1989 Acura Integra LS 3 door 1.6 litre DOHC from North America

Summary:

A great car, depending on price

Faults:

With the exception of the muffler falling off, a motor mount that wore down, and the fact that it smokes, the car has yet to give me trouble.

General Comments:

The Integra was built to last. With over 195,000 miles on the odometer, the car's amount of wear and tear is down to a minimum compared to other cars of the same vintage.

The seats, despite a lack of adjustments, are comfortable and provide enough support for my back.

Though, the car's real sin is that the sunroof eats away at headroom, which limits the seating position for a person of my stature (5'10).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

1989 Acura Integra LX 1.6L DOHC from North America

Summary:

Has good performance potential and very reliable

Faults:

I had put an incredible amount of milage on this car for the amount of time I drove it. I had to do a lot of work to it just for maintenance sake. I didn't know the previous owner that well so I didn't guess on the basic maintenance, I just did what I could think of. Things like belts, hoses, tune-up, oil, coolant, transmission fluid, brakes, Bulbs...

The only things I HAD to change was the distributor (the cam sensor went bad and it was in the distributor) and shocks (Bottoming out wasn't comfortable). The computer gave me a bad code for the cam sensor after the car had stalled on the highway so a rebuilt distributor was in order.

General Comments:

I didn't like the car at first (loved my Volvo 740 turbo. Safe and fast) But once I started to drive it on a daily basis, I grew very fond of the quick pickup and how nimble it was. Now I know why people love Civics and Teggies.

Still a lot of work needs to be done like the timing belt (If you don't' know how long it been in there, change it for bent valves and holes in the piston may occur) and valve lash adjustments.

When I gather up some cash, Headers, exhaust, and a suspension upgrade will be first on my list.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

1989 Acura Integra RS from North America

Summary:

A must own vehicle!!!

Faults:

The only problem I have had with my car is the rust in the back wheel wells and the surface rust on the back quarter panels.

General Comments:

I love this car.

It is so sporty and quick, yet still reliable.

I will drive it till it dies!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

1989 Acura Integra RS 1.6 (?) DOHC from North America

Summary:

Reliable, higher end sports car

Faults:

Replace clutch at 95,000 km's.

Replaced ignition coil at 105,000 km's.

Replaced brakes (pads, rotors, and calipers) at 120,000 due to previous owner neglect - otherwise just pads.

Replaced alternator at 135,000.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive, gets great gas mileage, and is very reliable. It fired up at -40 degrees without being plugged in on numerous occasions.

I honestly believe that if someone hadn't have hit me, that I could drive this car to 350,000 - 400,000 km's with merely maintenance repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

7th Jun 2002, 18:53

My Integra has 8,000 more miles to go before 350,000.

18th Sep 2003, 22:46

I bought my '88 in 2001. It had 290k and ran like new. I put about $1000 on rims and tires, plus extra for tint and a pounding stereo. This car looked awesome, performance was awesome, gas mileage was good. It did die on me once out of town. I had to tow it home and spend about three days trying to figure out why it wouldn't start. It turned out to be a 1 cent screw that fell out of the distributor rotor. It took about 10 minutes to fix it and it ran like gold. At 320k the clutch was beginning to slip, but I still drove it like a race car. The only other problem was a small rust spot getting bigger in the usual Honda spot. My wife insisted on getting a bigger vehicle so I drove my little silver integra harder and faster than ever before. It would not die. I tried real hard to blow the motor and it just wouldn't die. I highly recommend this car for anyone, without more than one child, to buy this car and drive the snot out of it. I'm going out tomorrow to buy another one.

1989 Acura Integra LS 1.8 from North America

Summary:

A great second car!

Faults:

Front rotors, brakes, 50% of the exhaust system, rear defroster, and clutch.

General Comments:

I knew when I bought the car that it needed some repairs. It was supposed to be a second car for my wife but I ended up driving it. I was amazed! This car drove, performed, and had better comfort than our 1997 Saturn SC1. I love this car, it is a blast to drive and the engine is wonderful when you push it over 6000 RPM. I taught my wife to drive it like it should be driven. She now regularly pushes it to the redline and blows away nearly everyone. My only concern is that the car will rust away before the engine dies.

I drool whenever I see a Type R "Yellow Please!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

11th Apr 2001, 23:59

Did you get an engine swap, cause factory '89 integra ls's are 1.6L.

10th Apr 2003, 11:09

True about the 1.6L to 1.8L, how did that happen? Also, whats a pacesetter exhaust like and how else can I mod my Teg?

1989 Acura Integra RS 1.6 DOHC from North America

Summary:

A quick, economical automobile

Faults:

The brake rotors are very prone to warping. I bought aftermarket Brembo Crossdrilled rotors, in the stock size and haven't had the problem since. The timing belt must also be changed at around 40,000 mile intervals.

General Comments:

The Integra is a very good economy car with an excellent engine. With regular oil changes and normal service the car will last as long as you want it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

7th Jun 2001, 15:00

What happens if you don't change the timing belt in 40,000 mile intervals.

I change mine in 60,000 and haven't had a problem to date.

How much did the aftermarket rotors cost?