1988 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1988 Acura Integra RS 1.6L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance203000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Get it while you still can

Faults:

At exactly 200,000 miles I had a new engine (from Japan) put in the car due to lack of power. Also my A/C went out.

About a year ago I replaced the alternator and that is it. I had expected some of that with so many miles on it. I am surprised it didn't happen sooner.

General Comments:

I have had a Chevy Nova, a Toyota Celica and so far this is the best car I have had. I drive about 1000 miles per week and it runs great.

It's very reliable, economic, has some good looks and, I am proud to say, can still beat one of those new Eclipses.

I have put new rims and a performance exhaust. Next is the intake and maybe upgrade the suspension (when I get enough money).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2000

3rd Apr 2001, 11:14

Would you by any chance know where I could get a new rear bumper assembly? Mine is pretty well rusted. Thanks, Brandon Jamisracr13@aol.com.

1988 Acura Integra RS 1.6L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired287000 kilometres
Most recent distance330000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Best bang for your buck

Faults:

Nothing much except for I replaced the stock clutch at 289,000 kilometres.

Replaced stock axles and ball joints at 330,000 kilometres.

General Comments:

Excellent car to drive. Despite the age you would never know it with all of my modifications.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2000

1988 Acura Integra LS 1.6 16v dohc from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v dohc Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 kilometres
Most recent distance151000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A pocket rocket at an affordable price

Faults:

One seized front caliper.

Power moonroof switch quit.

Warped rear rotors.

General Comments:

This car still has most of its original parts like - alternator, starter, radiator, exhaust, all suspension pieces etc.

It drives like a new car and it is pushed to the limit every day without skipping a beat. It is very quick and I constantly shock drivers of other so called pocket rockets at the stoplight drags.

The engine does not burn oil and seems happier at 7000 rpm than 3000 rpm!

This car puts a smile on my face every time I drive it.

At 150,000 kms it still chirps the front tires at 7000 rpm shift from 1st to 2nd.

It also pulled 220 kms in top gear at 6800 rpm!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

19th Jan 2014, 22:36

You must have been going down a long hill! Mine has I/H and full exhaust plus CAT delete, and only does 130. It has 200 thousand miles on it, and still purrs like a kitten.

1988 Acura Integra RS 1.6 16v DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired221300 miles
Most recent distance294400 miles

Summary:

A really great car that lasts and lasts

Faults:

I have only had to do basic maintenance to this car. It is a great car that still performs well even with 300,000 miles on it!! I have street dragged a new Toyota Corolla and I beat that car. I ran an 17.0sec 1/4 mile at 81mph, that was when the car had 260,000 miles on it and no other modifications. I want to put smaller CAMs into it, cold air induction, a Borla Exhaust system, and 17 inch Enkei Rims, that should get me moving a little faster. This car is great and I will keep driving it until it blows up!!

General Comments:

My next car is going to be an Integra, and I recommend anyone to buy one of these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

19th Jan 2014, 22:40

The best mod for these for top speed is to lower the front torsion suspension. Do a search, and find a Ground Control rear coilover kit for 250 ish dollars. Makes a night and day difference. Put 1985 CRX lower control arms in to offset the camber that lowering the front unavoidably adds.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 26 reviews