1994 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1994 Acura Legend from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

I doubt a more solid, reliable car has ever been built

Faults:

Hmmm...i have to get the oil changed and put fuel in it. A few times a year I have to put more windshield washer fluid in it... other than that, can't really think of anything.

General Comments:

100K is nothing for this car, you haven't even 'broken it in'. over 300K on mine, runs smooth. I have been parking it outside the last few years, starts in freezing weather, buried in snow everytime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2008

1994 Acura Legend LS 3.2 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles

Summary:

Bring the Legend back, Acura!

Faults:

Yep, radiator eventually cracked & had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car has 245,000 miles on it & other than the radiator replacement, the only other issues have been wear & tear items. (ie axels, shocks, brakes) Did change timing belt as directed. Have had no mechanical problems with the engine or transmission. Love the design & straight forward dash & controls. Best car purchase I have ever made - Hope it lasts forever! (Keep your oil changed every 3,000 miles, Fellas)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

26th Jul 2006, 14:01

These cars are awesome. At times I see ads for ones that have over 300,000miles on them. If I can see at least 3 in one publication with over 300k then they must be good, especially since they did not build too many of them.

1994 Acura Legend LS 3.2L/V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2L/V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carInfiniti G35

Summary:

Outstanding

Faults:

Replaced Air temp intake sensor. made the car run hot & and made it chug.

General Comments:

High performance luxury sedan. speeds of 80+ handle brilliantly due to its wide, low to the ground design. A true Legend. If Acura were smart, they'd reintroduce the Legend and retire the TL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

5th Feb 2006, 19:05

The ACURA RL is the replacement for the Legend. A very nice car. I own an Acura TL type S at one time owned a new Legend. The Legend mechanically is superior to mine. However there is no comparison to the technological advancements, handling and the extra hp. The new Acuras are outstanding and I will keep buying them every 4-5 years.

1994 Acura Legend L Sedan from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance112500 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

I will keep on buying these 91-95 Legends, they really are the best!

Faults:

Fantastic car, no problems so far, except there is a lot of wind noise at above 75mph.

General Comments:

This is the best car Honda/Acura has ever made. None of the modern cars can match up with these 1991-5 Legends. It's a timeless design, and my favorite is the interior layout, beautiful dashboard, and everything just feels right. Go for the beige leather interior if you can find one in good condition, it has the best luxurious look of all other colors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

6th Jan 2006, 12:09

I've really fallen in love with the Legends and Vigors from the early to mid 90's as well. I can't imagine why on earth Honda won't bring them back. Personally, I feel that any of their current vehicles lack the unique personality, durability and overall style that these cars had. For me any Honda car, even the new Civics, is just "ho-hum, another boring sedan."

7th Jan 2006, 02:12

Well, I think the new 2005 Acura Rl (Legend in Japan) is starting to look really good. Although, I wouldn't pay $50,000 for it right now, wait 3 - 5 years, until it's around $15,000, then it'll be a good deal!

1994 Acura Legend GS 3.2 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

There is no better 4 door sedan built in the last decade that compares without spending $45K or more

Faults:

The most common problem: the plastic radiator. This caused the engine to fail at 195,000 miles...however, I ordered a used engine that had been shipped over from Japan, where the longest car life is 50,000 miles (cars are a luxury and a big status symbol over there, so those who have cars upgrade often.) The new engine runs very nicely... and of course I replaced the radiator with an after-market metal one.

General Comments:

The car is designed better than most cars, both inside and out. The exterior styling makes people think this car is a 2000 or newer, when it is over a decade old. The interior has been built solidly, and with form and function for the occupants in mind. I will have a very difficult time replacing the look and feel of this car without spending 45K plus on a sport sedan (BMW M5?). So I'll continue driving this... maybe forever?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

20th Nov 2005, 20:33

A plastic radiator that caused the engine to fail? Sounds like either a bad design or poor maintenance.

27th Nov 2005, 17:10

The radiator problem is very common. The plastic radiator develops leaks which allow coolant to escape and air to enter the system. Because this is an all aluminum engine, it doesn't take well to excess heat and it warps (which casues a head gasket failure). This engine seems to be particularly prone to this, so bad design is likely the culprit.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 17 reviews