Excellent car. Bought the 1988 Acura in 2005 and have had no problems with drive and maintenance. Very simple to maintain and fun to drive.

In the 4.5 years I have owned this car, I have had no major issues. Performance is unbelievable and always brings a smile when I drive it.

I have to sell this car some time soon since I have 2 other cars. A 1999 Nissan Altima and a 2009 Toyota Camry.

But the Acura is still my favorite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2009

1988 Acura Integra from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

It's a wonderful compact car

Faults:

The brake rotors were warped when I bought it, but I changed them easily myself.

General Comments:

It was a great car. I bought it for 700 dollars. I drove it back and forth from Texas to Washington D.C., and it never missed a beat.

The car had quite a lot of pep and maneuverability, and got great gas mileage.

I would definitely have another Acura.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2008

1988 Acura Integra LS DOHC from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles

Summary:

I love love love this car

Faults:

I have replaced a ton of things on this car.

Clutch (twice)

CV boots

Tie rods

Timing belt

Alternator went

Steering belt went

Bumpers on these cars fall off (had to replace)

Exhaust - many times

A/C is on its way out.

General Comments:

This is a sports car which MOVES. Handles great, shifts fantastic. Tons of power off the line. Lots of room in back (like a small pickup truck). I can't seem to give it up, I love it beyond all reason.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2007

1988 Acura Integra RS 1.6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

This a keeper when properly maintained

Faults:

Normal wear and tear after 19 years.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable, trouble free, and easy to maintain car.

It has an excellent gas mileage at normal speed.

I bought the car brand new in 1988 and never had any major problems with it. I only have good things to say about this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2007

1988 Acura Integra RS 1.6 DOHC from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Not *quite* as fast as a Mustang GT, but WAY more agile!

Faults:

Driver seat has a wear hole in it. I just replaced the muffler and resonator ($145)

I bought the car from a mechanic who had already replaced the Rear Main Seal, Clutch, Compressor.

I just bought this car to use as a commuter vehicle. I have a Ford F150 that was my daily driver, but at 14MPG and a 54 mile round trip to the office every day, the $2.80 per gallon gas cost were eating me alive! This car appears to have been well maintained mechanically, but only time will tell if reliability holds for me.

General Comments:

Performance!!!

I used to manage a Ford Dealership and have owned around 35 cars and driven just about everything on the road. I was shocked that this car only has a 1.6L engine. Unbelievable! It hauls azz. I am having a genuine blast zooming around in this little rocket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2006

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 26 reviews