1993 Acura Integra RS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Summary:

Excellent vehicle

Faults:

Very few problems considering the mileage.

Replaced coil.

CV joints.

Clutch at 200,000 miles.

Water pump three months after second timing belt change (told mechanics to replace with belt, they didn't)

Paint finally fading on top and hood.

Otherwise normal maintenance.

General Comments:

Very good handling (fun to drive in mountains)

Good acceleration with no passengers.

Good gas mileage.

Plenty of room with back seats down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

1993 Acura Integra GS 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Just what I expected out of any Honda/Acura, 300,000 miles and still running strong!

Faults:

I Bought the car on July 12, 2002 with 250,000 miles on it. And from then till now, I have had few problems with it.

Driver side window regulator went out right before leaving Del Rio to return to Corpus Christi. Wind noise was a problem throughout most of the trip. I soon learned that a quick fix would be to open the moon-roof.

At about 298,000 miles, a major problem came along. The car stopped running for unknown reasons. After $500.00 of self repair, I decided to take it to a shop. The bill came back at $1,500.00. It turned out the computer had expired and cost an $800.00 penny alone. So after other minor repairs, tests, and labor fee's, The Car was done.

At 300,000 miles I expected for something minor to go wrong. The only thing that is wrong with it now, is just a squeak in the front passenger strut assembly, the brake light with fade in and out every now and then, the cruise control needs to be serviced, and alignment seems a little loose at times.

General Comments:

I would have to say this was the best $3,000.00 I have ever spent on a car. And I'm proud to say I own the only white 1993 4-door Acura Integra in town. It's never been wrecked, came with all the service records as detailed as a patched up tire and window tinting, the original owners manual (which is very hard to come by), along with the name and number to the first and second owner.

As for myself, I'm the third and most likely the last owner of this wonderful Japanese engineered, built to last, road warrior. There really is no limit to this car.

A car with 300,000 miles, no rust, no body damage, the same supportive seats with not one tear or burn, and not even a crack, tear, discolor, or warped uneven surface in the dash board. I give this car two thumbs up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2002

22nd Aug 2007, 16:20

I own a 1993 Integra GS-R and this story could be a carbon copy of my story. First and only import car I've ever owned, and probably the best car I've ever owned.

1993 Acura Integra LS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Summary:

This car is great for a single person who doesn't mind playing mechanic every now and then

Faults:

I've replaced the distributor, valve cover seals, O2 sensor, catalytic converter, air conditioning system, and now my transmission went out! I heard about the recall on the distributors for 92 and 93 Integras'. I also heard that these cars are notorious for having transmission problems. But I didn't think that a car would have these problems until 90 or 100,000 miles. I really do love the car though, that's why I keep fixing it. I have had great past experiences with Acura and Honda, and I'll be with them for life... this is just a small pot hole.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable for long trips... I drove it to Florida and back from southern Utah last summer, it was great.

It has awesome acceleration, and handles on a dime.

You'll never have any problem trying to find parts. Almost every high performance part known to man is available for this body style of integra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2002

28th Jul 2006, 06:31

Performance is 6/10 yet it has "awesome acceleration" and "turns on a dime"?

1993 Acura Integra GS 1.8L DOHC from North America

Summary:

This is what a 4 cylinder is supposed to do

Faults:

I wrecked this car 7 times in one year, so these aren't typical results.

The right control arm broke at 158000 miles.

I had to buy a total of 18 tires for this car. This was due to the front end damage.

I had to replace the original factory clutch at 160000 miles. This is virtually unheard of because other cars that take hard driving like this don't last a fraction of that length.

Nothing else other than body damage from the accidents.

General Comments:

This car is a blast to drive. Honda knows what they are doing. This car was wrecked seven times and still runs like a champ.

With only a few performance mods, this car completely demolished most other cars in town, including: Mustang 5.0's, 4.6's, Dodge Intrepid's, all Honda's :), all, but one Neon (Nitrous Oxide), etc. This car explodes on the acceleration.

I would recommend one of these to anyone who has a few thousand bucks. I haven't seen a better deal on a car in my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2002

29th Dec 2002, 22:58

Lets be realistic!!! I have a Mustang with a 4.6 and a 92 Integra... The Integra handles really well and accelerates briskly, but could never come close to "demolishing" a mustang. Perhaps you were the only one racing!

21st Jan 2003, 12:11

About the body repair stuff, I just recently crashed my integra on the freeway for it being as some say "jap crap" - lemme tell you! it took a good beating and is still drivable without any major damage and will only cost me about 2 grand AT MOST to repair, I am extremely impressed and pleased with my Acura.

28th Dec 2004, 07:02

Wrecked it 7 times in 1 year??? You should stay off the road!!!

15th May 2005, 16:40

Keep in mind the Acura is modified, so it will definitely destroy a Mustang 4.6. Besides, a 4.6 Mustang isn't much to brag about.

24th Jan 2006, 05:21

Well I have a Cobra and a Integra...

Without a doubt the Integra won't beat the Cobra, but it will run with the V6 2v Stangs... I guess you can Turbo and add NOS to the Integra... but without it's very fun to drive... very responsive and a great car... the only reason I bought my Cobra was because I could rely on the Integra that I've owned for 12 years... enough said.

28th Jul 2006, 06:28

Does this car exist in the real world or in Gran Turismo for PlayStation? Also, what's the definition of "few performance mods"?